We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilet paper and good service not included in the price, smelly and dirty room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Solar Do Sol Apartments

Solar Do Sol Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Solar Do Sol Apartments to your Saves list
Solar Do Sol Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Estrada Vale Pedras. Caixa Postal 582A | Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-047, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Toilet paper and good service not included in the price, smelly and dirty room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed in this place for two weeks some years ago (2006) because we had bought our trip as package tour without prior knowledge of the hotel. The owners were rude, the room smelled bad and the location was 3 km from the beach in the Monte choro area (probably a 1 hour walk).

The first thing we experienced after realizing that we would be staying in the middle of nowhere was the dirty and smelly room. We complained about this but did not get a new room. Our room was supposedly the best room in the hotel. After the first week we were still told to keep our door open for a while to get rid of the smell which was there “because the room had not been used for a while…” At some point we realized that the smell was coming from the air condition machine since one could smell a bad breeze of sewer like smell every now and then. The smell got better when someone had cleaned our room (for our surprise) and probably used the machine. I guess nobody had used it for a long time due to the extra cost. Also there was a smell of mould in the kitchen.

Luckily there was the Giro bus system to get you to the beach, and it took about 5-10 min to walk to the nearest bus stop. Even if the bus did not run too often and was quite slow, it was almost faster that the taxi, since the taxi queue was very long in the downtown in August, days and nights. Albufeira is crowded with tourists in high season, and we needed actually to queue twice in some of the narrow streets in the town in the evenings to move forward. If you are travelling to south Portugal and do not enjoy too much of singing karaoke with Brits in a pub, head for Lagos which was a lovely place. But if you decide to go to Albufeira, I would suggest staying somewhere else than in Solar do sol.

The place has some potential with a lovely pool and big rooms. However the rude owners, unclean floors and in our case the unclean air con machine and probably a leaking pipe in the kitchen giving mould a nice place to grow, make this a no-star apartments. I’ve never been so disappointed with a hotel in my life. And of course from now on, will never buy package tours with unknown hotels.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    1
    3
    12
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
granada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We are a spanish couple, we stay in this Hotel in August 2009, is very pleasure, very clean, cool, the staff are very agreable, the apartments are renovated ans very confortables.
We will like back again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Me and my boyfriend booked this holiday thinking we would be going to a nice location to have a nice relaxing week away....This was far from a decent get away...we ended up flyig home 4days early as we found rats in our appartment.The rooms were not cleaned once, and they refused to move us to another room. The staff did not spaek a word on English, they were very rude, food was awfull, the town was atleat an hours walk away, there was nothing to do, it was expensive etc. Please dont bother even looking in to this, as it was a total waste of money!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — where shall i start!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

We stayed at Solar Do Sol in early Sept '08 for a short weekend trip. After checking in to our room, we discoverd a neverending list of rules for the facilities around the pool and for using items in the bedroom, ie. you cant eat any food or drinks by the pool that you've bought outside (even though it's self-catered facilities) and the mattresses and umbrella's round the pool are 2 euros each per day. This was an expensive place as you had to pay 25 euro deposit and 10 euros per day for the A/C, 10 euros per day for the heater and 5 euros per day to operate the television in your room! Thankfully the weather was good to us, so we didnt end up paying extra for these. We quickly realised we'd be out of pocket in no time if we hung around the place as the cost for basics was ridiculous. We spent most of our time eating out. Our room was not cleaned while we were there and towels were not changed, but there again, we were only there for a long weekend, so wasnt too bothered. Locationwise, I would have to say this place is quite far away from the tourist spots, the beach, shops and restaurants, ie. if your walking to `The Strip' it's 25 mins away, Centre of town is 40-45 mins and the nearest beach 50-55 mins away. Trust me, take plenty of comfortable shoes and a good pair of trainers (not for the faint hearted or elderly). We caught the bus a few times and walked back in the evenings as there is a bus stop outside the hotel. According to the manager this runs approx.every 10 mins, however we ended up waiting for up to 25 mins on one occasion and then decided to walk as couldn't wait any longer. Our room was at the front, ie. overlooking the main road, so we had a view of newly built apartments, however some of the construction works was still in progress, so weren't able to have a lie-in the morning or a nap during the day - make sure you pack your ear plugs. As we opted out paying extra for the A/C, the small balcony was a relief for just sitting in the breeze during the evening and cooling off. But noisy traffic passing by day and night when your trying to sleep is pretty annoying when you've gone on holiday to get some rest or peace and quiet. To sum up, I would say this hotel is okay to stay in for a short break, but definitely not for one or two weeks or more. On reflection, we would have been better off paying the extra and staying in a 3 star hotel as this place can be costly. The staff were friendly, but the manager wasn't, which was a shame as first impressions always last. We wouldn't recommend this place for families with small children or the elderly or people with mobility problems as it's far away from everything. Would not suggest going to this place for a romantic break/honeymoon, nor for single people as taxi's are expensive, buses are unreliable and far to walk anywhere after dark. Good luck if you fancy booking your stay at this place - you dont need to take our word for it - why not go and see for yourself. A definite thumbs down.

