We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes for a relaxing break!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Nautico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Nautico to your Saves list
Vila Gale Nautico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vale do Olival | Apartado 298, Armacao de Pera 8365-912, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes for a relaxing break!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We,ve always had such busy holidays but really needed a relaxing break with our two sons...this was lovely, extremely clean, lovely staff, rooms fab and pool gorgeous :) wasnt much to do at nights and maybes at the wrong end of town but other than that we had a really lovely holiday and would definately recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Nautico, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Galé Náutico in 2012.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially the friendly and efficient staff.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Galé Nautico Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    238
    74
    25
    15
See reviews for
292
211
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My partner & I stayed here the first week in October, & had fab weather (26+ degrees every day !), which was a welcome bonus ! Our first time to Portugal.

The hotel check-in process was effcient, however, we had quite a wait due to there being several groups arriving & checking in at the same time.
We found our room to be very spacious, although a little dated, but we never spend much time in the room while on holiday, so this didn't matter to us.
We had a pool view, room number was 306, so handy to reach from reception, with a life near the room to get down to the bar / restaurant.
The room was cleaned daily, & the cleaners seemed friendly.

We were quite disappointed with the food available at this hotel, compared to the various other all inclusive hotels we have stayed in.
We are not the type of people who expect chips with everything, & we like to sample local dishes etc, but despite the nice presentation, we felt the food let the hotel down.

Breakfast was pretty much the same every day - cereals, fruit, cooked breakfast, toast / pastries etc, & continental breakfast, & was frequently topped up, & we found this to be the better meal of the day.
Lunch & evening mealtimes were quite repetitive, & the food was bland.....usually a cooked meat, a fish option, a potato option, one or two veg options (these alternated through the week), then either pasta or rice (but no sauce - except for twice when there was a bowl of cold sauce by the pasta).
Would have been better if they could have had meat in a sauce, or something, as just meat alone was quite dry & bland :o(
The main / hot meals were presented in silver-domed hot-plates, then the other food stations had bread, salads, cold meat, desserts, fruit etc, & self-serve ice-cream & drinks.

The bar staff were by far the friendliest of all the hotel staff (especially Carlos).
The usual soft drinks, local spirits, beer etc were on all inclusive, as were the cocktails, but these were the mass-produced stuff, so not as nice as those made fresh, but I understand they use these for speed of serving people (& probably 'cos they're cheap too !!)....I found the Strawberry Daiquiri to be the best :o)

Most staff were quite miserable, despite our best efforts to speak a little Portuguese, which we didn't like, though we were aware that it was at the end of the season, & they all seemed to work very long hours, so maybe this was why !? No excuse, but perhaps an explanation.

One staff member we have to mention is Helder who worked on reception - he was SO helpful, & told us all about where he came from in Portugal (the Alentejo region)....he gave us maps, & suggested places to visit etc, & also wrote down the names of some local sweets for us to find & try (doce fino - very nice !!). Unfortunately, we only saw him the once, so it was a pity we couldn't tell him we had visited the places he suggested & tried the doce fino etc.....

We used the hotel gym (it has running machine, cross-trainer, weight benches), & indoor swimming pool & jacuzzi, which were all empty due to the time of year, which was nice.

The hotel location was handy for the beach (approx. 5 min walk away), or the main promenade in Armacao de Pera.

We hired a car from Europcar (arranged before we went through HolidayAutos), but we would not recommend them...we asked for a hotel drop-off, but didn't get it, so wasted 1/2 a day waiting for the car which never came. After several calls to them, & arguing, we had to pay them to drop the car off at the hotel - despite our booking confirmation saying we had hotel drop-off at no charge !
This left a bad taste in our mouths, & is now being investigated with the booking agent to recover the charge.

We ventured to Monchique, Vilamoura, Portimao, Albufeira, Lagos, & would definately recommend a trip to Lagos or Albufeira for anyone wanting to venture out of the hotel.

