We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the negative stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia Cristal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baia Cristal to your Saves list
Hotel Baia Cristal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vale de Centianes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Cork
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't believe the negative stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fantastic value, excellent location, the staff were very friendly, double room was very large. Our room was on ground floor with view of a hedge, with sunbed outside on grass. The village was only a 10 minute walk, plenty of choices when it came to eating, bars were good value.
Would have no hesitation in re-booking. Either just the 2 of us or with the kids.

Room Tip: Not sure what to say re room only that ground floor with entrance from car park was great, so I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mr Gary W,

Thank you very much for sharing your enjoyable experience at Hotel Baía Cristal.

We are all very pleased to know how much you like to stay with us, that makes we feel really proud of our team.

We look forward to see you back at Baía Cristal Hotel in the future.

Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    80
    64
    30
    17
See reviews for
60
111
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Petersburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Let me start out by saying again that, as I have already observed, the resort is well kept, the service was great, the people are phenomenal, as they try to solve any guests requests and needs.

Actually the hotel is not worn out at all, as some guests write, just, in some items, needs renewal or more careful maintenance.

I would say the best part of the resort it is people working there. My special recognition is also expressed to Patricia, Margarida, Varela, Pedro, people who took vivid and active part in my accommodation needs and personal trips arranging. They are very cordial, very educated, very helpful and very accommodating to my needs, including everyday ones. They made my second stay more paradiselike than before…
The hotel itself, its location and environments create very safe, peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. As for the board I took BB again that was the same, no-frills, but decent for me, because “man cannot live by bread alone”…Thank God that it is not some Turkish all inclusive slops.
Having been so busy with my wide travel program I rarely notice some disadvantages because my room 106 was fabulous indeed (just fixed a little bit water drain). Anyway it is not big deal, and all can be solved perfectly if you are cheerful, sensible, well-mannered. Get ready for the better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first line are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, much appreciated.
We are pleased to know how much you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Baía Cristal and that you found our staff very helpfull and wonderful, they are a really asset to the Hotel, and your comments will be shared with all of them.
We passed your comments on what was less well to our Quality Department to avoid future situations
We all look forward to welcome you back.
Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a lovely break in Carvoeiro from 4th to 10th October. The weather was great: no rain and 28C temperatures. Vale Centianes beach, which is just below the hotel, was fantastic. Our air conditioned room was large with a balcony and sea view. The hotel is spacious with a good sized outdoor pool. There's a tennis court and indoor games room, where we played table tennis. The buffet breakfast was relaxed with a good selection of food and drink. We had dinner in a different restaurant in town each evening - about 15-20 mintes walk from the hotel.
All the hotel staff we came across spoke excellent English. I left behind our European Health Insurance Cards and Margarida on reception kindly posted these back to us. All in all great service.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your very nice review.
Your comments about our staff and service are much appreciated, because it is our aim to provide the best service for a relaxing holiday.
We are very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Baia Cristal in Carvoeiro.
Hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here as a couple at thend end of September/beginning of October.
We had a very clean and spacious room with sea view
(we didn't book sea view so nice surprise).
The hotel is a short walk to the town of Carvoeiro (which is beautiful with too many good restaurants to choose from!) The walk may not be suitable for everyone as there are a few hills and cobbled path, but taxis are around 4 euros.
All the beaches around Carvoeiro are picturesque and the one next to the hotel is no exception. Gorgeous beach and calm water for the time of year!
We stayed bed and breakfast only (to exploit the restaurants in town in the evening!)
Breakfast was fine for us, it was as you would normally expect from a buffet breakfast, It was admittedly the same food out every day, but I am happy with boiled egg on toast so no problems!
Orange juice was pure - even had the bits in - so not sure where some other reviews are coming from :S
All in all great base to explore Carvoeiro and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your nice experience with all tripadvisor visitors.
Your very ilustrative review, reflects perfectly the environment that can be found at Carvoeiro.
We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Baía Cristal.
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was the first time that we visited Carvoeiro, and we didnt knew anything. Our travel agent suggested Cristal Hotel, and it was perfect.
Of course, it has its ups and downs, but it did our holidays.
Near to the beach and close to Carvoeiro Center, the hotel was really good. The rooms were quite big, and everything very cleaned.
Curtains should be replaced, as well as some paintings in the rooms, but this is only a small detail.
The staff was polite and spoke perfect english.
From the first day, until the last, the only complain was the sauna door didnt close properly. But... it was for free, as well as the turkish bath and jacuzzi.
The bar had live music but the drinks were not very cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mrs Samantha,
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Hotel Baía Cristal.
Your comments are much appreciated and it is always very rewarding to see that our guests want to return back
We all look forward to welcome you back and we promise to solve the problem with the sauna door before...
Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 1 night here after touring the Algarve before driving back to Lisbon. It was so horrible that it turned our great holiday into a bad one.

