We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Falesia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Falesia to your Saves list
Porto Bay Falesia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Another relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights both in December and february, neither disappointed in any way. Our first stay was garden view which was OK, on our second stay we were upgraded to sea view which makes a big difference and would definitely recommend as the views are lovely all day long.
The outdoor pool is too cold to use throughout the winter but the indoor pool and spa make up for it - 5 euro surcharge for the suana. Open 8am-8pm.
Breakfast and dinner we could not fault, with a wide range of foods for all. We had lunch in the pool bar several time and would recommend the goats cheese.
Lovely walks on your doorstep especially to villamoura which took us 1 hour each way. Busses and taxis are available.
All staff are very friendly, professional and helpful.
I recommemded this hotel to my parents who have just came back and also could not fault it. We have got our prestige card now and are definitely going to book their sister hotel in Madeira for our anniversary in December - and very much looking forward to it!
Our only criticism would be that they don't do omelettes at breakfast and we would love a pool table for after dinner, but the are only very minor and did not effect our stay.
This hotel is suitable for families and couples but not anyone with walking disabilities due to the stairs to the beach and the incline to the hotel or town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Since two weeks the outdoor pool is heated by solar panels, hope everyone enjoy the improvement. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    382
    73
    15
    7
See reviews for
223
802
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bexhill on sea
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

this hotel doesn't disappoint in any way. rooms, staff, food all of high quality. even a bad weeks weather couldn't detract from a lovely break. check-in fast and friendly, rooms good size well appointed and kept spotless by the maids. I defy anyone not to find something to their liking at breakfast, fresh fruit, cold meats, cheese, several breads and rolls and the usual cooked food with some unusual items. waiting staff very attentive but not in your face. problem with flooding in our room after huge rainstorm flooded a flat roof nearby but staff were immediately on hand to sort it out fast and move us to another room. thanks to them any damage to the hotel and our belongings was kept to a minimum. if you are fit enough try a walk along the beach to Vilamoura. it takes about one and a half hours have a look round and bus back. it's well worth it.

Room Tip: sea view high floor rooms are worth the extra for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Our apologies for the stormy weather, just one day. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

After driving for around 30mins, the shuttle pulled into what seemed like an estate of hotels, various multi-coloured concrete pantheons looming in all directions, we pulled up outside one of these and thought to ourselves ‘feel sorry for who’s staying here’ it was of course at that point the driver announced we were at Port Bay..Our sprits sank. We walked up the stairs into the bright clean reception and immediately we caught sight of the view across the pool to the sea, spirits very much lifted.
We had arrived rather early, just after 10am and were expecting to have to leave our luggage, go for a wander and check in at the appointed 2pm. It was a pleasant surprise that we were informed that our room was ready and that we could check-in immediately. This made such a difference and we felt like we’d gained an extra day.

The interior of the hotel and the rooms are decorated in a style the like of which I’ve not experienced in similar resorts. Usually these large-ish beach hotels are all white washed walls, cooling floor tiles etc, the Porto Bay however, is filled with dark woods, thick carpets and other touches that reminded me more of a city hotel, in the best way possible.
We had a twin sea view room (a sea view a must). The room wasn’t massive, but was adequate with all the facilities you’d expect for a four, perhaps even five star place. The bathroom again was nice enough, it was stocked with Ritual products which was a nice touch, perhaps the old plastic ‘over the bath’ shower was the only mild let down, but it did give off quite a blast.

The pool area was immaculate (coldest pool in the world by the way!), being mid march, it was pretty quiet. It was nice that there was a variety of places to relax, by the pool, in the gardens, on the cliff top look out etc, there has definitely been some thought put into this place.
Breakfast was fine, no better or worse than in similar places, we didn’t eat in the restaurant in the evening as I think it was around 25 Euros each for the buffet and for this price, two of us were able to eat in town. One point of contention..the a la carte restaurant was Italian, why? If I want Italian food, guess where I’ll go? When in Portugal, I want to try Portuguese food. The hotel is situated in a small fishing village, why don’t they source stuff from here and give guests a flavour of the local cuisine, or is this just un-British of me?
The staff were friendly and accommodating save for what I presume was the night receptionist/manager, a tall blonde man, think he may have been German, very gruff and abrupt.

The hotel is in Olha d’agua, a smallish fishing town. The main part of the town is no more than a five minute walk down the hill. The town is pretty quiet but there are at least 5-6 bars, a nightclub or two and in excess of ten or so varied restaurants, so there is plenty to keep you occupied for a week. There is a beach down in town, but the one accessed from the hotel is far nicer. We ventured in to Albufiera one night to see if we were missing out, we weren’t. It’s a big town, full of concrete and tourist trap restaurants, the whole night we were plagued with demands to go into various eateries, we were so glad we’d chosen to stay a bit further out.

