We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maritur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maritur to your Saves list
Hotel Maritur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-383, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel for good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Friendly staff, nice room,tasty breakfast every morning.Good location, 10min.walk to the lovely S.Rafael beatch and 10min drive to the center of Albuferia.Free parking, sweeming pools,jacuzzi.Very clean all around.Will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear MarcinBeata

Thank you very much for your friendly review.

It is very import that our guests came back home and are satisfied.

The São Rafael beach is easy to reach with a 10 minute walk.

Hotel Maritur offer 2 outdoor swimming pools, 1 indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, gym and 1 tennis court free of charge.

The hotel staff will be very happy to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

The best regards

Isabel Augusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    46
    23
    15
    3
See reviews for
29
70
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is very clean, nice and quiet. Hotel staff are very polite and friendly. Nice and very tasty breakfast, with many choices as food as coffee and tea. Sao Rafael beach is 10 minute walk from hotel, beautiful and awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review.

Your opinion is very important for us, it help us to do allways better.

We are grate that you have enjoy our hotel location, service and staff.

Should you need any further information about the Algarve please contact us.

If you want to come back to Albufeira, our hotel is open and the hotel staff is happy to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best Regards
Isabel Augusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

You can get a pleasant staying at Algarve in this family owned hotel. Near S. Rafael beach – very good and pleasant one – you have two swimming pools a good restaurant and nice staff to serve you.
The only problem you can get if you don’t have a car is transport. However you can request a shuttle minivan to travel where ever you want for a good price.

Room Tip: Get a room to the swiming pool sight
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear ArturVictoria

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to comment our hotel.

We are very happy that you have enjoy your stay and our location.

If you want to visit us again, you will be very welcome.

Best Regards

Isabel Augusto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar, Gibraltar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great hotel if your looking for a quiet and friendly enviroment. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are huge and clean and also good buffet breakfast. The restaurant food a la carte was excellent. The views from our room were spectacular. Just beautiful. I enjoyed sitting in the terrace watching the seaviews. You need a car as it is 5 minutes drive from Albufeira town and 2 minutes drive from the Marina. Beach within walking distance. My teenagers were a bit bored though as the Hotel did not have any activies. Pool was good and also the inside swimming pool and the jacuzzi. Only negative comment is that it should have some sort of entertainment for the kids and teenagers. Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: I recommend to get a room with a seaview. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Noemi

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

The Maritur Hotel, is really good located, central of Algarve, and outside from the trouble of Albufeira center, night life.
The best option is to rent a car, so you can explore all the beauty of Algarve, several beaches, culture and history that our region offers.
Nearby are 3 beaches, 10 minutes walking.
The hotel facilities are: 1 jacuzzi, 1 indoor poll, 1 gym, 2 outdoor swimming pools and 1 tennis court, all of them are free of charge.
We also have a pool table, that is paid, per game.
Should you are thinking to come back to our country, please contact us, you will be very welcome, as all our guests.

We wish you all the best

The very best regards
Isabel Augusto
isabelaugusto@hotelmaritur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

the Maritur is a very well run hotel.The staff are hard working and very pleasant.
Rooms are old but very clean and if you book a sea view room you will not be dissappointed.
The only down side is that the hotel is a 45 to 60 minute walk from old town Albufeira or an 8 euro taxi ride if you can get one. Would recommend you consider this but on saying that the location of the hotel although quiet is beautiful and is close to small uncrowded beaches.

Room Tip: go for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mr Cochran

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your review.

We are grate that you have enjoyed your stay with us, our staff is always working to make the guests feeling like home.

If you are coming for a relaxing holiday and want just to enjoy the nature and go to the beach, you don´t need a car, nearby are also some Restaurants or you can always use the Hotel Restaurant.

But if you want to explore all the beautiful region of Algarve the best, is if you rent a car.

We hope to have the pleasure to receive your visit again.

If you need some information please contact us.

Best Regards

Isabel Augusto
isabelaugusto@hotelmaritur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked the Maritur for a week's stay but had to move out after a few days as we were completely isolated. We spoke to a few, mostly older guests there and they shared our concern but they wanted a more relaxing holiday, away from the town. As some have observed, though it is close the two beaches, you have to navigate your way through some treacherous, hilly roads before you get there. Be sure to wear comfortable shoes when walking to the beaches. Whilst the hotel itself is pleasant (the staff are very friendly and Nelson on front desk was very nice in particular), it really isn't close to any amenities. Getting a taxi to Old/New Town frequently isn't very practical and costs can mount up. The onsite restaurant which served a decent dinner and buffet breakfast was again pleasant but there didn't seem to be a huge variety (as a number of reviewers have also remarked). Rooms were ok in size but the view was over waste land, so a sea view would come highly recommended. The TV was an old, small CRT one which was placed high above in the corner and the one major gripe we had was that our floor didn't seem to be swept! The pools were both large and very well maintained with a good number of sun loungers. The corridors are dark and dimly lit. In summary, I've written this review based on the hotel being four star, which the standard is most certainly not (Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel, which was the hotel we moved to, most certainly is on the other hand). It's not ideal for families with young children like us but would suit older folk far more. A car is a must.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the time that you have taken to review our hotel

Our guests opinion is very important to us.

