We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vimar Restaurant and Bar

Vimar Restaurant and Bar
Estrada do Farol, Carvoeiro, Portugal
926 555 527
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 103 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was frequented by the huge UK ex-pat population of the area. Provided good Portuguese food though.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    73
    23
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Think 'local cafe' and you won't be far wrong. Nothing to shout about as far as the looks of the place. But the set menu is huge and amazing value! The food is delicious and freshly cooked. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carviero
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“should be 1st on trip advisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just had my third meal at the Vimar, the food is lovely, the restaurant is spotless, the service is charming , the food is traditional and reasonable. Credit where credit is due, two nights to go and we will spend them in Vimar, lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

After reading some reviews, thought we'd give this a try. Went on a night when there was Fado and it was very busy. Had to sit at back - would've prefered front area. Both had fish which was good with vegetables and lovely potatoes (somewhere between roast and sauteed with soft onions) plus good value house wine. Will return.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't walk past like we did last year. The food's awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's so unpretensious from the outside, you could walk past it almost without a second glance. And we did - in 2012 (about ten times to be precise, but as the Trip Advisor reviews were so good (seems to have slipped down the ladder this year though), we decided to try it when we revisited Carvoeiro this year -March 2013). We weren't disappointed!

The oh-so-sad exterior doesnt do justice to either the rest of the establishment or your expectations of the food to come, so, if they want some advice, sort out your street appearance! I somehow suspect however that they don't need to, as those who know, know, and those who don't, tough! The bare fact that they are rarely empty even out of season tells a story.

The menu is local fish and meat dishes with a smattering of Italian thrown in, much like the "A Redo" acoss the drive from them, only better value.

We had Monkfish & Prawn Risotto which is only available for two people plus. I cant remember precisely how much it was but seem to remember a cost of between 15 and 20 euros and that was for the whole course for us both, - but forget the cost - the taste was fantastic and so much came up in the casserole they served it in, it could have fed a third person had it not been for my piggishness!

A bottle of very acceptable house wine kept the overall price down to silly money and we were so full we couldn't manage anything else - a shame as the couple on the table across from us were trying to get us to try their favourite desserts which they said were the best in town - but you'll have to take their word for that as we were stuffed!

Brilliant! Just wished we had more time so we could have returned again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vimar Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Vimar Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vimar Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.