We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The benchmark for customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Falesia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Falesia to your Saves list
Porto Bay Falesia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% discount
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The benchmark for customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Portobay falesia just continues to excel and they have sought out areas to upgrade again this year like the solar heated outdoor pool. Their customer service really sets a high benchmark that many would struggle to live with. They look for the extra mile to go rather than wait for you to ask. I know they are upgrading the wifi (now free in foyer, pool area etc). But if we could ask for the next improvement to include the paid for faster wifi in the rooms to be > 1mb/s and therefore more reliable the wishlist would be complete.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms very pleasant, some super sized family rooms that do interconnect and give you a sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    380
    73
    15
    7
See reviews for
221
796
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in early July. My reason for choosing it was the fantastic location on a cliff top and the beautiful views seen in the wonderful photographs on the website. I wasn't disappointed!
Check-in was quick and efficient though not very friendly. However, during our stay we found that most of the reception staff very friendly - especially the Portuguese.
Our room was compact but very clean with comfortable beds and good quality bed linen. Our sea view was quite disappointing though because we were on the first floor - being quite honest, it probably wasn't worth paying extra for. Breakfast was good with a huge choice of fruits etc. A very efficient cook ran a great egg counter with pancakes, tortillas, scrambled and fried eggs constantly being freshly produced. The usual bacon, sausages etc. were o.k.
Sunbathing at the pool was great - lots of beds at all times and the temperature of the water was nice. I tried the aqua aerobics and also the stretching class and enjoyed both.
Lunch on the terrace was good and neither the food nor the service could be faulted in any way.
The one disappointment with this hotel is the lack of comfortable seating in the bar area - tub chairs were the only form of seating. Also, if you drink spirits, ask for your ice on the side. Otherwise, you will be given a very tiny measure with a huge amount of ice.
The town of Olhos d'Agua was somewhat disappointing so even though I would return to the hotel I'm not sure if the town itself would be worth a second visit.

Room Tip: If choosing a sea view room specify that it must be on level 3 or higher. Free wifi is available in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. The best beach view in Algarve. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at Porto Bay Falesia in early July as a young couple. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings then look no further.

When we arrived (around midday) to our surprise our room as already ready! We weren't expecting it to be ready until 3pm. Another couple's room was not ready just yet and the hotel gave them a free bottle of wine to enjoy while they waited (how lovely!)

We stayed in a "mountain view" room which as other reviewers have mentioned is not a view of a mountain, but a view of the car park and other hotels. However this was not a problem for us, as we didn't spend much time in the room. I imagine the sea view rooms are gorgeous, if you want to pay the extra.

The room itself was spacious and meticulously clean (and kept this way throughout our stay by the very thorough housekeeping staff). Fresh bath towels (white) and pool towels (beige) were provided every day, and the bed sheets changed every day. On the second day we were surprised to received a bottle of complimentary red wine in our room (no particular occasion for this) but we really appreciated this kind gesture. I also liked the towel art (a swan) and sweets left in our room everyday. It's the small touches.

The room had air conditioning which worked fine, and the bed was very comfortable (Double beds are two single beds pushed together - this actually turned out to be nice as there's so much space.)

The hotel's pool and gardens (as you can see from the photos) really are beautiful. The great thing about this hotel is that there are multiple areas to relax and sunbathe/read/whatever you fancy. There are all the sunbeds around the pool, then there's a separate large grassy area filled with sunbeds, 4 gorgeous double beds on a little terrace overlooking the beach (you've seen the photos of this - truly beautiful), a few bean bags, and another terrace with sofas again overlooking the beautiful beach. What more could you ask for!

The food at the hotel is very good. The breakfast is particularly impressive. In fact it is the best breakfast with the largest choice I have ever had at a hotel in Europe. Freshly squeezed Portuguese orange juice to drink, or a glass of champagne if you'd prefer! Hot tea and coffee always offered. Cereals, yoghurts, LOTS of fresh fruit (kiwi, oranges, grapefruit, grapes, bananas, apples, pears, melon, watermelon, pineapple), big fry ups with bacon, eggs (scrambled, fried, omelette), beans, sausages, a delicious courgette cabbage mix, then pancakes with different sauces, a bakery section which changed each day and included (during our stay) - croissants, pain au chocolat, muffins, doughnuts, plenty of bread, some delicious algarvian custard tarts (so delicious - my mouth is watering at the thought of them) and more. The breakfast has something for everyone, and the staff are very attentive, clearing plates very quickly.