Hotel Maritur is situated in a part of Albufeira “São Rafael” 2/3 km from the old town. The closest beaches are 500/600 meters from the hotel (10 minutes walking).

Our hotel is really recommended for old our young couples who are looking for a relaxing holiday.

Thank you for your nice words regarding our staff.

We apologize for any inconvenient.

We wish you all the best

Best Regards
Isabel Augusto
Isabelaugusto@hotelmaritur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at the Maritur for one night at the end of June. I got to Albufeira on the Rede Expressos bus, which I was told if you aren't driving yourself, is a much quicker option than the train. It took about 3 hours in total, with a rest stop in Evora I believe. I booked my tickets online and because I didn't have a printer at the hotel, I had to use one of the web ticket machines at the bus station (it was red and beside an ATM) to print off the paper tickets, which were required as the driver rips off the bottom section for his reference.

The hotel seemed pretty quiet, but I went to get some R&R after a 7 day conference in Lisbon, so I wasn't disappointed by that! I was very happy with check-in, the hotel staff were very nice. My room was HUGE, much bigger than I needed, the balcony overlooked the pool area and had a view of the ocean, the bathroom was extremely spacious and it was nice to have a bathtub, as I'd only had showers in the hotel in Lisbon. Breakfast was included and it was a good selection of meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereal, toast, coffee, juice, etc. There were even scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, roasted tomatoes, etc. which was a bit of a surprise given that other reviews had said those were only available upon request. I also had dinner there the night before, it was good and fairly reasonably priced. The hotel also has two outdoor pools, a large lounging area with sun chairs and an indoor pool/hot tub, that, given the time of year, did not seem to be in use the two days I was there. I was able to visit the two beaches which are both about a 10 minute walk from the Maritur. Praia Arrifes was a smaller beach with a cafe that overlooked it, this cafe is MUCH cheaper than the restaurant at Sao Rafael beach, and the food was delicious. They did ask me if I had a reservation when I got there (it's not that big), and even though I didn't I managed to get a table. I had the sardines and potatoes, quite yummy. There is another more private beach at this location if you walk up the cliff and then back down to the beach area, however when I was there it seemed to be a nude beach (families take note). The second beach, Rafael, was much bigger and had better access to the ocean, though when I got there around 3pm the shore waters were consumed with seaweed. By the time the tide started to come in, around 5ish, the shore seemed cleaner. I don't know if I would stay at this hotel again if I was in Albufeira, I might want to be closer to town, but for the trip I wanted, Rest and Relaxation, this was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Manager at Hotel Maritur, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, and nice tips for our next guests.

The Maritur hotel is in a really quiet place, the location is great a and the beaches are also very nice.

The Arrifes beach is a small but very quiet beach, the São Rafael beach is bigger and there is really better to swim, the other one between this two is in a area more hidden, but also very beautiful.

Our rooms are spacious and all of them have a big balcony.

Should you need any information please contact us

We hope to have the pleasure for your visit again in a future, you will be very welcome

Best Regards

Isabel Augusto
isabelaugusto@hotelmaritur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maritur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maritur

Address: Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-383, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#40 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maritur 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maritur offers outdoor and a heated indoor swimming pool, and spacious rooms with furnished balconies. It takes a 5-minute walk to reach Praia de Sao Rafael Beach or the nearby Arrifes Beach.All air-conditioned rooms have TV with satellite channels and a work desk, and each one boasts marble bathrooms fitted with amenities. Free Wi-Fi is available in the rooms.At Maritur, guests can take work-out in the gym or relax in the on-site hot tub. A game of tennis can be enjoyed on the sports courts.Hotel Maritur's restaurant serves Mediterranean specialities including seafood delicacies, and a pizzeria is also available on site. Guests can unwind with a glass of local wine on the poolside terrace.Maritur Hotel is 3 km from Albufeira city centre. The hotel is located 800 metres from Albufeira's Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maritur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albufeira
Albufeira Best Western
Best Western Maritur
Hotel Maritur Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maritur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.