We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but could have been excellent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Falesia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Falesia to your Saves list
Porto Bay Falesia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Room Upgrade
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good but could have been excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked this hotel as a transfer from a time share in Madeira. Overall the hotel was very good in terms of location and facilities. We were made very welcome on arrival and treated with great hospitality and efficiency. Throughout the stay the attitude of the vast majority of the staff was excellent and any requests or comments were dealt with promptly and with no excuses if something had not been quite right. (This we found to be in contrast with the attitude of staff in British hotels who always have some excuse that "something is not working") The service at the Pool Bar was exemplary and could not be faulted. The room was comfortable and clean and the housekeeping staff were very pleasant. With one exception everyone was very eager to please. We have stayed in Porto Bay hotels before and found the staff to be of a high standard and very helpful. The Falesia was no exception

Three things, which may appear minor to some people, prevent us from giving the Falesia an 'Excellent' rating.

The first was that the hot food at breakfast, particularly the bacon, was often not hot. We took this up on one occasion with the duty restaurant manager who immediately said that if we really wanted it he would get some cooked especially for us. However, we did not take up his offer. The hotel appears to rely on overhead lamps to keep the food warm, rather than bains marie. The quality of the food was good.

Secondly, at breakfast there was only one toaster, which meant on several occasions, a substantial wait to make toast. In addition the heat settings on the toaster did not seem to be consistent and on some days putting the bread through twice resulted in burnt toast while on at least one other occasion I did not get acceptable toast until I had put the bread through 4 times.
Frustrating!

The third area was the replenishment of the mini bar in the room. On several occasions tea, coffee and milk were not replaced and on two occasions only two portions of milk were placed in the room. (For two people for one day!) I twice went in search of the person doing the replenishment and was immediately given more supplies and an apology. However, on one of these occasions came the excuse: "There are a lot of rooms to do". I did not reply but thought: 'That's the Hotel's problem, not mine'. On another occasion a phone call to Reception solved the problem within a few minutes.

These comments may seem to be quibbles but the shortcomings are not difficult to solve with some thought for detail and consistency.

Overall we would have to say: "Very good, rather than excellent".

Would we stay there again? YES
Would we recommend it to others? YES

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room. The views are very exciting and colourful. Sunny in the morning but more sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and helpfull comments which we will take care. Using shaffing-dishes to protect bacon not the best solution due to the high humidity created inside the dish, better to cook à-la-minute whenever requested as offered by Restaurant Manager. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    358
    73
    13
    7
See reviews for
211
745
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joywinnie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Arrived back Thursday! I cannot say a bad word about this hotel. Views from our balcony were beautiful overlooking pool, trees, headland and sea. Spotlessly clean everywhere, staff did everything they could to make your stay comfortable, happy and memorable and put themselves out to please you. ALL staff! The food was excellent and the grounds wonderful having lots of little quiet areas with seatiing also, overlooking the bays, pretty little garden areas. Although there were a few steps down to the private beach...it was a very easy and pretty walk. Prices were reasonable (the only thing is the internet is a bit expensive at 25 euro per week....but then why bother with it unless you have to..you are on holiday) It is not far from Albufeira by taxi (about 10 mins) or bus, but there are a few little bars within 5 min walking distance. The rooms have good tv,,comfortable beds, powerful shower in bath, hairdryer . I cannot praise the management and staff enough! I have nothing to gain by letting you all know about this gem of a hotel. I have travelled S.E. Asia (many countries) USA, and lots of European countries so I do have a lot of experience about hotels. This one is special.

Room Tip: Worth having sea view and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Freshly back from Porto Bay & rest assured will return, as this was a gem of a place. Never been to a hotel so pristine set in such a tranquil lush setting & the backdrop of the sea just made the week perfect.
Make sure you book a sea view !

The Staff were extremely pleasant which just added to the whole experience.

Two minor negative points from me, during the triumph of a buffet breakfast ( agreed with the comments on Croissants & Scrambled egg, very artifilcal tasting).... I requested an espresso & had to pay, which doesn't promote a good impression, still ordered it daily though, but perhaps
offer it free next season please ?
The other is no free WiFi, this should be revised as would be a welcomed benefit.

Otherwise I'd highly recommend Porto Bay Falesia for a week's If looking to unwind completely without the hustle & bustle of some resorts this is highly recommended.

Enjoy !

Room Tip: We had a sea view room, which to look out of a morning & evening just made you think it was para...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and comments which we will look closely. I will compliment the Staff. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Everyone raves about the RIu hotels in Olhos do Aqua but I feel the Porto bay is as good if not better , and we have stayed in both.
Same location as the Rius and same basic facilities , a think its hot a classier feel to it.

