We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally relaxing and "get away from it all" place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Senhora da Rocha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Armacao de Pera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vila Senhora da Rocha
Save
You added Vila Senhora da Rocha to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marrocha Lda Apartado | PO Box 2, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“totally relaxing and "get away from it all" place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Wonderful place to get away from it all. Each unit is different. These are villas that are individually owned and rented out when the owner if not using them. Some are owned by the resort.
There are no phones in the units
Most have air conditioning or are getting units
There is a shuttle that runs daily into Armacao de Pera. There is a Grocery store ( InterMarche) a 15 minute walk from the resort or a smaller one where the shuttle leaves you in town..Or there is a Mini Intermarche in the villa that is open till 1 pm each day for the guest.
There are 3 swimming pools and a tennis court
A Private Beach.
A very good Restaraunt on premise with a very good new chef( as of this report from 2015)
Laundry facilites must be reserved, however each unit has drying racks outside on the porches to dry clothes if you hand wash. There is also a laundry service in town that you can use, just ask at the desk
Bathrooms are good, but no hot water diverters, so the water can get very hot.And each unit has it's own hotwater tank, so no endless hot water.
You can rent cars and tours at the desk. Take note all cars rented are standard and small, automatic cars are more expensive.You do not need an international drivers licence for Portugal, but do if you plan to drive for a day or two to Spain or Gibraltor.
The A22 is a toll Highway, Suggestt paying extra for the transponder, other wise you will be standing in line for a long time at the posst office to pay .
Expect to see cats around. Some are owned some are Feral,, but they do not bother you at all. If you do feel a need to feed them, be prepared to attract alot of Seagulls!( trust me on this one.
While walking dont be surprised to run into a herd of Goats feeding in the area.

Close to the beaches and wonderful local resturants.
close to Porches, where you will find a vast array of pottery.

Suggest if you stay for a few weeks, go into the town and find a dollar store, and pick up your essentials, IE; dish liquid, wine glasses, anything that makes your life more comfortable. If you decide you really like the place, you can then put all your purchases in a box and they will store them for you untill you return next time:)
we loved it, it was perfect for us, but it not for anyone who expects made service every d.ay, room sesrvice or a night life on premise

Lots of good resturants around and you can not run out of wine or beer or cheese!
and you have not visited Portugal unless you have gone to one FADO night:)

Ola!

Room Tip: rooms on lower level are bigger, two or three room units, top floor usually one to two room units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
River Vale, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Have been here many times, recently loved the access to the beautiful new and expanded beach. Far enough away from the extremely busy areas of the algarve during the rush of people in the summer months.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 via mobile

The complex looks the part. The villas are decent. The showers work and for self catering there is plenty of crockery and cutlery.Its a 3 star place.... what more do you expect for £115 per adult for 7 nights.

The beach is decent and 1minute and 30 seconds away. You cant beat that. Walking down the steep steps with young kids is trying but not dangerous. The view from the top of the cliff are re brilliant.

The reception staff were good enough to deal with our request for some cooked food from their restaurant and milk for the kids as we were arriving in the early hours. That was good of them. We had no hot water on our last day and their maintenance people had left for the day but they gave us keys to an empty villa so we could have hot showers.

The pools were clean and the whole place had a very relaxed feel about it. The evenings are so quiet apart from the Friday night bar music which fortunately didnt go on too late.

The complex is exactly 15 minutes walk from the large supermarket and our villa was 30seconds from the complex's own mini shop which served fresh croissants and rolls at 830 every day .. if you dont get there early, dont bother as the fresh bakery items will have all gone.


The complex's own shuttle goes into town 4 times a day.

Whilst the two beaches at Senhora de Rocha are really good, you should try and go to nearby beaches by taxi or car.eg taxi to praia de Marinha was 12 euros each way. That beach was amazing.

In the other direction, a beach slightly out of the way caled Sao Raphael was breathtaking and the rock formations allowed you to wander into them.

If you can do a day trip to Seville, do so. It is awesome. The cathedral and Palace were breathtaking and Seville had an unique charm.

We managed to find decent parking on rue de el cid next to Seville universiity and walked the 10 minutes to the Palace. Perfect. And it was super cheap.

We will come back to the Algarve and hire another car and use it to see all the different beaches and coastline .





  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

The place is peaceful, in pretty grounds, with exceptional pool areas, especially the very back pool area. Lie on a sun lounger at the back pool area and you will get the most amazing views of a cliff with a Fishermans Church perched at the end, the sea and the odd sailing or fisherman boat. It was just beautiful.

I would say this place was probably in its hey day, the place to stay. It has an 80's or early 90's decor feel with updates to cosmetic things such as furniture, pictures on walls, with energy efficient light bulbs that poke out their shades, box colour TV, and then there is a brand new kitchen and a modern 4 seater dining table.

There are four swimming pools, one sheltered and heated, one for babies, one main pool and one smaller main pool at the back/top. All pools were fairly empty when we stayed at the end of August. I can't say that there were many empty sun loungers though.

