We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirachoro Praia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mirachoro Praia to your Saves list
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Do Farol, S/n, Carvoeiro, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Carvoeiro
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“April 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was my first time staying at this hotel and I had B & B. My room was really good and had excellent views. The hotel decor is colourful and fun - loved it! The staff are very friendly and responsive especially the evening manager. Breakfast was better than most hotels I've been to.The rooms were cleaned daily and to a high standard. The only minus for the hotel is the bed mattreses - they were very hard and uncomfortable but I endured it because everything else there was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    145
    77
    23
    8
See reviews for
56
177
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NorthYorkshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Yes it is very colourful, didn't matter to us at all. Only a few people there early in the season, so nice and quiet. Breakfast was fine - two Nespresso coffee machines and a variety of teas to choose from. Beds were firm, two thicknesses of pillows to choose from.

The building is set back from the road, so very little road noise. Only a short walk into the main square. Great selection of restaurants to choose from, and some beautiful scenery to enjoy on the cliff top walks.

The industrial strength fire doors at the ends of all the corridors where the room are, did seem quite out of place in what was a newish building. They were quite noisy if left to slam shut - shame there isn't a better alternative. Corridors tiled not carpeted which can also be noisy when suit cases are being dragged along in the middle of the night!

We enjoyed our stay on the whole, room very clean, towels changed daily. Wifi was free which was a nice surprise as I was expecting to have to pay for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here last summer and I forgot to post a review but here it is now!
This is a nice place to stay. The best thing is the really bohemian feel about the decor in the public areas of the hotel. Although some might say it looks like a multi coloured mash-up we loved it and it's clear that a great deal of thought has gone into how the place looks; some of the fixtures and fittings and furniture are really quirky and good quality. The pool is clean and it wasn't too busy when we stayed there in July. It's a 5 minute stroll down the bank to the little town where there are plenty of places to eat, but be aware that if you find walking uphill tough the return journey might leave you a bit short of breath. Breakfast was ok - usual 'continental' array - gets a bit boring after a while but it is the same in most places like this. It's not for children really as there's not a lot for them to do if you stay at the hotel but great for grown ups who want to realax and read by the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent location. Hotel was empty, we hardly seen a soul. We had connecting rooms as we are a family of four. Bathrooms clean, towels changed daily, rooms cleaned to a good standard. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. The colour scheme in the hotel is bizarre to say the least.
In door pool nice enough and lovely sauna. The only negative is that the beds are very uncomfortable, so hard same with the pillows came back with a stiff neck !! Even our two kids complained about being sore and stiff each morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My Wife and myself stayed at the Mirachoro Praia last september for one week B&B,we got a fantastic deal of 230 euros for the 7 nights, we found the hotel to be of good quality and very clean,the breakfast was plentyful and Wow! Nespresso coffee.please dont go full board as there are loads of top quality restaurants at very reasonable prices within walking distance of the hotel.
For lunch we found a lovely place just down from the hotel called Cafe Fino, good quality snacks, baguettes, plus a good choice of hot meals.
Overall we had a good weeks holiday, Carvoeiro is lovely resort to visit with plenty to do.
The only complaints I have with the hotel is the extra charge for in-room wi-fi kept on breaking down, the tv reception was very poor, and a few of the staff looked as though they had won the lottery but lost the ticket!!!. I didn´t try the indoor pool or sauna as it seemed a bit dank & dark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west lancs
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Third time here...yes beds & pillows not the comfiest...but £200 for 7 nights B&B! It`s clean & breakfast is good, don't have evening meal..who does when there's the whole of Carvoeiro to sample! The guy at the pool bar has been miserable for the 2 years we met him. We don’t tip him, which will make him more miserable!! Note to management...he may not like his job, but it is obvious he needs training in customer services.

Room Tip: Do not be put off from negative views...I am very fussy. It's a lovely hotel, our third visit. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mirachoro Praia is a fine holiday hotel in a great location and certainly in our Broadway Travel end-of-season package was wonderful value. The front elevation of the hotel is a bit 'brutal' and the Lobby decor with bright colours takes a bit of getting used-to ! There are many interesting designer touches and overall we got to appreciate it. The rooms and showers etc. were spotlessly clean and well serviced on a daily basis. The external pool area is excellent - albeit the weather in October was somewhat patchy. We felt the indoor pool is not visually attractive with low ceilings and lack of views out - but was serving its purpose entertaining for some children who disliked the rain externally.
Breakfast was fine - with two exceptions. The dilutable orange juice with ice cubes thinning it out as time went-on baffles me. Oranges are falling off the trees in places - why is there not freshly squeezed (or even standard juice from concentrate) provided. It would make such a difference ! The frankfurter-type sausages - left in tepid water - were bleached-out and devoid of any taste or pleasant texture. I really like these sausages - but not drowned and left in the water to remove taste and texture ! Coffee was via Nespresso capsules and was excellent.
The hotel was winding-up for the close of season but still maintained a good standard ( except for the Orange Juice and Sausages !) Would we return here - Yes no problem. It was GREAT value despite some small glitches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mirachoro Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirachoro Praia

Address: Estrada Do Farol, S/n, Carvoeiro, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirachoro Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mirachoro Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirachoro Praia Hotel
Hotel Mirachoro Praia Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirachoro Praia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.