We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"FANTASTIC BREAK"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palm Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Palm Gardens to your Saves list
Pestana Palm Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Do Carvoeiro | Vale de Centeanes, Carvoeiro 8400-525 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"FANTASTIC BREAK"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just returned from a week at Pestana Palm Gardens, late Sep't into October. We had the most fantastic week here which all started with a very warm welcome from staff at reception. On arrival, we were upgraded to Townhouse no. 77 with the most amazing sea view, at no extra cost. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and helped with all questions regarding the resort and local area. The accommodation was spotless and we had cleaning service 6 days a week (not on a Sunday) The townhouse was well equipped with everything you would need and more. The roof top terrace was very spacious with 3 sun loungers and a patio table with 6 chairs and still plenty space to move around.

It is around a 20 minute walk into the beautiful town in Carvoeiro, where we ate our evening meals ( Mirage, Happy's and Villa Medici are a must!) We did not eat in the restaurant but that was only due to my dislike of seafood and my fussiness!! however the interior is beautiful and the restaurant gets very good reviews locally. This is where we had breakfast in the mornings, and a big thank you to the breakfast waiter who even seated us at the pool on request. The staff at Pestana Palm Gardens cannot be faulted. They have the friendliest cleaning staff I have ever encountered whilst being abroad. Their service was top class and we left them a well deserved tip!

We would certainly return here to this beautiful part of the Algarve. We booked (very ) last minute for this holiday and couldn't have picked a better place. 10 out of ten...SUPERB!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose from Townhouse number 70 onwards for the pefect seaview. We had no. 77....... Amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    121
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
147
97
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Pestana Palm Gardens at the beginning of September for one week with our 18 month old son. We had a two bedroomed appartment with a roof terrace, well equipped with a separate kitchen with everything you would need to self cater. The hotel was within walking distance of 5 or 6 restaurants although it was a little dark on the walk back, it was a steep hill to walk back but we managed it every night of our stay with a push chair. We did'nt dine at the pestana restuarant however it did look very nice. The appartment was exceptionally clean and serviced every day except Sunday. We also had 6 sun beds outside our appartment and two sets of dining furniture which were great to enjoy the fantastic view and wonderful view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We visited this resort on a timeshare exchange via RCI. The resort comprises approx. 74 units being 2 bedroom townhouses. It is situated atop some cliffs overlooking the sea. A short walk to the west of the resort brings you to a beautiful small sandy cove adjoining a large hotel.
We were allocated Unit number 72 and this appeared to be larger than the majority of other units. There were 2 double bedrooms of equal size, 2 bath/shower rooms and a sitting room with dining table. There was a fully equipped kitchen with washing machine and dishwasher and full size cooker, microwave and fridge freezer. There was a shady terrace with 6 seater patio dining table and chairs. There was a staircase to a mezzanine with an extra sofa and a door to an enormous sun terrace. The sun terrace had another large patio dining table and chairs plus four sunbeds. There was usually a nice warm breeze which enabled us to use the sun terrace every day. The unit was spotlessly clean and we had a daily maid service.
There was no wifi in the units but wifi was free either in a special unit or around the pool.
The pool area was very pleasant with a fair size pool. There was a very good snack bar right next to the pool and a quality restaurant on site, although we did not try this.
There was a table tennis table available to use plus several tennis courts. Equipment was available from reception.
The village of Carvoeiro was 5 minutes away by car and we went on an excellent boat trip from there to see the local caves. Excellent trip.
We spent many happy hours exploring the cliffs and coves in the area and there are some beautiful tucked away beaches along that stretch of coast.
We had a rental car for the whole week and we went as far as Sagres and Cabo San Vicente to the west. We also had a fantastic day out in Monchique and drove up to Foia which is the highest point in the Algarve. If you go there, make sure that it is a very clear day as it was hazy when we went up there. Even so, the views were fantastic.
The resort is not close to any shops so if you wish to self cater, then you will really need a car. There is a large InterMarche supermarket about 10 minute drive away.
We really enjoyed our week at this resort and will definitely go back there one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at the Pestana Palms for a week from 19th August. The accomodation was great, clean with lovely comfortable beds. Stayed in no 70 which had an ocean view and a nice outside area. Found all of the staff extremely welcoming particularly those in reception. We ate in Carvoeiro and enjoyed all of our meals. It is a bit of an uphill trek home but worth the effort. A trip to the caves is a must, we joined a boat trip from benagi beach. We had a fantastic time and will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

16 days of holiday bliss with children and grandchildren aged 1 to 5 yrs! Excellent facilities for all ages - heated pools, play areas, cafe, restaurant and comforty town house with all self-contained facilities. Beautiful beach within walking distance and wonderful Carvoeiro square full of activities by the beach. And such friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Town house overlooking the sea with splendid views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Pestana Palm Ocean Garden Villa from the 26/07 to the 06/08 this year. Two adults and two kids (8 and 6). We were very impressed with the accomodation and the location of the villa and the beautifully maintained gardens. We stayed in no 78, beautiful views from the terrace, bedroom and lounge. The villas are very clean and spacious. The kitchens are very well equipped. The swimming pool area is very well kept and very relaxing as there is no music blaring by the pool. The on site restaurant was one of the best we had eaten at in carvoeiro. We ate at the restaurant on a number of occasions and went there on our last night where there was a guy playing classic guitar who was fantastic. Our two kids loved the place, one of the bar staff in particular was very good with kids (Good Mornings!!). The resort is a bit of a walk down hill to the town so I would hire a car if you have small kids or do not like walking too much. Taxi is €5 to the town. We were looking for a relaxing holiday by the pool and we got exactly what we wanted. The on site restaurant staff is excellent. This resort is one of the best holidays we have been on and we were very sad leaving it. We will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for 7 days with our two young children. The accommodation was very nice, spacious and very clean. Accommodation wise it had all you could need for a comfortable self catering holiday and we would say it was an excellent base from which to explore. The pool area was nice, a good size and very clean. Unfortunately, we found that the town/beaches were just a ‘bit too far’ to walk especially with two young children in tow. As we chose to self cater we would have found it useful to have a supermarket within easy reach of the accommodation, unfortunately it was a taxi ride away or a good 45 minute round trip (walking). It’s a very hilly resort which isn’t a problem but just be prepared to work those legs or as we did make use of the taxis! Overall, we couldn’t fault the accommodation, perhaps the location could be better – next time we would most certainly hire a car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Palm Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palm Gardens

Address: Praia Do Carvoeiro | Vale de Centeanes, Carvoeiro 8400-525 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palm Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Palm Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palm Gardens Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palm Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.