We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steady & enjoyable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas Bar Bodega

Tapas Bar Bodega
Rampa Senhora Da Encarnacao 5 | Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8400-513, Portugal
+351 918 999 166
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 110 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish, Tapas, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: This restaurant is right on the beach at Carvoeiro. Looking at the beach it is on the street to the left that goes uphill.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Steady & enjoyable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Good simple menu with lots of choice
Antipasti was tasty & good selection
Tapas it wasn't though....large plates so you wouldn't want many
Pasta de casa was delicious
Good wine menu
Overall good standard of food, central location and a pleasant time had

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    45
    14
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasteful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice service, fresh and tasty food. Beautiful decor and a simple menu beautifully executed with an amazing selection of wines. Is priced accordingly with the food quality and dinning experience. Many thanks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location but........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went to this restaurant after we couldn't get into Onze! Fantastic location but unfortunately thats where the praise ends. There were plenty of tapas dishes to choose from but they were a bit pricey, might have gone for this choice if it had been a lunchtime. My husband and daughter both ordered steak as a main course, neither of them was asked how they wanted it cooking,both arrived still mooing, my daughters was sent back 3 times before it was done anywhere near how she likes it (and it was still a bloody). I received the wrong pasta dish which was swiftly taken away when I queried it only to be re-served a few minutes later, eventually got the right dish. Won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good lunch if you order from the tapas menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a very pleasant lunch here and ordered a range of tapas dishes which the menu would have as starters or entrees. I recommend this is the best way to go, especially at lunchtime. The calamari was excellent - always a test of a good tapas bar, as were the tortilla and chorizo dishes. An excellent location especially if you sit on the upstairs terrace as we did. It was a little pricey but then so are the other places near or overlooking the beach in Carvoiero.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delicious !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Apart from the teeny mistake of our starters arriving at the same time as our mains (which turned out to work well and was rectified by a free bottle of prosecco) we all agreed every dish was so delicious, from seafood to pasta to steak. Staff were apologetic and extra accommodating - I think we accidentally received someone's WD steak instead of medium - which further was rectified by another free bottle of prosecco when we paid our bill!

We really did have a lovely evening with great food. Blankets were provided as there was a breeze - some patio heaters would be a wise investment for the evening time on the roof terrace.

Recommend!!! Lovely view also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Bar Bodega also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Tapas Bar Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas Bar Bodega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.