We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boneca Bar Restaurante

Boneca Bar Restaurante
Apart. 1140, Carvoeiro, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 102 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ate here whilst on holiday. The location is awesome nestled in the cliffs at the sea front. The food is good especially the sea food which is cooked on a big BBQ in front of you. The only drawback for me was the smoking that was permitted around the people eating. I understand that this restaurant is outside but there is plenty of room for people to leave the area where other people are eating and smoke there. At one point two people were breathing smoke over me and my partner whilst we were trying to eat. On the whole a good meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    54
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Place location To Eat And Chill Piri Piri Chicken Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Found this little gem by accident, a 15 minute slow walk from Hotel Mirachuro.
Lovely outdoor setting with canopies to shade from the still hot evening sun (Middle of July) nestles on a cosy stone platform with food lovingly cooked on the outdoor grill. Tip to avoid disappointment get your hotel to book a table as its not large.

We just wanted to sit and enjoy some nice quality house wine in the atmosphere, the staff were friendly, efficient and suggested they could take our food order and just wave when we were ready for it :-) Expected high prices but not so, we ate there twice and loved it.
Dont miss the cliff walk and stepped walk through the beautifully shaped rocks and the little cave at the bottom of the restaurant looking over the sea. There are a few steps down to Boneca Bar but it overlooks the sea well worth the walk down and up again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to eat by the sea in Carvoeiro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were 2 weeks in Carvoeiro and this was the only place we ate at twice. The main draw is the dramatic location, set between high rocks right down by the sea. It's only a few minutes' walk from the town centre but very peaceful and unspoiled. The food isn't fancy but we had some good chicken piri-piri and grilled tuna, and the best "couvert" we had anywhere. They also make a great mojito! Friendly, welcoming staff too. Book ahead if you want a sea view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Average food and very slow service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We visited for our firends birthday and came away very disappointed really. The food was average and the service was terrible. Just glad we got there early because people who came in after us were waiting 20-30 minutes just to be offered drinks including Rocket from Soccer A.M. who looked well hacked off! Avoid unless you like to take several hours to have an average meal. Scenic spot though!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wow, my husband took me here for a night out on our own and I loved it! Amazing service, great food and what a location! This is my new best kept secret! I will definitely return here and would recommend to all! A must try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boneca Bar Restaurante also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Boneca Bar Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boneca Bar Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.