The hotel is four star, and I can see why. Almost everything is branded with the Porto Bay logo; it reminded me a bit of a Vegas hotel. In so much of what they do it’s obvious to see the care and attention that has gone into it yet, it’s also quite scruffy in many ways. In our room, we had a wire dangling over the balcony door, not sure if it was live, we daren’t touch it, the toilet had a huge scuff on the seat and there was plaster coming away from the wall. The room door looked as those the lock had been forced at some point and a hasty repair job had taken place, the locked didn’t seem right and we were quite sure whether the door was shut properly, also the bathroom door wasn’t hung correctly and the extractor in the bathroom didn’t seem to work. The beds are also far from 5* quality, hard with thin foam mattresses, I felt stiff every morning. If you looked closely in the corridors there were a few holes in the walls and plaster flaking away, like I said, this all seemed slightly at odds with the other outstanding features of this place.
One final gripe, and it’s not necessarily just this venue, but, if I leave the ‘do not disturb’ sign on the door, do not disturb me! I know the maids have a job to do, but I dont want or need my room to be cleaned every day, I want to lay in some mornings and relax. Every day we were constantly bothered as to when we wanted our rooms cleaned, we told them we didn’t, yet the minute we left for the pool or the beach, they’d be in there. A number of times, despite leaving the sign on the door, we’d return late afternoon and find our room being serviced and so we’d have to hang about for 10-20 mins, I really wish they’d just respect your privacy a bit more.
Anyway, to surmise; A great hotel in a great location. Worthy of four stars. We are already looking at other Porto Bay resorts as we were so pleased with our stay here. Very recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We chose the hotel after staying at the excellent 5* Cliff Bay in Madeira, and were (generally) not disappointed. Late March is an ideal time to go as the weather is low 20's/ upper teens, but it's quiet and most facilities are open. The location is excellent, giving the impression of isolation! and perched on a cliff overlooking one of the best beaches we've seen. Fortunately we had heeded the other reviews and booked a superior sea view room as high as possible, having seen the alternate views of the car park and adjacent hotels, we were very happy. The twin bedded room was nicely appointed, small TV on the wall and good sized bathroom. Fresh fruit and water on arrival day was appreciated.

The hotel facilities were good, the unheated outside pool was large but barely used in March, although the manager did say that solar heating of the water was being installed. Given the time of year there was no problem with loungers, bar service was always prompt and with a smile. The small heated indoor pool was good but dominated by woman insisting on doing lengths in the middle leaving little room for anyone else. The large bar with constant live sport by day and entertainment in the evening was welcoming. The manager's cocktail drinks was a good opportunity to meet the staff and find out more about the hotel.

The hotel is close to Olhos D'agua, where you can eat and shop quite easily, there is a free shopping bus shuttle to Albufeira, or the local bus service can take you to other towns such as Faro and Vilamoura. Local bus tours go to sights further afield but check the myticket tour's prices as we booked through reception and ended up paying 50% more but followed a myticket tour bus around the Algarve on exactly the same route.

Pros:

Breakfast on the patio, with bubbly!
3 night half board option is good value if you're a big eater, but not well advertised.
Most members of staff are welcoming and helpful.

Now some gripes:

€10 for the use of the room safe?
€6 per day for internet, I think it's time to earn those 4* and provide complimentary wifi.
The afternoon tea scones and sandwiches were stale, the only poor meal we had, however.
The English language channels on the room TV are all news, whereas other languages have 'entertainment' channels, take your iPlayer loaded with downloads!

We'd certainly go back to the Falesia if visiting the Algarve again, especially at this time of year. I'm not sure what it would be like in the high season.

Room Tip: Without a doubt, get a seaview room, superior if you like a bit more space, ask for floor 4 or 5 alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. You should give more time to the sun to warm up the pool, will never be the same temperature of the indoor heated pool for sure. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here this weekend for 3 nights. The location is fantastic and the hotel is gorgeous. we had a room overlooking the pool and a great view. All of the staff were friendly and the pool area was very clean and well cared for with wonderful gardens. The breakfast was plentiful with many choices and service was very prompt. I could not fault this hotel at all and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: there is an offer on the hotel website at the moment if you book a garden room direct with them you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We chose the room with sea view, which was beautiful. The room and bathroom are nicely furnished. The hotel is very clean as are the pools and pool areas. Service in the restaurant and bar are excellent. Breakfast selection is good and a free glass of fizz at breakfast is always to be recommended. We ate in the basilico restaurant only once, the food was very good and the wine good value. Falesia beach is accessible via 132 steps, but you can follow the road back if you don't fancy going back up them. Alhos d agua is a lovely beach about 10 minutes walk downhill complete with fishing boats and beach huts. There are a few restaurants and bars towards the beach and along the main road. The only downside was no free wifi so we chose to spend the 6 euros a day in the local bars which offered free wifi.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnaxide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very good hotel, very good service and very nice pool.
Only one bad thing: no free wireless.
Since most of the times I stay for professional reasons this is a very bad thing for me...
Pool restaurante also very good.

Room Tip: If possible, sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I will be at your disposal to find out a solution for your wi-fi needs at your next stay. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Porto Bay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Falesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.