We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Algarve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Algarve to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Algarve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have just returned from a week, b and b at this hotel.
It is well situated on the beach, and at the front, on the main street / promenade in armacao de pera.
We had a recently refurbished double room on the 4th floor, which is what we asked for if it was available, so thank you for that. The room was absolutely fine, although the balcony, like them all throughout the hotel, was at best a 3 foot by 3 foot space with one chair, and really no room to go out onto. Not a problem for us though as we don't tend to use the balcony anyway. The aircon was quite noisy however during the night and had to be on to cope with the heat at this time of year, an improvement here would be helpful.
Breakfast was from 7.30 to 11 am which was great, and meant that there was always plenty of space and seating options, and while some may complain about the range of food available, we were happy with what was available, and it was all of good quality too. The bacon, sausage, egg, beans etc were all very good to our taste, and the sliced oranges and melon beforehand were far superior to what we get back home.
Getting a sunbed by the pool was a bit of a challenge, and I think the habit by some of setting towels out before breakfast and returning at some point later, needs reviewing.
The beach was superb, and we tended to use this, but with a charge of 15.50 euros per day for sunbeds and brolly, was a bit expensive.
So too were drinks at the bar and pool bar, which discourages people from using this facility, creating the usual lack of atmosphere around the hotel that many have for the same reason.
There are lots of restaurants/bars/coffee shops from the hotel all the way through to the fisherman's huts at the other end of town, and they provide plenty of options for eating and drinking.
Some good Portugese restaurants that we will use again when we visit in the future, helped make this a very good holiday in a resort that we liked a lot, and was quite different from other places we have been to along the Algarve. Maybe all the Portugese holidaymakers at this time of year created the atmosphere, as they strolled around in the evenings and ate in the many restaurants, but we will certainly visit again and see what it is like then, again on a b and b basis at the Holiday Inn due to its location.

Room Tip: go b and b and use the restaurants around the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    197
    94
    22
    12
See reviews for
88
302
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have recently returned from spending 21 nights at the holiday inn. The hotel is in a wonderful setting overlooking the beach and I can only think this is why people return there. The rooms are a nice size and being carpeted makes them quiet but they are in need of refurbishment. The view from the bar and restaurant is really lovely. However, the most important requirement for me is good food, and this is the reason I will never return to this hotel. There was usually only one choice of meat at each meal, the fish always looked the same. The vegetables were overcooked and the potatoes were always undercooked. Almost all the food was tasteless and I think it was either frozen or tinned. There was a variety of salad but nothing was labelled and once I thought I chose potato salad only to discover it was pineapple. Some was mixed with meat others mixed with fish but you couldn't tell which was which. Fruit was on offer but only sliced in a dish, no whole fruit. No body seemed to check when the food trays were empty, you had to ask a waiter to inform the kitchen staff and patiently wait. I wish the hotel manager would take the time to try the restaurant food. The pool is out of bounds for the disabled as the only access is down lots of steps and although there is a notice saying you can't reserve sun beds with your towel, this happens and by 8am all the beds are reserved. The sad thing is just a few changes here and there and this would be a lovely hotel to stay.

Room Tip: The balconies looked very small so I wouldn't pay extra for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you were disappointed.

Your feedback is very much appreciated - our food and beverage manager is looking in to all your points - so similar situations do not re-occur in the future.

These are not the standards that we aim for, nor those which we normally achieve.

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Staff I'm the holiday inn are excellent and so helpful
I dealt with Jane and Helen at the golf desk and they sorted me with a round at vale de pinta with two guys from cork
Great round with hired clubs brand new Taylor made
Breakfasts good enough to get you to dinner time
Many excellent restaurants nearby also
All in all a very pleasant experience
Thanks girls at the golf desk again
Brian

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your golfing holiday.

