We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A holiday to remember” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Algarve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Algarve to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Algarve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A holiday to remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Holiday Inn, Armacao de Pera in Portugal.
It was a beautiful hotel and was kept immaculately clean, the rooms, dining room, bar and all public areas. All of the staff were very helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.
The resort itself was really pretty and again, was very clean, as were the beaches. All in all we had a really good time and met some lovely people.

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view room, but the balcony was quite small. The balconies facing the street looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garbe, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and thank you for your kind comments.

We hope it is not too long before you return.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    174
    74
    19
    10
See reviews for
68
261
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you go to this hotel you have to take into account it needs upgrading in many ways, it just not a four star hotel however the prices are still four star which is a shame and causes ill feeling , the rooms are being improved but the cleaning standard was not good enough and neither is the service that said as other reviews have stated some staff are excellent and the location , sea views and breakfast are great as is the fridge and kettle and tea and coffee in the room. We had a great holiday and enjoyed the resort as well as the hotel but would wait to go again until the holiday inn have had chance to make improvements, loved being with the Portuguese people on holiday and eating out at the local restaurants which are of good quality and reasonably priced

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room the others are poor but we got over it and had a good holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Helen G,

Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay. Please know that it was a pleasure serving you and we will always do our best to accommodate all of our guests and their needs. Your positive feedback regarding the room amenities is highly appreciated. I am, however, disappointed to learn that the cleanliness and level of service was a letdown during your stay. I have taken note of your concerns and I am confident that our hotel will take appropriate action in improving guest satisfaction.

I do hope that we can welcome you back, see the improvements made, and restore your faith in our beautiful hotel.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

As has been stated, you will get what you pay for here. Thought we had a good deal but the room we were offered was not 4 Star, not refurbished, tired and certainly not value for money. We had to robustly negotiate and pay extra per night for a half decent room, which is not a good start on holiday. This was 100% better but still not 4 Star with soap dispensers etc rather than decent toiletries. Views from the upgraded room were great, despite a small balcony. Beware of the pool if you can't or have children who cannot swim. Without any obvious warning it drops off from shallow to deep. It is also very cold. All of the rooms need to be refurbished in this Hotel. People should not be palmed off with substandard accommodation when they are expecting a Holiday Inn brand.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view or not at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Titanium_13,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you liked the view from your room. On the other hand, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience with the initial room assignment. Your comments including that of the bathroom amenities and pool facility are highly appreciated. Please be assured that we will use your feedback to improve on these areas you have mentioned.

I hope that you give us another chance to provide you with a better stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a great hotel - fantastic location right on the beach. Views are spectacular if you are fortunate enough to get a front facing room.
I admit I am fussy and have been known to move rooms and even check out if necessary ! This hotel is a Holiday Inn at the end of the day, it provides just what it should - great staff, high levels of cleanliness, good customer service. These people actually look like they want to welcome you as guests. Location is good in a quieter resort outside Albuferia but still plenty of shops, bars and restaurants literally outside the hotel. The promenade is a delight at night with street entertainment. We didn't experience any issues with food, all well presented, hot and a good variety but like all hotel food, it gets a bit repetitive. However, not a criticism, just an observation. If you want a change go out of the hotel turn left there is a great English Pub, the Watering Dog with good English Food if you are inclined and one of the best Chinese Restaurants I have ever been in just 10 meters away. In between the two is a coffee shop selling great cakes and pastries - ideal for a lazy morning coffee.
This hotel should be congratulated for it's consistency, would love to return at some stage. One tiny tiny criticism - the outdoor pool is freezing but refreshing once you are in !

Room Tip: Front - sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have just returned from a week, b and b at this hotel.
It is well situated on the beach, and at the front, on the main street / promenade in armacao de pera.
We had a recently refurbished double room on the 4th floor, which is what we asked for if it was available, so thank you for that. The room was absolutely fine, although the balcony, like them all throughout the hotel, was at best a 3 foot by 3 foot space with one chair, and really no room to go out onto. Not a problem for us though as we don't tend to use the balcony anyway. The aircon was quite noisy however during the night and had to be on to cope with the heat at this time of year, an improvement here would be helpful.
Breakfast was from 7.30 to 11 am which was great, and meant that there was always plenty of space and seating options, and while some may complain about the range of food available, we were happy with what was available, and it was all of good quality too. The bacon, sausage, egg, beans etc were all very good to our taste, and the sliced oranges and melon beforehand were far superior to what we get back home.
Getting a sunbed by the pool was a bit of a challenge, and I think the habit by some of setting towels out before breakfast and returning at some point later, needs reviewing.
The beach was superb, and we tended to use this, but with a charge of 15.50 euros per day for sunbeds and brolly, was a bit expensive.
So too were drinks at the bar and pool bar, which discourages people from using this facility, creating the usual lack of atmosphere around the hotel that many have for the same reason.
There are lots of restaurants/bars/coffee shops from the hotel all the way through to the fisherman's huts at the other end of town, and they provide plenty of options for eating and drinking.
Some good Portugese restaurants that we will use again when we visit in the future, helped make this a very good holiday in a resort that we liked a lot, and was quite different from other places we have been to along the Algarve. Maybe all the Portugese holidaymakers at this time of year created the atmosphere, as they strolled around in the evenings and ate in the many restaurants, but we will certainly visit again and see what it is like then, again on a b and b basis at the Holiday Inn due to its location.

Room Tip: go b and b and use the restaurants around the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have recently returned from spending 21 nights at the holiday inn. The hotel is in a wonderful setting overlooking the beach and I can only think this is why people return there. The rooms are a nice size and being carpeted makes them quiet but they are in need of refurbishment. The view from the bar and restaurant is really lovely. However, the most important requirement for me is good food, and this is the reason I will never return to this hotel. There was usually only one choice of meat at each meal, the fish always looked the same. The vegetables were overcooked and the potatoes were always undercooked. Almost all the food was tasteless and I think it was either frozen or tinned. There was a variety of salad but nothing was labelled and once I thought I chose potato salad only to discover it was pineapple. Some was mixed with meat others mixed with fish but you couldn't tell which was which. Fruit was on offer but only sliced in a dish, no whole fruit. No body seemed to check when the food trays were empty, you had to ask a waiter to inform the kitchen staff and patiently wait. I wish the hotel manager would take the time to try the restaurant food. The pool is out of bounds for the disabled as the only access is down lots of steps and although there is a notice saying you can't reserve sun beds with your towel, this happens and by 8am all the beds are reserved. The sad thing is just a few changes here and there and this would be a lovely hotel to stay.

Room Tip: The balconies looked very small so I wouldn't pay extra for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you were disappointed.

Your feedback is very much appreciated - our food and beverage manager is looking in to all your points - so similar situations do not re-occur in the future.

These are not the standards that we aim for, nor those which we normally achieve.

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Staff I'm the holiday inn are excellent and so helpful
I dealt with Jane and Helen at the golf desk and they sorted me with a round at vale de pinta with two guys from cork
Great round with hired clubs brand new Taylor made
Breakfasts good enough to get you to dinner time
Many excellent restaurants nearby also
All in all a very pleasant experience
Thanks girls at the golf desk again
Brian

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your golfing holiday.

We very much appreciate your comments.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back here in the near future.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve

Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armação de Pêra, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armação de Pêra accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve Armacao De Pera, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.