We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality & Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O Indiano (O Castelo)

O Indiano (O Castelo)
Rua do Paraiso 26 | Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 103 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality & Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Based on other TripAdvisor reviews we tried O Indiano and loved it. The main course food was just what we wanted with a good spicy Tarka Dall and a very flavoursome Tandoori platter. We have had better starters but the quality of the main courses more than made up for that. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. If in the area again we would definitely re-visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    26
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good basic Indian nice presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Food was nice presentation looked lovely!! It did just what it said on the tin. I would go here again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food at this restaurant. They happily produced my favourite indian dish even though not actually on the menu! The only downside is the premises are small so can be crowded at times.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have visited Carvoeiro many times. No trip would be complete without a visit to 'O Indiano'. It is a shame their restaurant on the hill overlooking the beach closed (it had amazing views), although they still have two restaurants in Carvoeiro. Definitely the best Indian food we have tasted yet. Very good value for money too. The staff are professional, friendly and always welcoming. Would highly recommend eating in one of their restaurants.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Friendly staff, good menu, delicious food. Two restaurants on the main hill owned by same people, we went to the one by Chico's.

Food delicious and generous portions, House wine at 6.50 euros a bottle, good value and very drinkable. Loved the popadoms and
selection of pickles we had to start, then one Prawn Korahi and one Chicken Tikka Massala and two very happy customers. Judging from the number of people coming in very popular.

Good prices, cheaper than UK

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Indiano (O Castelo) also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to O Indiano (O Castelo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Indiano (O Castelo), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.