We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contrasting!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bailote

Cafe Bailote
Rua 5 de outubro, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
+351 289 583 370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #262 of 572 restaurants in Albufeira
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Contrasting!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I went to this restaurant on my first night in Albufeira, I was placed in one of their balcony tables.
I had Portuguese Steak, which was really very good, my companion had Chicken Kebab which was not, it was dry, if it hadn't have been for the fact that we were both very hungry, she would have had it sent back, the service was reasonable although they seem to forget you a little when you are on the balcony. After a bottle of the house wine I thought it was a good night although my companion didn't want to go back there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    70
    26
    19
    11
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Brilliant - Do not miss this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Visited three times in the week and never disappointed. Excellent food, excellent service, and if your lucky enough to get the "Romeo and Juliet" balcony table upstairs it's a real winner! Don't miss out on a cracking meal....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Shocking food and very rude staff!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

DON'T EAT IN HERE! Our fish was ''OK'' but the veg was cold and rubbery. it had obviously been microwaved several times. When we complained, they brought back a hot version of the same rubber veg.! We complained and were told ''What do you want me to do?" in a very frosty manner. Eventually they took the price of a small beer off the bill! Big deal!. Anyway we told everyone in our hotel about their awful fool and shocking manner in which we were treated, so they lost a lot of business. Needless to saym DONT GO IN HERE, there are loads of much nicer places to eat in the Old Town, with staff who are NOT rude to you!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“This place was not on our list .......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We made the mistake of going out later than normal one night and we were trying to find another restaurant (O Tunel) however gave up. We were very hungry and it was getting late and the friendly staff enticed us in to this place. You could not fault the staff or service however the food (mine in particular) let it down. I had the fillet steak (plain) and whilst it was a good cut of meat, it was likely it was re-heated. Nice chips and veg went with it. My husband had the chicken skewer which he said was very nice. All in all, it was the most expensive and most disappointing meal we had in Albufeira. So the moral of the story is, stick to the ones on your list !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great food Great service. We ate there three times and it was fantastic everytime we were made to feel special

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bailote also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Cafe Bailote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bailote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.