If you hire a car, there is a garage at the hotel (think you have to pay to use it), or there's a big car park across the road which you can use.

All in all, a nice holiday, & we would definately return to Portugal, but unfortunately we wouldn't return to this hotel

Room Tip: -Pool view rooms are definately worth the extra money. -Avoid rooms near the lifts, as you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Nautico, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Galé Náutico in 2012.

It is with disappointment that we saw you review about tour stay in this hotel. We really would like to explain really why our staff gave this impression as normally we don´t have that kind of comments from guests. Work hard is part of any company who works well in our days, especially seasonal jobs like ours. People who work in tourism are use to the hours extra in summer, despite I can assure you that is not the case in 90 % of our co-workers. We really apologize if we passed the wrong impression.

Regarding the food, we have taken in consideration your review (and from other guests). In our second year of 100% All-Inclusive, we are still searching for what can it be a "portuguese all-inclusive hotel", trying to add differentiation factor in our service. You where here in our first year. During this summer, and based on reviews like yours and experiences from our team, we add one more main course, as also 4 themed nights (2 BBQ: One with 6 variety of meats and 2 fish and other with 6 variety of fish and two meats; Paellas evening and Algarve Cataplana and seafood). We have also added new pastas and pizzas in the buffet at lunches and a sauce station in both meals. The feedback is better this year, but we have already new goals for 2014.

That´s why your comments are an important tool and only help us to continue our constant pursuit of service improvement and continue trying to exceed expectations.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Galé Nautico Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Travelled with four other couples with varied age range.Arrived at night were shown straight to our rooms and went down to dinner,that was the start of a great holiday. Everything was excellent,rooms were very good and clean,beds comfy and if you wanted to watch it very good T.V.We found the food very varied and appetising and the A La Carte was Italian Style and excellent.We were on all inclusive and the drinks were good as we tried just about all of them.
The entertainment was varied with Kareoki,Bingo,Quizzes and some very good guitarists and singers.

All the staff were tremendously helpful from the Kitchen right through to the manager(even to getting newcastle on the portugese football channel).

We arrived home on the 25th October 2012 and we are definately going to return early next year.

Room Tip: If your budget allows have a pool view but some of our party were in rooms on the south side and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Nautico, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Galé Náutico in 2012.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, food variety and quality, room and cleanliness.

Your comments really motivates us to continue our constant pursuit of service improvement and continue trying to exceed expectations.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Galé Nautico Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just got back from a fabulous week at the Vila Gale Nautico, 20th - 27th October. Where do I start - we arrived late but were greeted by a very helpful member of staff who quickly booked us in. First room we had was clean, spacious and looked directly onto the pool, however our neighbours were very noisy and we asked for a room change. Tiago, on reception couldn't have been more helpful and changed us to a Junior Suite at no extra charge! Fantastic room 202 we had a lounge and a bedroom, the bedroom overlooked the pool whilst the lounge looked out towards the see - I would definitely recommend booking this sort of accommodation. All the staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble.The variety of food at all meals was excellent and the a la carte meal was superb.

We spent the mornings walking on the beach and back through the town, afternoons lazing on the balcony and swimming in the indoor pool, though my husband did try the outdoor pool. Although not all the entertainment was to our taste we enjoyed the musicians and the quiz night.

Would I go back? Yes tomorrow if I could but unfortunately it will have to wait until next year.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool or a junior suite if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Nautico, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Galé Náutico in 2012.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, food quality and variety and the room.

Regarding the entertainment, we have taken in consideration your review (and from other guests) by adding 3 new shows this summer, as also, changed the musicians. Despite our efforts with better feedback, we are already working to improve even more in 2014 season.

That´s why your comments are an important tool and only help us to continue our constant pursuit of service improvement and continue trying to exceed expectations.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Galé Nautico Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked this hotel via the internet and used Ryanair to fly

What a find - from the fantastic reception team to the great bar team - couldn't believe the hotel for what we paid.