Jim & Ady from London, UK

  • Liked — Rooms were a descent size with plenty of light
  • Disliked — Its location as too far from main tourist spots, ie. the beach and town centre attractions
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

very shabby apartments where you pay extra for everything, 2 euros for lounger cushion, 2 euros for parasol per day. the apartments are cleaned once a week and towels changed once a week the towels are grey and threadbare and the apartments need a good clean. would never go back.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

do not stay here,rude staff,no activities,ignorant manager to say the least,rubbish place in the middle of nowhere,please do not book these apartments as you will have a miserable holiday,stay away- warning do not even consider this place!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Decided to have a weeks Sun to get away from the great British weather.Booked this via teletext and checked out the details in the "Small & Friendly"brochure.After a late arrival ,thanks to the tour operator, we arrived late afternoon to find a list of "Rules"on the apartment wall.It's a self catering place.It stated on one of the two "Rule sheets" that 1 toilet roll would be provided on arrival and that the resposability for all others would be down to the guest.Fair enough,except there wasn't one.A brisk 20 min. walk to the nearest mini market sorted that out (40 min round trip).The room telly didn't work and as there was no remote control, i assumed you had to hire this.Not so,the telly had no remote control it just didn't have an arial lead,this was provided and the ,as stated in the brochure,satalite TV,produced 5 channels,CNN News being the only English speaking chanel.We very soon realised we would need to hire a car as the "restuarantsand bars on the doorstep"were about 45mins away.Another of the rules refered to sitting by the Pool.You may not eat or drink anything by the pool unless it is bought at the poolside bar/shop this included water and ice cream. This was monitered in a strictly regimental manner by the owner/manager,so the self catering was limited strictly to your room or your balconey.Our balcony was 60 inches by 50 inches enough room for 2 broken plastic patio chairs.This overlooked a building site which was not noisy and near completion.I think the most annoying thing was the room towels.They were long past there sell by date and were not changed in the seven days we spent there.This was not an oversight,this is the venues policy.We don;t usually spend much time at holiday accomadation when abroad as we like the Beech and eating out however if that was not the case we would have looked for alternative accomadation as this complex was neither welcoming or friendly.We never saw a Holiday company rep during our stay and had to find out from a book in reception our return travel arrangements.We were only made aware of this book on the last day when asking about coach transfer times.Albufeira itself is a beautiful place,the restaurants are superb and the people very friendly and laid back.The prices to eat out avery good value for money,in no way a rip off.The beeches are superb and very clean but beware, the sea is "Freezing"

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — dirty towels
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solar Do Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Sol Apartments

Address: Estrada Vale Pedras. Caixa Postal 582A | Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-047, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar Do Sol Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Solar Do Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Sol Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Solar Do Sol Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar Do Sol Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.