We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super sangria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirachoro Praia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mirachoro Praia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Do Farol, S/n, Carvoeiro, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Carvoeiro
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“super sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

we stayed in may and had a great time , the hotel and the rooms were clean and tidy , there where no real suprises good value for money, we stayed on a b+b basis, there are loads of reasonably priced and higher priced restaurants in easy walking distance. the barman Carlos deserves a special mention he makes the best sangria i have ever tasted and is a first class barman a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    122
    67
    22
    8
See reviews for
46
144
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I returned to this hotel after 6 years, as my husand and I had enjoyed a number of holidays at the Mirachoro Hotel before his death 6 years ago. This hotel stands at the top of the hill up from the beach, in an imposing positon with an excellent forecourt and most impressive reception area. The hotel has rooms on 3 sides, all with balconies, either looking onto the swimming pool area or out over the country. As a single guest I considered I was fortunate to be able to book a twin bedded room, overlooking with pool, without any single room suppliment at the reasonable price of £180 for 7 days, including breakfast.
From the moment I arrived I found all the members of staff to be most pleasant and helpful.
I paid 20 Euros for the room safety. box plus 20 Euros deposit and was advised there would be a deposit required if I wanted to borrow a towel for the pool. My room was a good size, with a balcony and ensuite and a fridge but no tea or coffee facilities. I would also have liked to see a bath robe and slippers provided and would have expected these facilities in a 4* hotel.
However the room was spotlessly clean and the towels renewed each day.
Breakfast started at 8 am and I must admit I think the restaurant is very small in comparision to the size of the reception area and lounge. I ensured I was in promptly at 8am as I understood it got very busy later and as I only have a basic continental breakfast I was able to have this without any trouble and there is always staff on duty to assist.
As the hill is known as 'restaurant hill' there is not problem finding a variety of places to purchase meals all day, to suit all pockets
The hotel does have a bar but there did not appear to be any evening entertainment. There is also a pool bar to purchase drinks or buy a lunch time snack, which I found useful on a number of occasons. The hotel was an ideal base for me to get out and about, down memory lane, or to curl up with a book and we were blessed with glorious weather for the whole time
I was there..

Room Tip: As there is tiled flooring a top floor might be a good idea in case you get stilettos above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for a wedding in Carvoeiro. The rooms were really clean and spacious, with a very large balcony. The pool and surroundings were very clean and hotel was an ideal location to all the bars and resturants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Having just been to the Mirachoro for the second time I wanted to write a review for anyone who is planning on visiting here. My personal belief about other peoples comments about the staff perhaps is a lack of knowledge of English and some training in customer care would not go a miss. The breakfast has everything you could want and the dining room is not too busy hot or loud which is what you want . We had been told that the evening meal was not of a high standard and to be honest with over 70 restaurants in close proximity, I dont know why they bother!! The rooms are of a good size and very clean and for families they have cajoining rooms so everyone gets to enjoy some privacy . The pool is freezing and although beautiful to look at , we found it impossible to enjoy. A number of comments have been mentioned regarding the temperature of the pool but nothing gets done!! The indoor pool was the saving grace for me and my two teenage boys with a sauna and two jacuzzis. The location is perfect although if you find hills a problem then this is not the resort for you. The weather was fabulous and the surrounding beaches and caves to explore together with the beach made for a wonderful holiday - A lot of people come here for five nights and perhaps that is enough. The Black Stove was a regular haunt of ours and if you like Tapas then Taste restaurant is a must

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Been here four days so far, breakfasts are the same everyday, not even fresh orange juice, just some made up rubbish from a machine. We are staying half board and so far every night the soup has been the same base with different vegetables added!! All the meats and fish are over cooked they are dry and tough, also the food is not hot it sits in trays with a heat lamp over it which just doesn't work. Dessert consists of creme caramel and jelly every night, come on Mirachoro you can do better, where is your imagination? The hotel is clean but the staff aren't the friendliest in the world. Check in seemed ok until you get to the room, where you find out you have to go back to reception for a lock for the safe at a cost of 20 euro plus another 20 euro deposit. You go back again for your towel for the pool at another 20 euros. Then back again to open an 'account' for your credit card so you can charge things to your room. Why not tell us all this at check in? On the plus side the hotel is in a good location and the drinks are reasonably priced by European standards. We also agree the beds are hard and squeaky - don't get too amorous! The small resort of Carvoeiro is lovely and is quiet at this time of year. If you stay B&B there are lots of restaurants in the town or just a few hundred metres from the hotel.
If we had ever met our Cosmos rep we would have told them all this but they seem elusive!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A very friendly hotel with clean rooms, pool and other facilities including spa pool and sauna. Although it was quiet (very welcome!), I got to know many guests, who were friendly. The location is excellent. The only complaint would be neighbouring building work, which was quite noisy at times. That said, the staff were extremely helpful and I had an otherwise fantastic stay. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for a 5 night break and will definitely be booking to go back - beautiful hotel - we loved the colourful decor - very bohemian - just gorgeous - the staff were more than helpful - spotlessly clean hotel - rooms , bedding and towels cleaned and changed every day - lovely pool area. The sun shone for us every single day which was an even added bonus. The hotel was quiet when we were there but this did not result in not having a good selection of food - we stayed half board and were very pleased with the choice. 5 minute stroll down a gentle hill to a lovely beach.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 127a which had the sun all afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mirachoro Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirachoro Praia

Address: Estrada Do Farol, S/n, Carvoeiro, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirachoro Praia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mirachoro Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirachoro Praia Hotel
Hotel Mirachoro Praia Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirachoro Praia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.