We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA to your Saves list
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada das Sesmarias, Carvoeiro 8400-535, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Boston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here at the end of April and it is a lovely resort. The staff are excellent from the reception, to the waiters, to the cleaners. All play there part to make your holiday special. The resort was pretty quiet but we liked this as there was little noise and you could sit outside your apartment and it be peaceful. The apartments are so well equipped and can't fault them. We had one evening meal in the restaurant and this was superb. Definately would book a hire car. For the cost of transfers you can book a hire car and you really do need one to get around. gives you the option to go to the supermarkets or out and about. The Intermache is an excellent supermarket and has everything and more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    167
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
190
201
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked a short stay on what was our first trip to the Vale da Lapa and we were both absolutely delighted. Firstly upon check-in the guy on reception was really polite, informative and willing to help. Then upon viewing our accommodation we were stunned at how nice it was. Not only clean but everything was to a high standard. We didn't use many of the facilities as we had hired a car and preferred to explore but the pool seemed nice and the breakfast had a large selection although the food quality, not of a 5 star standard, but still enjoyable. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone although if you're going with young children, I wouldn't walk down to Carvoeiro as there are many parts of the route that have no pavement but it's still an enjoyable walk nevertheless. Will definitely be back, hated having to leave. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Husband and I also had the great deal of 4 nights - so good we are thinking of going again. Very quiet at this time of year but the temperature was great for someone who loves sunshine without being burning hot. Accommodation is terrific, just small niggles which we could put up with, and reported when we left for them to fix for others. Easy to walk to the local, small supermarket for basics and make meals for yourself in the kitchen which has oven, hob and microwave. Need a taxi to get to the larger supermarket We paid for transfers from and back to airport. We used taxis to get to Carvoiero beach (beautiful sand) where there are bars, restaurants and cafes, though we did walk there the first time - wouldn't recommend if you have small children. Outdoor pool is great. Didn't use the indoor pool as I love to swim outdoors, but it looked good. Husband used steam room in the spa. Smaller, outdoor pool for little ones. Our personal view was that the restaurant evening meals were not of 5 star quality and this was a let down, but you don't have to use this facility of course. A beautiful place with friendly and helpful staff and the area is gorgeous. Good for people of all ages I believe, as long as you are happy with a quiet holiday. Very fond memories.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff Wales
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Have just returned from a five day break at this complex which was booked only two weeks before departure at a great price. The Vale Da Lapa Resort (villas) is really top class, what you see on their web site is what you get. The accommodation is very modern and provides all you will want for your stay. The checking in was easy and very welcoming. No problems of having to get up early to reserve beds around the pool at the time of our visit there were never more than a dozen people around the pool and lots of loungers. With the indoor and outdoor pools you can swim whatever the weather. During our stay the temperatures were between 23 and 25 degrees almost cloud free every day.
The breakfast and the one dinner we had in the restaurant were good. Staff very friendly and helpfull .
As the complex is outside the main resort of Carvoeiro you will need to get a taxi to the beach or hire a car.
If you hire a car DO NOT USE GOLDCAR at Faro airport unless you want to be ripped off. First we had to queue for over an hour to get to the desk. It appeared everyone had an issue over the car hire. Having hired cars in dozens of countries this has to be the worst experience. Whilst the agent I used stated I had excess refund cover the smug member of staff basically stated unless we paid 80 euros, they would take 900 euros off my credit card immediately and if the car came back with the smallest scratch it would cost 200 euros and if I broke down or needed recovery it would cost 700 euros. It was quite threatening. They dismissed the documentation given to me by Auto Europe. Be warned !!. What started out as car hire of £50, with their charge for petrol and their insurance the total came to over £180. It was a case of pay up or else.

Over all we had a great holiday and I would recommend the Vale Da Lapa resort and the area. However the car hire problem did cast a shadow over the break.

Room Tip: The lower the villa number the closer to the pool and restaurant area. This is a large site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We got a really good deal online for a suite. Travelling with my daughter the resort opened up the second bedroom so that we each had en suite rooms. The suite also had balcony, patio, fully equipped kitchen , lounge diner, 3 TVs with 8 main UK channels. The accommodation is really first class and I could not fault the staff. It's a quiet, safe resort but in my opinion you need a car to get around as it is about 35 min walk to the town and beach and there are so many other great places nearby it really is worth hiring one.

Room Tip: Tip: Our suite had the sun in the evening In hindsight I think it would have been better to have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed April 2013 for 5 night at Vale Da Lapa, family of four (kids aged 6 & 3). First impressions were good, receptionist spoke very good English and was very helpful and polite. When we arrived at the room again very happy as was basically a 2 bed townhouse/villa rather than an apartment/room. The accommodation had 2 good sized beds/2 bathrooms (+downstairs toilet), good sized kitchen and large living dining area with flat screen and DVD player. The resort itself is more like a holiday park, like an upmarket haven site with villas rather than caravans! There is an outdoor pool (not huge) and a small children's pool and an indoor pool (winter canopy) which forms part of the spa. The spa is a let down and frankly a little grotty for what is classed as a 5* resort. We stayed B&B, breakfast was ok but nothing more.
In summary very good large accommodation with limited facilities on the resort. Car hire is a must (used Luzcar - who were excellent!!) as although hotel states sea views (which there are - just) it would probably take a good 20-30 mins to walk and is up a very steep hill on way back! Paid £70 per night B&B for family of four so all in all very good value for money and would probably return if we came back to this area (which is nice).
Also if you do visit this area Ma-Ja's restaurant do great food and very good prices (kids eat free!) is English run, just one min up the hill to the west.

Room Tip: Low number rooms are close to ammenities, otherwise you could face 10-15min walk to pool and restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have visited the Resort Vale da Lapa as a family with a 5 years old child and a baby for three nights. The resort staff was very friendly and professional. The suite was beautiful. Nothing was missing (baby chair and baby bed were also provide)! The facility was clean and well maintained. The restaurant had a excelente kitchen. The menu was varied and corresponded to a 5 star cuisine. The breakfast was excellent too. The waiter were very professionel and friendly. The spa area was fine. We would recommend the Resort to anyone.

Stefanie & Matthias

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA

Address: Estrada das Sesmarias, Carvoeiro 8400-535, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid extensive landscaped gardens and manmade ponds, this 5-star resort offers luxurious villas with free wired internet. It boasts an on-site 9-hole putting green and, outdoor pools and a Spa. All apartments are situated in 2-storey duplex villas that feature modern and stylish decor. Each unit has a large living room and a bedroom with a high ceiling and balcony. There is also a full kitchen. At Vale Da Lapa, guests can enjoy the exclusive clubhouse featuring a design restaurant and bar with outdoor terrace. Guests can sample regional flavours and carefully selected local products. Agua Hotels Vale Da Lapa also boasts a jogging trail, 2 paddle tennis courts, and a multi-use astroturf pitch. Children can have fun at the play area and children's pool. Vale Da Lapa Hotel has a private entrance to the neighbouring tennis club and several golf courses can be found in its vicinity. Caneiros and Carvoeiro beaches are less than 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Da Lapa Resort And Spa
Vale Da Lapa Resort & Spa Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale Da Lapa Resort & SPA Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.