We never ate in the Madeira (buffet) restaurant so I can't comment on that. However we did eat twice in the hotel's Italian restaurant "Il basilico". I have to say we were very impressed. Part of the italian restaurant is on one of the terraces overlooking the beach, so you can enjoy the beautiful views whilst enjoying some olive bread and fresh olives. We ordered the chicken and asparagus risotto and a mushroom tagliatelle - both were beautifully presented and the service was excellent. We highly recommend the Italian restaurant.

The pool bar "Bar Falésia" runs all day and we had a few mixed experiences there. The first 2 times we ate there, we found the service to be poor. Not because the staff are lazy but because they seemed rushed off their feet trying to multitask too much, on one particular occasion we were waiting 30 minutes just to get a menu, and after asking 3 different staff we finally got one. We then had a long wait to take the order, to have our table cleared and to receive the bill. What should have been a quick snack then back to the pool turned into a long stretched out lunch, with a lot of waiting around. However, all that said, I don't want to put anyone off, as we decided the give the bar another chance and in the further 2 times we dined there service was significantly quicker and we were satisfied. So perhaps we were just unlucky the first couple of times. The food is good and I would recommend trying one of the milkshakes (topped with whipped cream- the strawberry one is made with fresh strawberries).

The village Olhos de Agua is very small with not much to show for it. As you walk down into the village from the hotel you pass a few restaurants (next to the road) which look a bit shabby. Down next to Olhos de Agua beach is a nice little square of restaurants and a few little shops. Aside from this there isn't much to the village. But this did not bother us as the hotel was so beautiful we happily spent our days around the pool etc.

All in all we were DELIGHTED with our stay. It is very quiet and relaxing - we were grateful for this especially when on the walk down to the beach we passed a neighbouring hotel which had loud music playing all day long and screaming kids - we experienced none of this at Porto Bay.

I must just mention the beach. If you are not convinced from my review so far then please look at the photos of "Praia De Falésia" which is the beautiful beach down the steps of the hotel. It truly is a stunning beach, red cliffs, clear water, with only 2 of 3 cafés the whole length of the beach (7km long!) - there are sun-loungers in sections of the beach but other sections are almost completely empty, so it is not spoilt by noise or tourist stalls or anything like that. It's just such a shame that the sun sets at the opposite side of the cliffs as we didn't get to see a proper sunset, but the beach is truly beautiful and if you enjoy being by the sea you will adore this beach.

Stay at this hotel- you won't be disappointed, we had a memorable holiday and would love to return in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your extensive review and time spent. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights at the end of a week's holiday on the Algarve. Should probably start by saying we normally rent a villa with pool for our holidays, so this is not our normal thing. But my wife and I have stayed in plenty of good quality hotels while on business trips, so we know what to expect.
First of all the staff were all excellent. Friendly, helpful and courteous. The hotel grounds were good, not the main entrance but the other side overlooking the sea. Swimming pool was a good size, the kids loved it and it wasn't too cold either. Nice access to the beach following the signs, although we preferred the wooden staircase found about 200m to the left of the hotel entrance.
Food was good, breakfast was an extensive buffet that we sat outside, bit of a wait unless you're down there early. We didn't want the evening buffet so had the Italian a la carte in the wee place by the swimming pool - very good and ideal for the kids.
Only downside was our room. We had booked a junior suite as there are four of us, we effectively had two interconnecting rooms. One normal and one quite large, main problem with the larger one being it's built in the corner of the building and so was very lacking in windows and daylight, nor didn't have a balcony. Both rooms were decorated and furnished etc to the expected standard, but the lack of windows made it somewhat dark.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Please accept our appologies for any inconvenience caused but the room booked was a family suite and published description matches exactly what was offered, Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in early July. Porto Bay have made a very good
job of making the best out of an older building. The hotel was very full so pool area and garden
were quite crowded. The main restaurant achieved a good standard of food and service even when under pressure at peak times. The staff work extremely hard and are pleasant and helpful
in line with Porto Bay culture. Dinner on the Deck overlooking the spectacular cliffs is a real
pleasure and worth the small extra cost.
In some areas the decor is looking a little worn and tired and perhaps further investment in
upgrading the interior would bring up the standards more in line with other Porto Bay Hotels.
Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the young staff are to be congratulated on what has been achieved.

