We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more--superb villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Eber

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Eber
Save
You added Villa Eber to your Saves list
Alpouvar, Quinta Dos Calicos | Caixa 97A, 8200 - 397, Albufeira, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for more--superb villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Villa Eber in July this year. (2nd visit). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the accomodation is immaculate, maid service very thorough. The facilities are excellent, the grounds and pool area are spotless and sunbeds and sunshades are provided. The villa is extremely quiet and in a lovely area for peaceful relaxation. Town is only 5 minutes and 5 euros away by taxi. Andrew and his wife Anna are sublime hosts and nothing is too much trouble to them. We will definitely be returning as soon as possible.
Many thanks Andrew and Anna for a lovely holiday, Jan, Brian, Lynne and Georgina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Villa Eber with my girlfriend. Overall, we had an amazing stay - Andrew was extremely friendly and helpful throughout, everything was very clean and the pool area and gardens were well maintained. Lovely and quiet although this was due to being about 45 minutes walk from the Old Town of Albufeira (but only 5mins by taxi). I would say that this was the villa's only downfall as everything else was faultless. If you're looking for a relaxing holiday then Villa Eber is definitely for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girvan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

we were six adults looking for a relaxing holiday and villa eber was perfect, anna is an angel wanting to make sure everything was spotless for us, maid service 3 times a week, beds and towels changed bins emptied everyday, you couldnt ask for more. the town is a good half hour walk but plenty of taxis at 5 or 6 euros, the 2 restaurants nearby are lovely and very good food, we would all go back to villa eber for the peace and quiet just to chill out and relax in the sun. thank you to anna and andrew for a perfect holiday, irene jayne and family

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Myself and my husband stayed at Villa Eber from the 29th September 2009 to the 13th October 2009. We had a fabulous time! The villa is excellent, and were were made extremely welcome by Andrew and Ana. We stayed in the 2 bedroomed 2nd floor apartment and found this to be spacious, very comfortable and very, very clean. The villa made an excellent base and i feel that the accommodtion could not have been better even if we had stayed in a four/five star hotel. The pool area and the gardens are extremely well maintained. The pool is very clean and always looked inviting We stayed around the pool a couple of days and this was very quiet and relaxing. My husband likes to soak up the sun, but i was able to sit under a large patio umberella and read. We shall definitely return to Villa Eber and look foward to seeing you again Andrew and Ana!! Once again thank you Andrew and Ana for a lovely stay.

Jeanette and Stephen

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

My wife and I wanted a self catering apartment in the Algarve with a relatively private pool. Villa Eber turned out to be just that. The villa is quite new, broken into 4 apartments and the pool is only for use of those in the villa. As it turned out there were only ever 4 people round it. The owners are very accommodating people and the place is kept very clean. Although it is outside Albufeira, we got away without a car for 10 of our 15 days, there's a shop and restaurant within a 20 minute walk and taxis are €4. I'd recommend the villa for any couple or family holidaying in the Algarve.

  • Liked — Private pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsgate kent
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Four adults stayed at Villa Eber last Sept, Andrew was very nice, polite and welcoming, the villa very clean cant say well equipped because it wasn`t, they had a dishwasher but we personally would have prefered a washing machine, towels changed regularly, swimming pool very clean and safe, the villa was too far from anywhere really, you would definatly need to hire a car as walking would be too far even for the fitest of people, so all i can finish off with is great villa poor location.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — to echoeeeeeeeee
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

Read the previous review and had high expectations of the villa. It was certainly a lovely villa on the outside and clean on the inside. I cannot complain about the cleanliness of the place.We were greeted with two beers by the owner, but that's where the generosity ended for me.

We were two adults and 3 children (10, 12 and 15). We rented the 2 bedroom first floor apartment. A fold up bed was provided (at extra cost, of course).

Almost from the first day we were informed by the youngest 2 children that the owner's wife had asked them to keep the noise down in the pool. Next , she paid us a visit in the apartment to tell us how we should close the internal doors (turn the handles down first apparently ), stating that we must take care of the door frames.

From then on in we were worried about making too much noise and reminding the children not to play too loudly. The spec clearly says 'family friendly' and this was summer holiday after all. Maybe they meant "only if children can be of the quiet sort". Not acceptable for me, i'm afraid!! If you are going to advertise as family friendly then you should expect children to want to have fun and make an 'acceptable amount of noise' whilst doing so.

When a family left one of the other apartments they were kind enough to offer us some useful bits and bobs they no longer needed (sun creams, etc) but according to the cleaner these items belonged to her! We didn't quibble (after all, we English rarely do!) but the owners did not step in to clear the matter up despite being aware of the promise made by the now departed family.

By far, the owner's wife was far more irritating than the owner. Both of which live in the villa.

Good points:
Towels were changed regularly
bedlinen and cleaning was of a good standard
very pleasant and quiet location
located quite near old town (20 min walk)
Supermarkets very near by.
Willingness to give advice on where to eat (not good at that!)

Bad points:
Over-bearing owners
Rationing of Dishwasher tablets (5 all week!)
General minimal provision of cooking facilities (e.g. one sharp knife)
Pool access times (9am - 7pm only)
Having to ask to borrow the one iron among the 4 apartments
No BBQ facilities for guests (only owners use).

In conclusion, I would have preferred a more relaxing experience especially with 3 children in tow and to be made to feel more welcomed. We were made to feel as if we had to tip toe around the apartment as if to concern ourselves that we were making too much noise.

If you don't expect to make any noise - or don't have children in tow that do - and would probably eat out most evenings then you may find this a welcoming experience. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Owner's wife pettiness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Eber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Eber

Address: Alpouvar, Quinta Dos Calicos | Caixa 97A, 8200 - 397, Albufeira, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Villa Eber Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Eber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.