We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not long home and missing it already.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartment Algar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Apartment Algar to your Saves list
Hotel Apartment Algar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Beira Mar, Armacao de Pera 8365-101, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Bonnyrigg, Midlothian, Scotland.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not long home and missing it already.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This apart/hotel fitted our every need. We were on the 6Th floor, with a wonderful view over the pedestrianised area, beach and sea. We've stayed there before, many years ago but I cant remember it being as good as it was, we will return.
All the staff we came in touch with, were very helpful and a special mention has to go to Marie, who helped us with anything we wanted to know. The pool on the roof was kept clean at all times, with fresh towels in the toilet area. We were there before the main season was in full swing, so the bar on the roof terrace wasn't fully functional. although steps were being taken to get it up and running.
As I said, it was everything we hoped it would be. Towels were changed regularly and beds made daily. Cooking facilities and utensils were more than adequate for self catering purposes when required. Restaurant's and cafes were plentyful around the Algar and most were of a high standard. Wifi was available and the pedestrian area was a wifi zone which enabled you to get it , at least in my case on the balcony of our room.
There is only one place I would go on the Algarve and that is the Algar in Armacao De Pera. The people are great and the town is fantastic.
Hope to see you all soon!
If anyone wants to know anything please ask.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lancs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

ideal for couples and people with children even great for the elderly or imfirm
well equiped kitchen, comfortable beds, constant hot water in bathroom with bath and shower . quiet hotel staff friendly and helpfull, with good basic english

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed with our two children in this apt/hotel for 1 week at the start of July 2009 - firstly it had been updated from what appears on the website which was very welcome. Secondly the location was superb. The apartment itself was lovely. Self-catering, kitchen come dining with a double bed/sofa, large bathroom with corridor leading into double room with large double doors leading out to balcony. We could have stayed on that balcony for the whole summer! Table and 4 chairs, umbrella and a never-ending view. We all enjoyed it, the apt was cleaned everyday, bins emptied etc. the staff were lovely to deal with. The pool was larger than expected and my children loved it, however with the beach just across the road we didnt go very often. The old town is so friendly and welcoming to children, there was live music by the fort most evenings- we will definitely be going back

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

It is an old hotel close to the beach and at a walk distance from the main restaurant and bar area.

The bed was comfortable and the room had an adequate size. It had a balcony with vie to the beach and the street. It was quite nice for having a light meal or drink outside.
The bedclothes are changed at a weekly basis i believe.

The kitchen appliances were quite old and simple but everything worked fine.

The swimming pool is actually very small, just for kids, but I've enjoyed some moments by it. The bar next to the pool was closed unfortunately, although it was the high season.

In general it's an okay hotel if your on budget but it's quality is far from some other hotels that can be found in Armação de Pera for the same price.

As for the beach, it isn't my favorite in Algarve. The sand and the water are relatively clean but it's very crowded. Most of the tourists are Portuguese since the place is comparatively cheap.

But if you have a car (which would be hard to park next to the hotel) you can visit those great Algarve beaches in the neighborhood.

  • Liked — Closeness to the beach
  • Disliked — Overall quality
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apartment Algar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartment Algar

Address: Av Beira Mar, Armacao de Pera 8365-101, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apartment Algar 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Apartment Algar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartment Algar Armacao De Pera, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartment Algar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.