We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two visits this time !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Julio's Restaurant

Julio's Restaurant
Vivenda Junika | Vale do Milho, Carvoeiro, Portugal
282358368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 103 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Two visits this time !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We always visit Julios when at Rocha Brava. Julio is a most attentive host & although the Menu doesn't change much, there is enough to please everyone.

Lovely setting, but try to avoid sitting in the garden itself as the mossies like their dinner as well !

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    23
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a regular haunt of ours when in Carvoiero , we visit at least once per trip often 3times. The food is consistently good - rack of lamb, monkfish noisettes/kebab, pepper steak are all favourites. The melon and Parma ham starter is brilliant and cannot be beaten on price anywhere on the Algarve I'm sure. The restaurant has a 'classy 'feel but is not over the top with prices, it's always scrupulously clean and staff very friendly and obliging. Julio has become a personal friend as he is with many patrons and always has time for a few words or more........we will be visiting again. Reservations required at busy times.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite, we keep coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is our favourite restaurant in the vicinity of the Rocha Brava resort. The food and wine are always excellent, as is the friendly service. Tables outside on the terrace.
Excellent Portuguese style food - the swordfish was particularly good. Many of the dishes cooked outside in the wood oven.
Our 5th time holidaying in this area, and we always eat here at least twice!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

As soon as you walk into Julio's you get the impression of a high quality restaurant. Everything is spotlessly clean and the staff are very smart and efficient. Nothing is too much trouble. The food and wine are excellent, the peppered steaks are wonderfully cooked and presented and the crepes with banana flavoured ice cream are out of this world and are most unusual. We didn't try the starters on the two occasions we recently visited, but we saw those ordered by others and began to wish that we had gone for a starter also. Even the background music is subtle and well chosen and some Dutch people who were sitting near us commented on it. You need to make a reservation and try to sit on the terrace. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“beautiful restaurant set in private gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

walking distance from Rocha Brava down hill towards Centianes beach. Need to make a reservation. Try and sit out in the. Garden, although the terrace is nice too. service is very laid back so don't expect fast service. the food is lovely, the steak was wonderful and the tiramisu was the best I have had. We will be back again this year

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julio's Restaurant also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Julio's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julio's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.