We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hollow rock in rugged steep coast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Algar Seco

Algar Seco
Algar Seco, Carvoeiro 8400, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 attractions in Carvoeiro
Type: Geologic Formations, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
150 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“hollow rock in rugged steep coast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

the algar seco is a hotspot at the algarve and high frequentated. we arrived there in the late afternoon and the atmosphere get more and more quiet. the surrounding is very impressive and the restaurant near the algar seco is stylish and very good. the algar seco itself is a rock which was eroded artificially a very long time ago. there are big holes to the outside for observing the ocean and arriving ships. when we entered into the hollow rock we smelled a strong flavor. seemingly the algar seco will used as toilet at night.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun filler for the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A really nice place to spend an afternoon or early morning.

There is a rock pool at thee bottom off the steps that is great for a dip. Watch the tide though. it gets choppy.

Nice views and a bit of a history lesson topped off by a Sangria at the Cafe (Boneca) Sardines are good but cant comment on anything else as I have never tried it.

Atmosphere is set for a quick drink and nothing more unless you get something simple as the sun is going down. Wonderful. But watch the booze - you have to get back up those steps!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth a quick visit for amazing rock formations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Near to Carvoeiro, you should stop by for a visit to Algar Seco, an amazing set of rock formations and views. Take care as some tricky walking, but worth it for the views. Great photo opportunities.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing natural rock formations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I found Algar Seco to be quite amazing. Coastal erosion over thousands of years has resulted in these wonderful rock formations.

Some of the rocks are sharp/jagged so care must be taken (for me at least as I was wearing shorts and sandals) there are lots of blow holes, coves/caves arches and other features.

Amazing to spend a couple of hours with a camera if you like that sort of thing or have an eye for natural landscape photography.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
“Beautiful stretch of coastline”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This area isn't huge but it is beautiful. As previous contributors have said there are a lot of steps and uneven ground that you need to use if you want to explore the area properly.

There was a restaurant but as we had just eaten we didn't use it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algar Seco also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Algar Seco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algar Seco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Algar Seco to your Saves list