We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the effort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant A Rede

Restaurant A Rede
Estrada do Farol 107, Carvoeiro 8400-505 Carvoeiro Lagoa , Portugal
282 358 513
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 103 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the effort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Had to wait for a table but having been before thought it would be worth it. Was then told food wouldn't be long, an hour later we had to ask where the food was then had to wait another 20 minutes. Food was ok but portuguese steak served with chips instead of sauted potatoes as it used to be. No apologies from staff, we had to ask for more drinks. Used to good but wouldn't rush to go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    47
    17
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Still worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We ate here several times on our last visit 5 years ago and it is still maintaining its high standards of food and still being served with a smile and a friendly word.

It gets very busy at night like most of the other nearby restaurants. I would certainly recommend the Portuguese steak (served in a sauce).

It's more relaxing to visit at lunchtime about 2 for some peri-peri chicken and a relaxing beer or two.

We spent about 40-50 euros at night (Couvert,main courses and wine), and about 25 euros at lunch (smaller meals and beer).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great food. The fresh fish is amazing and a charming host, a must, well worth the walk up the hill from the centre of the village

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Family of 8 went for lunch. Fish from the specials board was delicious (Salmon; Swordfish); pizzas and pasta also very good. Served 1/2 portions for younger members of the family. Would definitely go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Yes you do get dragged in but you can just as easily walk past ...at the top of carvoeiro on way out you will find this restaurant ...The food is absolutely fantastic lots to choose from some very pricey but a menu to suit all budgets , we ate here several times I'm June and will be back in august , the tourist lunch menu is an absolute must great value lovely food , the soup is fab homemade , worth a visit , we said no to bread and olives and there was no issue !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant A Rede also viewed

 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurant A Rede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant A Rede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.