We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with the children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj Indian Restaurant

The Raj Indian Restaurant
Avenida Marginal | Holiday Inn Algarve, Armacao de Pera, Portugal
(00351)282 320260
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Great with the children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We visited early on in the evening. Food was good and service was excellent. I had a prawn balti which had loads of large prawns in it which was nice to see. The staff were very friendly with the children which I find is always a good sign. Prices are not the cheapest but we had a good meal so will return again

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at The Raj Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for writing about your visit to our Raj Indian Restaurant.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal, and hope it will not be too long before you return.

Kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    14
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not great”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

great location, fine views but food disaponting. curry sauces and nann bread good but main ingredients not up to spec. prawns frozen, chicken had astrange after taste. pity, was really looking forward to indian by the sea..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HolidayInnAlgarve, Director of Sales at The Raj Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Raj Indian Restaurant here on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry that you were disappointed. These are not the standards that we aim for nor those that we normally achieve. Your feedback will enable us to investigate and ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

With many thanks and kindest regards

Vicki Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant once during our holiday.

The food was ok, but nothing special for the prices they were charging. Service was very slow.

There are much better alternatives if you walk 5 to 10 minutes towards the marina.

Overall, very disappointing. Wouldn't recommend.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoejby, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seniorgolf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We like the indian food. But it must not be too hot.

We have visit the reataurant in november 2012 and february 2013, and we will be back soon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

we ordered a takeaway for 10 very hungry people, this included 10 starters, 10 mains with side dishes and every single dish was delicious, piping hot, very efficient service, loved it

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj Indian Restaurant also viewed

Armacao de Pera, Faro District
 
Armacao de Pera, Faro District
Armacao de Pera, Faro District
 

Been to The Raj Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.