We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Falesia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Falesia to your Saves list
Porto Bay Falesia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Room Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We booked a week at the Porto Bay Falesia after our holiday in their sister hotel in Funchal last year. It was simply a fantastic holiday. As my wife and I have been busy at work lately and were feeling stressed, we intended right from the star to have a relaxing week with no excursions or exploring, just a lazy time by the pool and on the beach. As such this was the perfect choice. It's about half an hour from Faro airport (the hotel arranged our taxi) and we found reception to be efficient, taking our cases to the room. The hotel has a large outdoor pool and a smaller one indoors in the hotel basement, where the gym and saunas are also to be found. Our room was clean, nicely furnished and with a view from the balcony to the sea.
The beach is perhaps a ten minute walk but it's via a ravine through the cliffs, so it's quite pleasant. Be warned, there are steps involved - 166 of them! Once you're there, the beach is beautifully sandy and ideal for swimming, with some rocks and pools at one end to explore. You'll want to hire a couple of sunbeds and an umbrella - 15 euros for the day, or 10 euros if you arrive in the afternoon. Otherwise you'll be lying on your towel in the full sun.
We didn't dine at the hotel for the first couple of nights as I'm vegetarian and I wasn't sure there would be much choice for me - but after I'd asked the charming assistant manager Sylvie about it, she said I wouldn't be disappointed - and I wasn't! The buffets in the evening have an excellent range of dishes. The breakfast buffet is amazing! Whatever you prefer for your breakfast, you will find it here. Make sure to try the orange juice. They have an amazing machine where sackfuls of oranges go in the top, the juice comes out the bottom, and straight into your glass - can you get any fresher than that?
The village of Olhos D'agua is a short walk away where you'll find some good restaurants, shops, and a supermarket. Give the O Licorne Indian restaurant a try!
The staff are brilliant, the hotel is everything we could have wished for, and our holiday was just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    357
    73
    13
    7
See reviews for
211
745
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just got back from another great stay at this wonderful hotel.
Like last time we felt at home from the first moment on.
Everything was well taken care of.
The transfer from and to the airport was organised by the hotel.
Somebody was allready waiting for us at the airport to drive us to the hotel.
The first thing I noticed, was, how many of the staff were still working at the hotel.
Some even recognised us immediately.
The room was good, it was extremely clean.
Breakfast was plenty.
We had dinner at the hotel twice and the buffet was very good.
A lot to chose from. Great salade and desert buffet.
But most of all we liked diner at the Basilico on top of the cliff.
Great food, very nice staff.
Very nice pool with plenty of beds.
Allready looking forward to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is a real find ! The staff are so friendly and helpful, the setting is beautiful by the sea. Sitting in the outside restaurant area you see green pine trees, the blue swimming pool and the blue sea....beautiful ! The buffet has a huge amount of variety, both cooked food such as beef, tune, halibut, stews, pasta etc and items not requiring cooking eg fruit....the melon and pineapple are ripe and delicious....not like the tasteless stuff I buy in UK supermarkets.

The fresh orange juice is absolutely delicious, and the real advantage of the buffet is that you can create any dish you wish.....rather than the rigid formula of picking a set item from a standard menu. Good value too.....only 22 euros per person for dinner (plus drinks of course)

There are themed nights in the restaurant and also entertainments such as flamenco dancing laid on (in a function room or outside). It is wonderful to sit near the cliff edge under the stars at night enjoying one of the fine cocktails.

It is a short walk to the beach, fine clean white sand, clear waters with some fish

100 % Porto Bay Falesia, I can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Get a sea view - it is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have recently returned from two weeks holiday. The hotel is quite a distance from the village of Olhos d'Agua if you are over 75 as we are. The hotel itself was excellent. We were allocated a garden room No 446 which was facing North so we did not get the sun until about 40'clock which was fine for us.
The reception was welcoming and the counter staff were most accommodating.We had an early flight from Cardiff arriving at 9.00 but they invited us to have breakfast in the dining room. The choice at breakfast was excellent and on most days we managed to get a table on the terrace.
There was the inevitable pool with a paved area around it.The bonus was that to the west of a pool was an extensive area of grass set up with pairs of sunbeds each with an umbrella shade.
We usually spent most of the morning enjoying the sunshine. My only criticism was that there was no member of staff present to help moving the beds or pushing up the umbrellas.During the day cafe staff were around to supply drinks etc.
We were on half board. Dinner was inevitably a buffet which changed each night presenting the best of courses from Portugal, Brazil,Spain, Italy and International cuisine. Each night there were chefs preparing freshly grilled fish and meat.I found that the casseroles were the best bet as the meat was cooked slowly and was subsequently tender.I thought the quality was excellent and I (Alistair) had difficulty in choosing what not to have.
The rooms were kept very clean and the maid was exemplary.
We never went to the beach as the 120 or so steps back could have proved too much.
Our one gripe was that in both the lift and on the entry to the dining room the dress code was stated as smart casual. Unfortunately the appearance of men in vests and shorts at dinner let most of the other guests down. We spoke to a maitre'd about it and he said that he was unable to enforce it without instruction from the management.We feel that this alone could have a
serious effect on the star rating in the future.
The hotel provided a library in a bookcase in the card room on the first floor. This was an excellent idea as there is a lot of reading that goes on on holiday. Unfortunately the lighting in the room was so poor that it was difficult to read the titles of the books.
However apart from these two gripes we could no fault the hotel and would not hesitate to saty there again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We took good note of your dress code request. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have just returned from a week's stay here and couldn't find fault.

