We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Staff and Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balaia Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Balaia Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Balaia Mar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-925, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Staff and Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very friendly and super helpful staff. Pool absolutely gorgeous, just like in the photos! Beach is only a 5 minutes walk - Praia Maria Luisa, one of the best in the Algarve. Food was good lots of variety - well worth the extra 10 Euros per night, always fresh and if you have a preference they will cook it for you. Rooms a bit on the small side but clean, could use an upgrade but if you don't plan on spending time in the room its fine. Having the balcony was nice but never really used it. Our reservation included free wi fi so that was a bonus otherwise you have to pay - weekly rate was 20 Euros. For day trips use the local Ticket Hub its alot cheaper than the one offered at the Hotel. Historical Algarve was 15 Euros per person and Seville was 20 - both full day trips very good tours, don't forget to tip I found it very rude that some people didn't. The strips as it is known is a good walk from the Hotel 45 mins, lots of restaurants etc a little pricey and lots of people. Taxi ride is about 6 Euros. If you walk in the other direction you will find a supermarket and several gift shops very cheap.
No entertainment at night other than the pool tables and socializing with the other guests. You can get an all inclusive drink ban but this offers no drinks after 11pm.. We found it cheaper to buy wine and beer from the Supermarket....Wine 2 to 5 Euros a bottle, Beer 12 Pk less than 5 Euros.

Lana & Mark from Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Pool...this is the nicest view. Could be a bit noisy at night as it is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    235
    76
    5
    1
See reviews for
149
207
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Really enjoyed stay. Apartment cleaned daily except sunday. aircon and fan available. spacious apartment and was upgraded on arrival. we went all inclusive, however many of those staying were privately owned or self catering. food was well prepared and chef cooking meet from fresh during meal times, fresh fish available daily. friendly staff. no entertainment at all at site for the evening only bar and pool tables. if all inclusive can get free tranfer to alberferio and two other places in evening but need to pay for taxi return. beach is down a steep slope but not too bad. Beautiful beach available, rocky areas either side to explore at low tide, walkable to other beaches at low tide, or over cliff tops. some watersports available on beach and local areas. These apartments are not situated in walkable distance to a local main town, buses run opposite appartments as timetabled. Quiet but enjoyable stay, may get busier as schools break up. no kids activities on site. Pool is reasonable size.

Room Tip: Draw back we were up graded but had room 103 which was by the road, so noise of traffic can be hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We chose this holiday for a quick week in the sun I read the reviews and it seemed fine for what we wanted a cheep week away. The room was an apartment clean and had air con , oven ,fridge big room but always ask for a room with aircon as some couples we met had a fan! It was to hot in the rooms if you had no aircon.
The hotel staff were great the good that was cooked every night was very nice fresh fish grilled stakes fresh veg the cooks were great and kitchen was spotless as I am very fussy with food you are not going to go hungry here.
It's a shame the all inclusive stops at 11 and then you have to pay many hotels it stops at 12 this should change.
The rose wine is sparkly which was nice there is beer and white wine vodka.
there is no entertainment for children at this hotel a lot of family's were not happy as you want to relax and you end up having to entertain your own because they are fed up.
At the bar is just a bit of back ground music at the bar but that was it.
We ended up going to the old town two nights the hotel offers a free taxi ride into the town which is a nice bonus as there was nothing to do after 11 we ended up here for a few drinks with other couples from the hotel a taxi back was 6 euros.
The beach is a ten Min walk and is very clean this has a restaurant and bar we had a drink in here was nice to overlook the sea.
Overall the week was relaxing a lot of English people which was nice as we met some lovely people, would recommend for a week if you need some sunshine.

Room Tip: Always ask if the room has air on as some people had a fan and the rooms are very warm the rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Pool absolutely gorgeous, just like in the photos! get a room next to the pool. we went as a 3-generation family - grandparents, my daughter and her little boy. He made lots of friends at the pool. it is also just 5 minutes walk away from the beach - Praia Maria Luisa, one of the best in the Algarve - which is really saying something as every one we visited seemed clean, beautiful and hassle-free!
Food was good (lots of Portuguese families staying and they all seemed to enjoy it, which has to be good). All fresh and cooked in front of you - true enough, not a vast choice but good enough for eveyone to find something they liked.
Rooms a bit on the small side but clean and everything necessary was there
Room for improvent: no free wifi; 50cents for reception to book you a taxi (WHY when the taxi firm is probably paying them for the monopoly??); shuttle bus only available to all-inclusive guests, not half-board or B&B - this was not oly unfair but very wasteful as mot of the time it was less than half full!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We arrived late evening after our flight was delayed. The lady on reception allowed us to pay for our room before informing us there was no water in the apartments.She walked us to our room and on the way showed us the gaping hole in the car park where they were trying to find the problem. We had to wait until mid day the following day before this was fixed.
After a very shaky start things did improve, we were able to get an evening meal on arrival even though the restaurant was technically closed.
The room was basic but spacious and clean. It was adequate for our needs, lots of storage space. Clean towels every day. The apartments don't have balcony but there was a rack for drying swimwear etc on the wall outside.
The food was very good but very repetitive. There was fresh meat and fish cooked on the griddle for both lunch and dinner, along with the same vegetables, chips and new potatoes at every meal. There was also a choice of salads. The day time snacks were varied though and topped up regularly. There was adequate seating at mealtimes both inside and outside on the lovely terrace.
The staff are very friendly and interact well with the guests.
We found the pool area was lovely, lots of sunbeds both by the pool and on the balcony above.
The hotel is quite a way out of Albufeira. There is a free shuttle bus available between 8 and 10 PM if you are all inclusive this is into town only, they don't offer a return service.
The evenings are very boring, they are brilliant if you play pool. There is a huge lack of evening activities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend decided to go for the Balaia Mar due to the cheap all inclusive deal we got. The staff were very helpful and attentive, and I can't fault the cleanliness of the hotel. The food was tasty but very repetitive, which led us to eating out 3 times during our 7 night stay. Furthermore, all though we were aware that there was a 20 minute walk to the strip before arriving, it was a long walk back to the hotel after a night out. After about 11pm, the walk back could be spookily quiet! However being all inclusive meant we could get the free shuttle service into the strip/old town each night between 8-10pm. There is a beach about 10mins from the hotel, although quite quiet so others may prefer the busy buzz of the other beach closer to the strip. Overall the hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere, with a gorgeous pool area. Great for couples and families looking for a relaxing holiday, which I must stress because there is no hotel entertainment and the sports bar was not overly busy each night. Hopefully we will be returning some time in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Pool area is lovely but rooms not comfortable and very dated. We saw insects crawling around the floor numerous times. Hotel is a little bit out of town though we did walk it a couple of time so this could be a pro or con depending on what you're after. Some staff were not, others pretty much grunted in response. We were all inclusive, food wasn't up to scratch, alcoholic drinks are not brand name but cheap substitutes. Couldn't wait to leave TBH.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balaia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Mar Hotel

Address: Praia Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-925, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#34 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balaia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Mar Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balaia Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.