We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - what a find !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barranco Fundo | Lagoa, Algarve, Carvoeiro 8401-904, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“WOW - what a find !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day break at this stunning hotel complex and are looking for a deal to return in September , we enjoyed it so much. I will say it did not get off to a good start, as we had a meal in the resturant on our first night and service took over two and a half hours. The serving staff were rushed off their feet and did reduce our bill a tiny amount i.e. a small bottle of water, which was somewhat disappointing.
We went B&B and glad we did so. The breakfast was fantastic for its range and freshness of the food. There are no supermarkets near by, so a walk of about 15 mins each way to the "local shop" which has limited stock and found some items to be very expensive. Basic food items such a beans and pizza , but when we went no meat or fish to buy. We walked twice to Carvoeiro which took less than an hour but not for those who have difficulties with hills and no footpaths for some of the way. We took a taxi back to the hotel once and were charged 7.55 euros - taxi is on a meter and were not interested in haggling... The site is kept to a very high standard and the pictures/video the hotel promote is a true and accurate reflection. The rooms are very large and cleaned every day. This little gem has been placed on our list at number 1...

Room Tip: Plan a food trip to the larger supermarkets - will have to use taxi to get back unless you have a ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    127
    33
    5
    1
See reviews for
226
217
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in April of 2013. We found the one bed town house to be clean and well equipped. The staff were really friendly and so helpful, they were especially great with our three year old daughter. Taking the time out to talk to her even during the busy breakfast service - even putting on an impromptu ballet display!!! I would definitely reccommend this to other families or couples looking for a romantic break away. We had the spa to ourself most of the time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time here in May 2013 - the 2 bed town house was gorgeous and scrupulously clean. Beds were comfortable, kitchen well equipped and DVD player and WiFi welcome additions. The pool area is beautiful, and it was lovely having sun loungers on the lawn outside our townhouse as well. We both said we had never been anywhere so fancy, and couldn't work out how we got such a good deal!

The staff were all fantastic with no exceptions - friendly, helpful and all genuinely interested in making sure we had a wonderful time.

The only downside would be the location - too far from Carvoeiro to walk, so unless you have a car the only eating options are the restaurant (nice but pretty pricey) and the pool bar (we didn't eat here). There is a small supermarket about 15 minutes walk from the hotel and we had quite a few meals in the townhouse - easy to cook when the kitchen is bigger than mine at home!

All in all a fantastic, relaxing minibreak.

Room Tip: The townhouses are gorgeous and you will save money being able to self cater some meals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you want a relaxing holiday in a 5 star resort with excellent service you'll find it hard to beat this place. The room was spacious, located close to all the amenities. The Buffet breakfast was excellent, so good in fact that lunch mainly consisted of fruit and ice cream. We had the occasional salad and club sanwich were also very good and reasonably priced.We went into Carvoeria, once by the hotel's free shuttle and other times by taxi (cost 10 euros). A really nice resort, with plenty of restaurants serving quality food. WE were particularly impressed with Boneca Bar and ONZE. A couple of small points that the Hotel needs to pickup on. Firstly they could do with an outdoor bar, particularly for the evening, secondly the beds are very firm so beware if you do not like a firm bed. Finally my wife had a personal facial (she's an avid spa user and complained that the lady providing the treatment reeked of garlic! But these are minor points and my wife is keen to return with our two teenage daughters for a girly week-end.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but try to get one with a balcony. Don't get your duty free at Faro Aipor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Visited in the Easter holidays and what a lovely surprise. Given the price we paid for a week's stay we weren't expecting what we got. Beautiful 2 bed shiny new apartment, very spacious and lovely gardens.
Staff were fabulous, very friendly and wanted to accommodate all wishes, including when I lost my wallet and needed help speaking to the police station.
Kids (aged 5 and 8) had a brilliant time too. Heated indoor pool was pretty quiet and very clean. Tennis courts used everyday too.
Breakfast was good quality and we really enjoyed it. Worth having B&B as just a toddle from townhouse to brekkie. We ate at the restaurant too in the evening a couple of times and took advantage of the TV room to watch some Premier league matches (football crazy sons).

Only downside is that you do need a car to get out and about but not a problem really.

Very highly recommended if you want a decent family resort without too many frills but enough to keep everyone happy. It was pretty quiet when we went and not sure what it would be like in peak season as outdoor pool relatively small. But off peak was brilliant.

Room Tip: Garden townhouses very nice and look onto quiet but big gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale O, Gerente at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guests,

We are delighted to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you also for sharing your comments with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Vale d´Oliveiras.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Peregrino

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in April 2013, and had simply a wonderful experience. The standard of the hotel is what I expected from a 5 star resort. The rooms were clean and modern, and in good keep. The hotel facilities were excellent for our needs. My only complaint would be that the outdoor pools were too cold to use, even when the daytime temperature hit 28 degrees. Thankfully the indoor pool was beautiful and tranquil, providing perfect entertainment for our two under 3's. The staff were extremely friendly and very good with our kids. The grounds of the hotel were tidy and beautifully kept. I would suggest hiring a car if you want to visit nearby beaches, but if not the hotel provides shuttle buses to the major 3 beaches.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale O, Gerente at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Vale d´Oliveiras.

We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback since it is very important for us our customers opinion.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Eduardo Peregrino

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

returned this week from a fabulous one week stay .Myself husband and 3 boys 14,13 and 8 stayed in a 2 bed townhouse pool view ;which was just outstanding .This resort is truly 5 star and really did exceed all my expectations.I have never written a report on a resort before but felt compelled to convey to people what a truly outstanding place this is.Thanks to all the staff who do a remarkable job and we will hopefully see you soon as i cant wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale O, Gerente at Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay at Vale d´Oliveiras.
We greatly appreciate your feedback and are very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for this!

Looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eduardo Peregrino
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa

Address: Barranco Fundo | Lagoa, Algarve, Carvoeiro 8401-904, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are on a family break, golf trip or incentive travel, our goal is always to surpass your expectations! Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa is an elegant 5-star hotel and resort with 22 rooms, 2 suites and 80 townhouses. With an exceptional location, only 5 minutes from Carvoeiro and Ferragudo and close to some of the finest beaches and golf courses, Vale d'Oliveiras is a unique place to relax and discover the best of the Algarve! All rooms and townhouses are fully equipped with the highest quality fixtures and fittings and are designed to provide all the comfort you may need, whether you are on a leisure or business trip. The Monchique hills and Gramacho golf courses are the backdrop to this magnificent landscape. In addition, the resort has an abundance of stunning gardens carefully framed by the surrounding landscape. The traditional local architecture with Moorish influences provides a calm and tranquil environment. The hotel has a typical but striking interior courtyard complemented by Moorish arches and tiles designed by local artists. The low density construction integrates you fully into the landscape, making our townhouses the ideal choice for families with children or for long-term holidays. All have a typical Algarve chimney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Resort And Spa
Vale d`Oliveiras Quinta Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale D'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.