We had booked 2 garden view rooms, one for myself and my partner and one his 2 daughters. We were allocated rooms on the 1st floor (we had room 178, with the girls just a few doors away). This was towards the end of the corridor and overlooked part of the garden and the convenience store. I stay in lots of hotels via work and are paranoid about noise but this room proved to be extremely quiet and would ask for it if I return. Ok there was no sea view but we didn't spend lots of time in the room. The shower was powerful, lots of clean towels and some nice toiletries.

We found all the staff friendly and helpful, especially Pierre on reception. We used the tennis courts on a few occasions, but most of our time was spent sitting in the garden, near the pool (we could always find sunbeds and no-one seemed to reserve them early in the morning) and also on the beach. Yes you do have to go down a number of steps to reach the beach and I'm not a fan of heights, but I could negotiate these easily enough. There are lots of shady areas to sit in the garden and everyone seemed to be enjoying the relaxed atmosphere and the stunning setting of the hotel.

We went on a B&B rate and especially loved the fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice and pancakes. We ate dinner in the hotel on our last evening, which was a Latin American themed buffet and again there was plenty of choice (vegetarian stepdaughter was happy with what she could have too) and pretty reasonably priced.

In terms of the village, Olhols D'Agua, this can be reached by a 5-10 minute walk down the hill. As mentioned there is a convenience store within easy distance of the hotel, and then further choices of shops and restaurants - Portuguese, Chinese, Indian, Italian etc. Good to visit somewhere that's not filled with drunken hoardes but lots of families enjoying their holidays.

In summary, on our first visit to Portugal, so glad we choose the Porto Bay.

We will be returning very soon and would 100% recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is perfect for a relaxing stay in the Algarve. It is in a stunning location in Olhos d'Agua, as it is pretty much on the beach (if you include the steps down) and has some amazing sea views.

The hotel is thoroughly clean and to the best possible standard. Lobbies have fresh flowers; corridors are always hoovered; pool areas are clean and spacious with sunbeds a plenty.

The bedrooms are extremely spacious. Towels and beach towels are provided and changed every day; I had a room for just me but had the facilities for two, my view was of neighbouring hotels, all still lovely, but my parents room had views of the pool and sea, which were stunning.

The restaurant had food a plenty. We were half board and have come home thoroughly full!! There was more than adequate choice of food as other reviewers have mentioned. My only criticism is that the labels are not always fully clear as to what is in each dish, this may need questionning if you have allergies, (as I'm sure anybody would anyway).
Waiters are friendly and helpful.

The beach and pool sold this hotel to me. You never experience that fear of losing out on sunbeds- there are lots and lots and they never need reserving. There is an aqua aerobics class every other day and the lady who runs this is fantastic.

The beach is beautiful and has soft sand and gorgeous blue sea-
We walked to Vilamoura in the tide, and enjoyed every second. Even had to try a couple of runs on the sand at 7.30 in the morning before the sun heated up, and the beach was quiet and lovely.

The entertainment is fairly 'low key'... There is a bar and music on nightly with shows that last about an hour... Some more interesting than others, such as a Brazilian show/ belly dancing. If you want really 'upbeat' nightlife you are best to head to Albufeira but if you want a chill out holiday this hotel is perfect.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to any age. Indeed there were all ages here when we stayed. Worth a visit.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just spent three nights here as my niece was getting married at a hotel nearby.

We were delighted with the location and facilities and very impressed with the staff. They were extremely polite, very professional and very helpful. The rooms are clean and well equipped with TV, minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast is buffet style catering for every possible taste. Plenty of fruit, cereals, full English or continental dishes.

Outside there is a large swimming pool with sun loungers all round plus a small childrens pool and a cafe. It's also possible to walk down to a fairly small beach, but the climb back certainly gets the heart pumping!

The hotel is situated on the edge of the town of Olhos de Agua and a short walk brings you to bars and restaurants and the sea front. Faro airport is about 30kms away and easily reached by taxi.

I can definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again when next in the Algarve.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Porto Bay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Falesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.