First off, this hotel is very hard to find. We drove from Lagos and had a hard time getting to Carvoerio and finding the exact location of the hotel. The roads are not well marked. There are few signs for the hotel as well. We kept getting lost and were agitated. Once we checked in, the receptionist was a bit rude. He could tell we were frustrated, and recommended we try to get out of there ASAP. He also kept telling up that it wasn't important we know where breakfast was or any of facilities since we had such a short stay. It was rude.

Our room itself was large, but like the rest of the hotel was very outdated. There was chipped tile on the floor. Old linens and garish and ugly colored wall paper. We were supposed to have an ocean view, but it was obstructed by the boxy construction of the hotel. There were also lots of rust stains in the bathroom near the tub and sink. It just seemed very old and unkempt. The bed was large, but hard and crunchy. Like there was a plastic cover on the mattress. It made noised anytime you moved in the bed. There was also a tiny TV, but it was hard to see from the bed or couch in the room.

The hotel itself is very odd. The walls are bright and painted electric orange and paired with lots of touches from the 70s. Circular chairs, fake plants, etc. But there are also large Greek Goddess statues by the pool. It’s gaudy.

I thought the breakfast was also quite bad. The Algarve is known for its oranges. They had orange juice from a powder. They had instant eggs. It was all canned or from a powder. Nothing was fresh. There were also tons of kids racing around the restaurant. It is not a good hotel for couples.

The beaches nearby looked very pretty, however we were so uncomfortable, we just left before checking them out. I’d recommend staying elsewhere or just going to Lagos instead.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We regret to hear your disappointment with your stay at Hotel Baía Cristal.
Our staff are trained and instructed to be fair and courteous to all guests and we regret if a member of our staff has not followed this rule.
Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthorn uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spent a fortnight at the Baia Crystal with 17 other single travellers from Sept.6th. 2012. If you want a Faulty Towers experience this is the hotel for you. The staff from the manageress to the bar staff were insolent. The hotel is dated and constructed of egg boxes. You can hear every sound from adjacent rooms and those above. The food is mediocre and certainly not worthy of anywhere near 4* rating. The hotel is 1.5 kls from the rather run down town of Carvoiero via several hills on a difficult walking surface Adjacent beaches are small and crowded and have difficult access. The coffee at breakfast was good along with the orange juice after which I struggle to say anything positve.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaCorreia, General Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest:

This review does not correspond to the truth.

Best Regards

Patrícia Correia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baia Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Cristal

Address: Vale de Centianes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#9 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful places in the Algarve, on a cliff top, the Hotel Baia Cristal offers a peaceful atmosphere with a fantastic sea view. Upon the beach of Vale Centeanes and 1700 m from Carvoeiro beach, this 4 star hotel has 120 rooms. With areas from 36m2 to 55m2, Hotel Baia Cristal has at your disposal 14 Suites sea view, 10 Suites garden view, 38 Rooms sea view and 58 Rooms land view, with Private bathroom, Satellite TV, Individual A/C, Minibar, Safe, Direct dial telephone, Balcony, Tea and Coffee facilities, Kitchenette (only in suites). Hotel Baia Cristal has at your disposal Restaurant Gaivota, a cosy restaurant with beautiful views to the sea. Open for breakfast and dinner with Portuguese and international cuisine; and Bar "Albatroz", a relaxing bar with live music, ideal for enjoying the sunset in the company of a delicious cocktail. The terrace serves meals and snacks throughout the day. During the Summer, there is also Barbeques, where guests can enjoy barbecues by the pool, filled with popular music and dance; and also a Pool Bar "BierGarten", where it is possible to enjoy refreshing drinks throughout the day. For Leisure, there are two outdoor Swimming pools, a kid's club, Tennis court, Giant chess board, Indoor Swimming pool, Sauna, Turkish bath, Fitness room, Massage and body treatment room, Games room (snooker, table football, ping pong and video games). For business purposes, there is Meeting room "Lagoa" with Capacity up to 80 people (8,5m x 10,85m x 2,29m). Other services: 24 Hour reception, Multilingual staff, Tour and information desk, Wireless internet, Live music, Car rental, Private parking, and a Shuttle bus to Carvoeiro. Vale de Centeanes Beach: 300m, Carvoeiro Beach: 1.7 km, Lagoa: 7.5 km, Portimao: 16 km, Faro Airport (FAO): 65 km, Lisbon Airport (LIS): 275 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baia Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Cristal Hotel
Baia Cristal Vale Centianes
Hotel Baia Cristal Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia Cristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.