We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Algarve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Algarve to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Algarve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Started our holiday on the 30th June 2014 and on till leaving on the 6th of June never had any problems breakfast had a great selection rooms kept clean nice friendly staff and a fantastic location if your going here expecting pub crawls bouncing night life it's not for you it's a quiet place for that laid back holiday experience how ever they are a few little bars water dog over the road from the hotel itself cracking little place great food good people and you have after eight bar we met some lovely people in they all in all great for that chilled out holiday experience we will be going back 2015, 8 out of 10 .

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always encouraging for us to receive such great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Kindest regards.

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    179
    79
    21
    11
See reviews for
74
275
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very friendly, clean and the food is of a good quality. The rooms are a bit dated but I understand these are being modernised as I wright. The room I stayed in smelt as if it had had a smoker in at some stage which was a shame. This is the third year we have stayed there for our golf break and we have always had a good time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked this via BA's website and were pleasantly surprised by the facilities and the location of the hotel. Right on the beach with that option as well as the pool area, the hotel was perfect for a girlie week of sun and food! The room was great and the shower always hot. We were a bit disappointed with the cleaning of the room on a daily basis, as one day they completely forgot us and another time the refreshments weren't replenished and not enough cups! The supply of towels in the bathroom could have been better as well, two of us and only one bath towel despite asking! Overall though we would definitely go back, whilst some areas need a tidy up, the cleanliness overall was good and the staff very friendly. Saga holiday makers were predominant but that was great for us as not many under 15's around so it was lovely and peaceful and relaxing. Bar staff were exceptional and remembered your drinks! Would be great if more information on the hotel was available easily.

Room Tip: Lifts can be quite noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Went as a party for a week and we had a lovely time, although the guests were mainly elderly people and there didn't seem to be any entertainment for our age group 15 to 54, we made our own fun, and entertained quite a few hotel guests in the process! Our rooms were in need of a revamp as they were very tired and old fashioned in appearance and smelled quite musty, BUT ! They were kept clean and had air con,safe,TV,tea making facilities and hair dryer all at no extra cost** We did have a few issues, cockroach in room and broken shower in another but they were sorted quickly due to the staff who were always very helpful and friendly, Claudia on reception always had a smile on her face and nothing was too much trouble. Food was ok, and it was hot! could have been better, pizza would have been nice for the younger ones in our party and I'm sure the older guests would enjoy the change from pasta also but this is only a very small moan! Also desserts needed to be improved everything seemed very bland.Sea and sand were absolutely wonderful but sun beds were too expensive!!! Don't mind paying but don't like being overcharged either and very unfair for the elderly who need them for comfort.Drinks in hotel expensive, even in happy hour(25% off) they would make more if they were cheaper as guests would stay and drink there instead off going elsewhere i.e.- pub, supermarket. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and I would go again but this hotel is definitely for the older generation, and we did get to know some very nice ones, and I think they did enjoy our presence also, but if you've got teenagers think twice before booking!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This year May 14th, we celebrated our 10th year at The Holiday Inn. 10 fantastic golf trips on the algarve. This one was one of the best. 31 off us enjoyed the hotels hospitality, some fine weather, great nights out and some brilliant golf. All thanks to the guys that participated and Helen and Jane on the golf desk for making everything run so smoothly. It really is one the the very best hotels on the algarve and yes we will be back again next year. Thanks to all the staff for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good Morning Chris,

Thank you for once again posting here on TripAdvisor. We were delighted that everyone enjoyed the 10th Anniversary Golf Tour.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again next year.

With kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abercraf, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great location, good facilities. Staff are very helpful.
Rooms are very clean and looked after each day.

Club Sandwich by the pool with a beer - not to be missed!!
Quick walk to the beach down the steps.

Will be back!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for posting a review here on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Before we arrived we believed that our stay would be great; that was due to the emailed correspondence confirming our requests as well as a very well arranged transfer from the Airport at Faro to the hotel by a contracted taxi company at a competitive rate.
On arriving at reception we were greeted by the assistant manager, Manuela Brito, who gave us brief introduction to the hotel.
Many have commented on the fantastic location and there is nothing to add except to agree whole heatedly.
We had a sea facing room on the 4th, top, floor which was of reasonable size and had a 4 piece bathroom suite. The bath was of good size.
The Breakfast room over looked the ocean and was large. There is a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, cold cuts, hot selection and breads. Once the coffee tea machine is mastered it is easy. Eggs may be ordered if your choice is not in the buffet as can porridge.
The Lounge bar is well staffed and also has that great sea view. On a number of nights there is musical entertainment.
Outside there a number of sun terraces with sun beds. Towels if require are available from reception or the in house shop. From the sun terraces there is direct access to the very long sandy beach, don’t forget your room card to re-enter the security gate. Along the beach you can watch the fishing boats arrive and be pulled up the beach to sell their catch.
There have been comments about age groups but we found that there was a broad age range and absolutely no problems with this.
From the front of the hotel you may stroll along the promenade to the old village, there are a few shops and supermarkets as well as the Saturday farmers market.
The Bus stops are a couple of hundred yards or so from the hotel with fast buses to Faro and Lagos.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for its excellent staff and fantastic location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Algarve, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Holiday Inn Algarve here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your kind comments and recommendation.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back here in the future.

With kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Algarve

Address: Avenida Marginal, Armacao de Pera 8365-909, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Garbe)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Algarve 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to relax in the sun, take leisurely strolls on the beach or are looking for something more active, the Holiday Inn Algarve, formerly known as Hotel Garbe, is the perfect choice. Commanding a prime beachfront position with stunning panoramic views over the bay of the Algarvean village of Armação de Pêra, the hotel lies within strolling distance of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The holiday Inn Algarve is one of the best located Armação de Pêra accommodations. It is also an excellent base from which to explore the Algarve, with regular bus services to nearby towns and villages. From almost every angle guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views of the sparkling Atlantic. Direct access from the hotel leads straight on to the magnificent sandy beach, one of the longest in the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Algarve Hotel
Garbe Hotel Armação De Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve Armacao De Pera, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.