There is access to 3 beaches past the pool area. Two of the beaches can be reached via cliff steps and the other beach can be accessed via a walk along the cliff edge to a path down to the beach or from the main road at the entrance.

We ate at the restaurant on our first night and it felt like it was home cooked food. Nothing fancy, just fresh, simple and tasty. It's actually really nice to eat there, especially if you get a bit fed up with eating dressed up gourmet restaurant food. Fresh fish, carrots with long green beans and plain boiled potatoes was just lovely.

There is a shop on site that has a bakery and sells pretty much anything you would need to make your self catering holiday enjoyable. If you want to do a proper supermarket shop, then there is an Inter Marche that's about a 15 minute walk away.

There is a free mini bus service, 4 times a day, to the main town of Armacao de Pera and back. Again, if you find the area too quiet then you can use this bus and experience a town full of tourist shops, cafes and the longest beach in Portugal!

A maid come round and cleaned the villa, put fresh towels in the bathroom and made our bed, at least every other day or two.

Tips: If you get hard pillows, ask reception for some soft ones and they will kindly help you out.
The kitchen contains no essential basics such as washing up liquid, cloths, sugar, teabags etc.
The villa we stayed in, had no air con or fans. We discovered a nice breeze via our bathroom window to our bedroom during the night.

The nearest cash point (to walk too) is no more than a 10 minute walk, however it's the only cash point easy to walk to and therefore it runs out of cash quickly. If you have no hire car, be prepared to use the mini bus for a bank in the main town.

Room Tip: Any villa would be good, since they are all quite secluded as surrounded by trees, bushes and garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Spent 10 nights at the start of August, the apartment was a bit dated but comfortable and spacious. The kitchen was very well equipped. No aircon and it was hot. Very quiet location well away from nightlife and restaurants. Which can make it a bit boring of an evening. Pretty complex with pleasant gardens, well lit at night. The beach is great, although the steps down to it are a bit steep it's well worth it, almost like a private beach. The on site restaurant is ok but there is one close bye called the Aquamar which is very good. The on site mini market is ok and has a bakery, good prices but being small they have limited stock. There is a proper supermarket up by the main road which is very good but about half a mile away.
There are three swimming pools two salt water and one fresh surrounded by gardens all well kept just like the rest of the complex. If you want a beach holiday with young kids and want to self cater for most of the time then this place is brilliant. Because we still have to get our money changed there is nowhere local to do it, worth thinking about.
There is a free minibus into Armacao de pera four times a day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

i have holidayed here since i was 8

I have fond memories of my childhood holidays as well as my teens and early twenties,been here twice as a mother now and i feel it lacks the atmosphere it once had.
We rent our vila through a private let and its superb.
However the complex itself is nice and the mini shop is well stocked i am dissapointed in the feel of the place...
Staff seem rude and fed up and the only nice treatement i have received from staff has been from one man...the pools are good if not crowded but it is august!
The pool restaurant is nice and the food is ok.
The toilets leave alot to be desired and always have done....an hourly check would be a good idea...
Although i love the place it is my older memories i love...it is def not suitable for the imobile.
As i said our vila is superb and our home from home i cant comment on thd other vilas as i dont know what they are like...
I will always have a place in my heart for VSDR and will return but my time will be spent outside of the resort.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the Vila Senhora da Rocha for 8 days in March and found it to be very good apart from being so quiet (only to be expected in March, in fact the whole of the Algarve seemed to be just about dead!). The apartments are quite quirky, being scattered around a large grassy area riddled with paths, in a really well maintained complex. Perhaps the pools could do with a little tlc but it may be that will happen before the season starts properly. The apartments are very well set up with living areas, bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen area, all clean but fairly simple and Spartan which is the Portuguese way. It was almost like being in someone's home due to the ornaments and nick-nacks on show. The kitchen had everything we would have needed to cook if we had been bothered to, including microwave, toaster and coffee machine. One small criticism was that there was only Sky news in English on the tv which got a bit repetitive! The manager explained they did not subscribe to any other channels out of season which seems fair enough, and we weren't there to watch TV anyway but it would have been useful later in the evenings. The complex itself sits on the clifftop along from the Igreja Senhora da Rocha which is a short walk along the cliff path. The beach at the bottom of the wooden steps is fantastic (as are all the beaches on the south and west coasts of Portugal). We ate in the pool bar on the first evening (the main restaurant was closed) and had a simple meal of local food which was lovely. Because the menu was a bit limited we sought out other local restaurants in Armacao de Pera and other localities for the rest of the week. Overall, the complex is very nice, clean and well set up and it would be interesting to see how it is in the summer months. Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: None of the apartments have a sea view, they all look onto grassy gardens which are well kept. Cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Senhora da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Senhora da Rocha

Address: Marrocha Lda Apartado | PO Box 2, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Senhora da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Also Known As:
Vila Senhora Da Rocha Hotel
Vila Senhora Da Rocha Armacao De Pera, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Senhora da Rocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.