We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Falesia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Falesia to your Saves list
Porto Bay Falesia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Room Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel - highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We chose this Hotel as we were attending a wedding in Albuferia. The hotel upgraded us to sea room view and the view really was breath taking. Bed was comfy and lots of pillows. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast was good. Lots of tables and big choice of things to eat. Pool wonderful and there are steps down to the beach (quite a few steps!) but a day on the beach is worth it, the sand is clean and white - very pretty. We ate at the bar restaurant which is to the side of the pool overlooking the beach by candle light and it was magnificent - cant recommend a night eating there enough. Maid service daily, big car park. Great hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    358
    73
    13
    7
See reviews for
211
747
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were tempted to spend a holiday here on the basis of having had a good time at its sister hotel in Madeira (Eden Mar) - but wanted the additional facility of the beach location. We booked a junior suite in January - but still could not get the highly prized sea view. It seems you have a better chance of a sea view if you go for the standard (small) or superior room, or maybe the best rooms are kept back for those who book direct with the hotel. The initial experience was not great - our suite (119) was just above the kitchen at the rear of the hotel - just above an extractor fan which kept going all night. After 2 nights we raised this with reception and we were moved and upgraded to a two bedroomed suite - massive. So much space, lovely aircon, and quiet! Thank you Marcia.
Some Do's and Dont's. Don't bother taking beach towels - the hotel provides them free for use at the pool and beaches and they are changed virtually every day. Don't bother with the eating places in Olhos - they are at best mediocre - the hotel buffet has variety, quality and quantity - and much better value. The wines are reasonably priced for a 4* hotel and there are even two from Cliff Richards' vineyard (the corks are signed by him!). If you decide to eat in, do purchase the promotional offer of 5 (or 3) buffets at a 10% discount. Don't bother with Falesia beach - it is a stiff climb up and down, it will be busy, has few facilities and the sunbeds with a brolly will cost 15 euros a day - the beaches at Olhos are better but also can get crowded. The hotel entertainment is fine on some nights but on others it is a bit "Red-Coat".
The lunchtime meals at the Falesia bar are good value - but the portions are big enough for two - so ask for a second plate and pace yourself for a five course evening buffet!
The grounds, pool and bar facilities are kept exceptionally clean and tidy and, together with the beach setting, the Falesia is more attractive than the Madeira Porto Bay hotels. However, the Junior Suites, unlike The Eden Mar, do not have kitchenettes, so the options for picnics on the balcony are limited. But there is a good supermarket opposite The Cabana Bar.
The surrounding area is scrubland, and there is little to do and see in Olhos. Nevertheless, an evening stroll down to the beach front at Olhos is very pleasant.
The staff were all smart, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly - well worth tipping them.
The only real negative comment we had was over the evening dress code - 4* hotel with an elegant dining room and a sensible dress code published as "smart casual". But this was not enforced and scruffy beach-wear was frequently seen.
But overall, we wanted to rest and recover from a busy year - and we got exactly what we wanted. Thank you team.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and over the kitchen (east wing) will be noisy for light sleepers unless some-one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday, will forward your comments to all staff. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We found all the staff very helpful and polite,the food was excellent,lovely swimming pool,and beautiful view from the gardens,looking out over the sea.The evening entertainment was varied to suit all tastes,some of the music,singing and dancing we really enjoyed. Our room was clean and tidy,the only thing that bothered us sometimes was the noise coming from a nearby hotel,which seemed unnecessary.The beaches are lovely,plenty of sand and sea.

Room Tip: It is worth paying more for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have been to Porto Bay hotel twice now, first with my husband for a lovely short break and the second time with my mum and friend. I must say the views from the hotel and the gardens, landscape is absolutely breathtaking! The rooms on the other hand are nothing special, quite small to be honest. The food in the restaurant (we had half board) was amazing, buffet style, lots of options. The small pool / jacuzzi area was also lovely. Would recommend for the beautiful views, otherwise the area around the hotel / the rooms itself are not too special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel was fine but too crowded, staf wasn' t very friendly (some excepted), buffet at dinertime not very good. In the village itself is nothing to do but the beach or the swimmingpool at the hotel. The restaurants outside the hotel are more like a snackbar then a nice restaurant and here also the staf isn' t very friendly, sometimes even rude. In my opinion it is boring, I don' t wanna go back there for nothing.

Room Tip: Seaview is very nice, higher floors have less noise from the disco or live music at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we greatly respect your opinion. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

What we liked about this hotel is the little things that set it apart from your ‘normal’ larger hotel:
• There is no ‘scrum’ for food at meal times and you have the flexibility to go when you want;
• There are nice large areas of space, not on the poolside but close enough, to lie in the sun largely undisturbed;
• They hotel layout has been thought out and gives great little areas where you can rest, eat (in the Italian) or look-out over the lovely beach below;
• There is no rush to get a lounger unless you want a specific poolside spot.
• It’s in a quiet spot with few close roads and little noise.

Could it be better - of course:
• Soft drinks are a bit pricey e.g. 4.5 euro for a fresh orange juice, 3.6 for a bottle of water;
• While most staff are great there were a number that seemed disinterested;
• Entertainment variable, the dance troop were good but little else.

Other points of note:
• The lovely beach is down approx. 135 steps (we never could get the same number twice), it’s only 10 min walk but if it’s hot you’re certainly glad to see the top!
• In Aug it was hot but not overbearingly and certainly pleasant in the evenings;
• Very much recommend the hotel Italian as well as the views the food is excellent (better than the main restaurant);
• Olhos D’Agua is within walking distance there are some shops of interest if you’re inclined.

Overall the place has a relaxing feel to it, just what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your genuine review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Superb! The friendly and obliging staff put the soul into this great hotel. The food is plentiful and varied. The hotel itself is smart and clean but has a warm feel to it (and I'm not just talking about the weather). Our superior room (they're much bigger than the standard ones - we looked) had a garden view. Ok, you can't see the sea from our balcony but its quieter and cooler. The pool area has lots of sunbeds and you don't have to get down there at silly o'clock to get one without a towel on it! It also looks stunning (lit up) at night, making a great location for an after dinner nightcap. The drinks are very competitive compared to local bar prices. It's nice not to feel that you're paying a premium (aka being ripped off). I recommend the cliff top (lower deck) à la carte dining opportunity and treating yourself (and loved one) to a few spa treatments. It certainly completed the 'indulgence' experience for us. This is our first visit to the Algarve. I'm sure it won't be our last. PS No mosquitoes either!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Porto Bay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Falesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.