We like this resort its quiet and if you want sun fix and the beach it's perfect . The beach. Is amazing , vast with lovely red cliffs .
There is personal space on this beach ..
A lovely stair case with seating area takes you to the beach , where you can then walk all the way to VIlamoura the golfing and Marina town next door .

Easy spot to get there booked a transfer with yellowfish as we have done in the past, they have a loyalty scheme our next trip with them will be free as we have collected their points .They also give a bottle of wine on arrival .

Our flight this time was BA , usually Easy jet or Ryan air but BA were surprisingly cheaper ???

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in early April at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were scheduled to return home on Thursday, and were enjoying our stay so much that we extended our stay! The staff was friendly and helpful. Our seaview suite was well appointed and the balcony had a fantastic view and provided a nice respite in the morning after the wonderful breakfast and in the afternoon after lounging poolside during the day. Having two rooms was nice when one of us was getting ready or wanted privacy.
I spent one morning in the spa being pampered with a massage and facial, left feeling refreshed and relaxed. Made use of the fitness room a few times as well and found it very convenient.
The village near the hotel has restaurants and bars, and a few typical beach shops. The taxi stand is near to the hotel and we took advantage of the proximitiy to check out a few of the surrounding areas. Overall, our stay was fantastic and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview room- it is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Last week we stayed at the Porto Bay Falesia, I dare say if I read through all the previous reports much of what follows may have already been mentioned, nevertheless here goes.
It is set on a superb clifftop location with probably the best sea views of all the hotels in the locality. The building and gardens are very well maintained and kept very clean. There is a lovely outdoor pool which a few of us brave souls did venture into,
It was a bit chilly, about 19 deg.C., however if you're used to British waters' that's not too bad. For those less hardy, the indoor pool was a warm 28 degrees and for those keen swimmers, lengths are possible albeit at about 8 metres.
The hotel staff were all very friendly and keen to help. We only used the Madeira restaurant on our half board package and found the food to be reasonable for a 4 star hotel. The restaurant was spotlessly clean, cutlery and china likewise. As is often the case it's the little things that you notice, breakfast fruit juices tasted watery (diluted?), powdered egg used and pastries not very palatable (croissants very poor).
As has already been mentioned by other people, the stay was somewhat marred by charges for "extras", e.g. 6 euros minimum for wifi access., charge for table football. However tea and coffee in rooms made up for it, as it's something that's not always available in 4 star hotels on the continent (and even some 5*!).

Access to the amazing Falesia beach can be made via a path (and steps) to the left of the hotel's clifftop garden, or by an excellent boardwalk/stairs (a fairly recent construction) at the adjacent Riu Palace hotel.
A beach walk here is a must, as the views of the muti-hued cliffs are amazing, parts of them reminded us of Brice Canyon in the USA. A 1.5hr beach walk east from here will take you to the small town of Villamoura. If you're tired of walking by then, a local bus will get you back to Olhos de Agua for about 2 euros. In general the local bus services are not that cheap. As an example, from Albufeira to Olhos de Agua cost 2.20 euros by bus whereas a taxi for four people was 8.70e for the same journey. The bus timetables also need careful studying, especially at weekends and bank holidays as buses on these days seem few and far between.

For those not wanting to laze around the pool, the hotel has three very pleasant garden
(clifftop) lounging/sitting areas, ranging in comfort from dining tables and chairs through to kingsize divans. These offer wonderful views of the sea and also the local flora and fauna.

We were disappointed in the evening entertainment as whilst we were there, the same musical duo performed each night and their repertoire seemed limited. However daytime demonstrations of chocolate making (with copious free samples!) made up for this.
All in all , apart from the restaurant we loved our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back hardly get any sun. Some 1st floor rooms at the back are obscured by trees. Lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We do have a very good relation price/service offered, and of course some extras as any other hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roeselare
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very good hotel. Good room and kitchen. But for every thing you have to pay, for WIFI, for the save in your room, for steambath , even for your bathrobe.
Prachtig hotel, goede ligging, Room with a view als je de zeekant kiest. Maar je moet er ook wel voor bijbetalen. Dit is wel de moeite waard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernandoReisFilipe, General Manager at Porto Bay Falesia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Hotel with a good balance between price and service provided, extras like a normal hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Porto Bay Falésia. Best regards. Fernando Reis Filipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Falesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Falesia

Address: Quinta do Milharo, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Falesia 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands overlooking Praia da Falesia in the charming town of Olhos de Agua, close to Albufeira in the Algarve. Surrounded by abundant green areas, the hotel enjoys direct access to the sea and the exceptional 8km long beach which is washed by the clear, calm waters of the Algarve sea. After a refreshing drink at the waters edge, a reviving plunge in one of the pools, a trip to the beach, a game of tennis or an invigorating massage, sit back and enjoy one of the Algarves most beautiful views from one of the hotel's restaurants. Make the most of your holidays to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Porto Bay Falesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Falesia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Falesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.