We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Baia Cristal,Algarve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia Cristal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baia Cristal to your Saves list
Hotel Baia Cristal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vale de Centianes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Baia Cristal,Algarve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I have to write a review as,with all respect,feel the recent reviews are so unfair. The wife and I have stayed at this hotel several time over the last few years(most recently Jan 2011)and found it to be excellent value for money.
The food is average for the cost and the staff were great.
The rooms clean and spacious.
The location is brilliant if you have a car. If no car Carvoeiro has loads of Bars/restaurants and a superb beach.
So if your looking for a pleasant value for money hotel this is for you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerbaiacristal, General Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Mr. Raymond:

In the name of Baia Cristal Hotel staff, I have to thank you very much for your words. They are the reason of our hard work. Its very gratifing to see that we have made your holidays excellent.

I hope to see you soon back at Baía Cristal.

Best Regards

Patricia Correia
General Manager

manager.baiacristal@hoteisbaia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    80
    64
    30
    17
See reviews for
60
111
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This was def. not a 4 star hotel more like a 2 plus. In the ten days we stayed there we NEVER had a warm or even hot meal it was always cold or luke warm at best and this certainly let the hotel down. Overall the hotel was clean and the grounds nicely planted. Pool area could have been a bit bigger but was well stocked with beds and umbrellas. People did not changed for dinner even although the hotel requested this in their brochure

Room Tip: Avoid the block overlooking the car park as you will be kept awake with car doors slamming in the ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerbaiacristal, General Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comment on your stay.

I have to apologise for the food's temperature. In fact, due to your review, it had allowed us to change equipment and procedures, and we thank you for that.
I hope you will feel the diferent the next time you visit Baia Cristal.

Best Regards

Patricia Correia
General Manager

manager.baiacristal@hoteisbaia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Room 256 was damp with no sun and a musty smell. The bathroom was badly in
need of updating when we asked to switch rooms we were advised rudely that the hotel
was full up. Staff in general were very unwelcoming and the breakfast was always cold,
even the warm food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel is maximum a 3star hotel. Far from the centre you have to go by car. Rooms poor and outdated. Amenities in the room extremely poor for a 4star hotel. The outside area around the pool is very small for so many guests. Breakfast is ok but don't have many variety and there is no fresh fruit, they had a watermelon that was probably there for many days because it was already dry. The hotel is expensive for what it offers. The only quality I saw in this hotel was cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I hated my stay at Baia Cristal. The old room, small hard beds, sad little tv, poorly-mantained property. Moved to another hotel after the 1st night...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We have just arrived back from a 2 week stay at the Hotel Baia Cristal. We booked through Alpharooms & everthing went like clockwork we would use them again. We went H/B due to the location, as the hotel is a little way out of Carvoeiro. What a mistake this was as the food at this hotel is absolutely dreadful. Avoid the restaurant like the plague.
1. The breakfasts consisted of stale cereals, canned fruit which looked like they had been there for months, dried up or under cooked bacon, disgusting scrambled eggs always floating in oil, hot dog sausages, boiled eggs which you could bounce against the wall, curled up cheeses & meats & a toaster that never worked properly. Only machine hot drinks & no fresh juices or fruit, & to make matters worse you had to pay extra for fried eggs.
2. The evening meal consisted of a salad bar, which was totally bland & tasteless. The main course consisted of 1 meat, 1 fish, & a pasta dish, which were always only lukewarm or cold, very few vegetables; you could not put a decent plate of food together on any night. The only upside was the soup which was always hot & tasty. The sweet menu was a joke with the same sweets being brought out night after night.
To top it all the entire menu was repeated after 10 days.
I can honestly say, this is the worst food we have had in 25 years of visiting the Algarve. Needless to say we hired a car & ate out on several occasions as the local restaurants offer good food at a reasonable price.
Having got that off my chest. The hotel is in a lovely position, with fantastic views over the sea. We had upgraded to a seaview suite which was well worth the extra money, the suite was on 2 floors, the ground floor consisting of a kitchen area & lounge with settee & a door leading to a balcony. Th kichen had few utensils but did have a kettle, a fridge, which was used as a mini bar. A spiral staircase led to the 1st floor which consisted of a bathroom a large bedroom with lots of wardrobe & draw space, again this room had a settee & patio doors leading to a balcony, both upstairs & downstairs had TVs. The views were fantastic overlooking the pool & Atlantic ocean.
The staff at this hotel were always helpful & polite. The WIFI areas were charged at 6 euros an hour even to use your own equipment, which is extortionate, when the local bars give you free access. There is a free mini bus from the hotel running twice a day into Carvoeiro 5 days a week.There was happy hour every day between 5 & 7 pm, which was very popular as the alcholic drinks were half price.
The pool & surrounding areas were well maintained with lots of sunbeds & umbrellas, & spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel.
The indoor pool & facilities looked quite good although we never used them.
Despite the food we had a great holiday & met some fantastic people especially the families from Durham.
We would only return to this hotel if we could stay room only or if the dreadful food was changed dramatically.

Room Tip: sea view rooms or any of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

located about 20 minute walk out of carvoeiro up a steep hill. hotel shuttle bus available
although we had a hire car. Steep walk down to a lovely beach. The hotel was clean, bright and enjoyable. The catering leaves a lot to be desired, tasteless only warm food with lots of repition. we ate out on three occaisions out of seven. although their was kitchenette no cooking utensils were provided in our suite

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baia Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Cristal

Address: Vale de Centianes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#9 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful places in the Algarve, on a cliff top, the Hotel Baia Cristal offers a peaceful atmosphere with a fantastic sea view. Upon the beach of Vale Centeanes and 1700 m from Carvoeiro beach, this 4 star hotel has 120 rooms. With areas from 36m2 to 55m2, Hotel Baia Cristal has at your disposal 14 Suites sea view, 10 Suites garden view, 38 Rooms sea view and 58 Rooms land view, with Private bathroom, Satellite TV, Individual A/C, Minibar, Safe, Direct dial telephone, Balcony, Tea and Coffee facilities, Kitchenette (only in suites). Hotel Baia Cristal has at your disposal Restaurant Gaivota, a cosy restaurant with beautiful views to the sea. Open for breakfast and dinner with Portuguese and international cuisine; and Bar "Albatroz", a relaxing bar with live music, ideal for enjoying the sunset in the company of a delicious cocktail. The terrace serves meals and snacks throughout the day. During the Summer, there is also Barbeques, where guests can enjoy barbecues by the pool, filled with popular music and dance; and also a Pool Bar "BierGarten", where it is possible to enjoy refreshing drinks throughout the day. For Leisure, there are two outdoor Swimming pools, a kid's club, Tennis court, Giant chess board, Indoor Swimming pool, Sauna, Turkish bath, Fitness room, Massage and body treatment room, Games room (snooker, table football, ping pong and video games). For business purposes, there is Meeting room "Lagoa" with Capacity up to 80 people (8,5m x 10,85m x 2,29m). Other services: 24 Hour reception, Multilingual staff, Tour and information desk, Wireless internet, Live music, Car rental, Private parking, and a Shuttle bus to Carvoeiro. Vale de Centeanes Beach: 300m, Carvoeiro Beach: 1.7 km, Lagoa: 7.5 km, Portimao: 16 km, Faro Airport (FAO): 65 km, Lisbon Airport (LIS): 275 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baia Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Cristal Hotel
Baia Cristal Vale Centianes
Hotel Baia Cristal Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia Cristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.