Room Tip: Our superior room was comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Having just returned from a week at the Porto Bay hotel I think that the old saying “small enough to care, big enough to cope” applies very nicely here.

Overall we found all members of staff that we came into contact with to be helpful, efficient, polite and above all friendly. After a few days we started to become personally acknowledged when the staff got to know us.

The room was ready on arrival. Check in was prompt and efficient. The porter immediately took our suitcases to the room and showed us how to work the in room safe.

Our room was on the 4th floor with a sea view along the coast towards Vilamoura and Quarteira, also overlooking the pool and gardens. The room itself was perhaps a little on the small side but apart from that was clean, modern and everything worked as it should. The flat screen TV had many satellite channels including Sky News and BBC World News. Tea/Coffee making facilities were provided in the room. The maid service continued in the style of helpful, efficient, polite and friendly. Pool towels were automatically provided in the room and were changed daily.

The buffet restaurant provided well prepared food with some dishes being cooked within the view of guests. There was always a very varied choice and every night there was a different theme. If you desire even more variety there is a separate al a carte restaurant serving Italian cuisine (not just Pizza and Pasta) and on a couple of days there was a BBQ served in and around the pool side restaurant/bar with light entertainment, both at additional cost. The BBQs also had a different theme on each occasion. Breakfasts were also very well presented with lots of choice, freshly squeezed orange juice and plenty of fresh fruit.

Lunch can be purchased at the poolside restaurant with a good high quality selection. Some of the dishes were cooked outside on the BBQ grill.

While we were there one of the semi finals and the final of the football world cup were being played and the games were shown on several TVs in public areas around the premises. They even changed the restaurant opening time on the evening of the final to accommodate those who wanted to see the match.

The 2 bars served a wide selection of drinks and cocktails at reasonable prices. Further entertainment was provided in the main bar. The various musicians (or dancers in some cases) were of a high standard.

The pool is of a decent size with 2 sections. There is also a separate pool for children. The atmosphere around the pool was quiet and relaxing with (thankfully) none of the blaring music heard in so many places. Even when some pool exercises were taking place the music was discreet. There were plenty of sun beds and parasols provided with several shady areas. A downside point was that several guests were very greedy with the sun beds and parasols taking several. There was an efficient pool side drinks service provided by again very friendly staff (who were still smiling after a long shift working in the sun all day).
If you have had enough sun but still want to swim there is a small indoor pool with a Jacuzzi in the spa area.
Whilst there are some facilities provided for children and while it’s certainly not child unfriendly we would say that this hotel is more focussed on the adult market. Older children are likely to become bored after couple of days.

The beach nearby is superb. The only downside is that you have to go down a fairly long flight of steps and then along a dirt track to get to it.

The village of Olhos de Agua is a few hundred metres away and has a few bars/restaurants most of which look quite reasonable – spoiled by a very noisy sport bar which looked completely out of character with the rest of the village. Although we did not make use of them prices seemed to be roughly on par with the Porto Bay Hotel. The monstrous RIU Hotel building dominates the road down the hill.

Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruges belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I were at Porto Bay Falésia hotel from June 14th tot 24th. We enjoyed our stay. Very tidy smokefree room with a nice little balcony. Satisfying choice of food for breakfast. But when you got your jugs of coffee and milk, and another jug with hot water for your tea, there was indeed little space left for the plates and the cups. At dinnertime there was some queuing since everybody seemed to be starving by 7 p. m. The staff were very professional and friendly. At the reception desk you could always be helped by a polite and polyglot staff. Wasn't there anything negative? Yes indeed there was: the proximity of the Riu club hotel situated at about a hundred yards. A devastating noise every day produced by waterpolo players from 10 a.m till 4 p.m made any afternoon nap impossible, even with the doubleglazed window closed. We had room 444, and I would not advise to choose a room in that wing of the hotel. Noisy buses arriving and departing with guests, poisoning the environment with their fumes...Olhos d'Água is a very small village, there is really nothing interesting to be seen. But altogether we were rather satisfied. We enjoyed the beautiful weather and the nice garden.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that the rooms on the swimming pool side are much better than the room we had, exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Bay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Falesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.