We very much appreciate your comments.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back here in the near future.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

...you cannot even use the beach without paying 11 euros for two chairs and an umbrella. The front desk staff was less than kind, well one in particular was very rude. The room was tiny, the shower drain was clogged and the water ran super hot every time someone flushed the toilet. Oh and the AC unit was less than working. I will not even talk about beds, ok I will. I had to wake up in the middle of the night and down some Tylenol just to get a couple hours sleep. I contemplated sleeping on the floor or the balcony. Oh nix the balcony it as 3' x 3'. A bit of a stain on an otherwise stellar vacation. Thankfully we only stayed there 2 nights. Free parking, its only perk.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We are very sorry to read your review - we are very concerned about some of points and need to investigate these further - we have sent you a direct e-mail for more information.

Our sincere apologies and best wishes

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel has a great atmosphere with staff that are always willing to help but there are problems with not all of the rooms being updated as of yet and these are purchased by the tour companies.
The rooms are basic without the touches you would associate with holiday inn and they look like the rooms are still on the waiting list to be updated since it was taken over. We managed to move as priority club members and these are up to the usual holiday inn high standards.
This hotel has a swimming pool that is over 3metres deep so not a hotel for small children and with two flights of concrete steps hard to reach for the infirm. In the brochure the hotel looked as though it had it's oen beach but thus is a public beach making the pool area compact to sunbathe in. In summary I would say this hotel is good but do not go via tour operators go direct and it will be a prooer holiday inn.

Room Tip: Book direct not through tour operators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear stcpres2n,

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay. It is regrettable to read that the room conditions and pool area were a let down and prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced. I can assure you that these are not the standards that we aim for. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just returned from two weeks holidays again staff fab and Alice on reception wounderfull lady and very helpfull.And Artulia our cleaner big kisses.i hope i spelt her name correct ???
But only two moans paying for beach towels not a good move as i will not use this service again.And the hotel is being over run by Sarga old folk they get up before 6am to put there toweis out not nice and the hotel shuold try to stop this or get the Saga rep to tell them.But apart from that a very nice stay again

Room Tip: Get a sea view room WOW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garbe, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your review - we are delighted that you once again enjoyed your holiday with us. We have passed on your kind comments about the staff.

Thank you also for your feedback about the sunbeds, we are now asking all guests not to reserve sunbeds.

We hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Algarve.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic ten day break in the Algarve and we stayed and the lovely Holiday Inn Hotel, Amracao de Pera.

The beach side location of the hotel just on the outskirts of the main action is ideal and really encourages you to sit by the pool or down on the beach and do nothing. We had a lovely room on the fourth floor with sea views and a balcony. Our accommodation was bed and breakfast only and we really looked forward to going down to breakfast every morning which starts at 7.30am and finishes at 11.00am - so no rush. The choice of food was excellent.

There is a very friendly and chilled atmosphere about this hotel which comes from the staff, although they are super efficient and very friendly, and this rubs off on the guests.

We did speak to other tourists when we were out about in town who did say their hotel was just out of the town and they had to rely on a bus to get back and fourth so I think we had the best hotel in terms of everything.

As one of the previous reviews has mentioned if you want to get out and about you might need a car although we did go on a scheduled tour to Lisbon one day and took the local bus to Lagos another day so you can get about without a car if you really want to.

The hotel is spotless including the pool area and there is a gym and games room for children and adults. We chose to go out of season and there were people of mixed age groups some older and some younger.

The staff are lovely and this hotel is beautifully organised and extremely well run. Nothing and I mean nothing is too much trouble. The management team have been here since it was the Garbe and only recently has the hotel changed to a Holiday Inn.

We want to go back next year and do it all again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Algarve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We would like to say thank you very much for your positive comments regarding the Hotel and Staff.

We hope it is not too long before you return.

Kindest regards.

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armacao de Pera
18.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 17 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
10.1 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,360 reviews
11.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.0 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#7 of 21 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve

Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armação de Pêra, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armação de Pêra accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve Armacao De Pera, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.