The room was lovely - spotlessly clean and kept that way during our stay. The whole hotel was well kept, with lots of attention from the staff.

The local area is really nice - great beaches, bars and shops and a €16 ride to Alberfura - cheaper than the buses.

All inclusive was ok - food ok for adults - might have struggled if we were travelling with our children (6 - 19) and the drinks were not recognised brands.

Would go again - and recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Nautico, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Galé Náutico in 2012.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, room and cleanliness.

Regarding the food for children, we have taken in consideration your review (and from other guests). We are studying the possibility to put a kids corner for 2014 season.

That´s why your comments are an important tool and only help us to continue our constant pursuit of service improvement and continue trying to exceed expectations.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Galé Nautico Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Where shall we start, please please don't listen to the negative reviews, 4 people travelling, 2 rooms.
First impressions of the hotel were very good, check in was very quick, and staff at reception were excellent, it was late at night, and they had the decency to get us a hot drink and a bottle of water each, Room was excellent, very clean and tidy, breakfast in morning was very good, lunch was also excellent, followed by evening meal and entertainment which was also great, the staff in the dining area was all excellent, bit rushed of their feet, but would always help in anyway, staff at the drinks bar was also first class, swimming pool area very good, no panic for beds, but could be in the height of the summer, it is a quiet resort, but easy access to Albuferia etc, hired a car for a couple of days from within the hotel, with no problems, overall a fantastic holiday, and have already booked for June next year, if the hotel continues on the up it won’t be long before that have 5 stars, if you fault this hotel in any way I really don’t know why, excellent all round, never had negative view from any other guest there, so a pat on the back for VILA GALE NAUTICO.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Nautico, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Galé Náutico in 2012.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, food quality and variety, cleanliness and hotel facilities.

Your comments motivates us to continue our constant pursuit of service improvement and continue trying to exceed expectations.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Galé Nautico Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here between 6th and 12th of October on an all inclusive - best decision I've made in a long time. Were lucky to get seasonal higher than average temperatures nearing 29c most days - excellent. I couldn't fault the service of staff in all areas. Rooms were clean, hotel facilities like swimming pool, gym, jacuzzi were excellent. Food was plentiful and delicious and very well prepared. My advice is to choose your 'a la carte' evening early on in your stay - you need to specify your courses a day in advance; as we both preferred the variety of the buffet. Would definately stay in another Vila Gale on this experience. The town is quieter than normal towns but this suited us nicely as the hustle and bustle of an Albufeira would not have been to our liking.
I'm recovering from all the food I ate at this hotel by going on a short exercise and diet regime. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a swimming pool view. You can look over the sunbathers during the day from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Nautico, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Galé Náutico in 2012.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, food quality and variety, cleanliness and the hotel facilities.

Your comments motivates us to continue our constant pursuit of service improvement and continue trying to exceed expectations.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Galé Nautico Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Nautico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Nautico

Address: Vale do Olival | Apartado 298, Armacao de Pera 8365-912, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Armacao de Pera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Armacao de Pera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Nautico 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive beach hotel is located in the centre of Armacao de Pera just a few meters away from the beach and less than 1 km away from an array of shops, boutiques, bars, restaurants, nightclubs and public transports. Built in 1995 and renovated in 2003, the hotel has 233 modern rooms, where we feature 25 junior suites suitable for families. The hotel has a 24-hour reception with a safe, a lift and a newspaper stand. There is a kids' club and a playground available for children. An air-conditioned a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area and highchairs for infants is also provided. Guests may park their cars either in the hotel car park, or in the garage. Room and laundry services as well as medical assistance complete the services on offer at this hotel. The modern rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable, private balcony, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has a Health Club composed with indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, steam room / Turkish bath and Gym. In the outdoors guests will find a swimming pool for adults and children with sun loungers and parasols. The nearest golf course is approximately 8 km away. Guests are invited to take breakfast from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner service may be choosen a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Nautico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Nautico Hotel
Vila Gale Nautico Armacao De Pera, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Nautico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.