We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balaia Mar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Balaia Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balaia Mar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praia Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-925, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 162 hotels in Albufeira
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went to this hotel for one week the end of September with my partner. The hotel is really nice, rooms aren't that spacious but very clean. Horrible 1st nights sleep due to noisey bed but when we looked in the morning there is a protective cover on the mattress, Take it off!! you get a better sleep. The food albeit was very nice but very repetitive. Disappointed that you couldn't get alcohol on all inclusive until 1pm. The sports bar didn't open until 9.30pm which very often opened late and again all inclusive only til 11pm. Staff work very hard and are polite. Its a small hotel but looked after. Its not a hotel to take kids so im glad I didn't. Overall tho a good holiday. One thing that we didn't like both being non smokers was that you had to walk through a smoking area of the restaurant where food was being cooked to get to where the food bar was. There is a non smoking room but there are open doors which means the smoke comes in anyway. Not much in the area which was a disappointment too. Weather was rubbish but I guess that's pot luck!!!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    211
    62
    6
    1
See reviews for
132
192
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a week stay. The staff at the hotel are fabulous as is the food. We will definitely be returning. Cheaper or free wifi would have been the only improvement. There is a complimentary bus service at night to olhos d'agua or albufeira which helps with location

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

When you book make sure you book the hotel not the apartments. The hotel is just the right size and the staff were fantastic, the Buffett food and salad is a little bit repetitive but every night there was a different fish been freshly cooked and a large pan of something different ie piela, beef stroganoff or cream of chicke.
If you go out of the hotel and go left about 40 min walk or 10 min bus ride you have the old town 15-20 mins you have the strip ( bars & restraunt ) and the bull fighting arena ( the bull is not killed)
Or come out of the hotel and go right then right again at the end of the shops and restraunts there is a great village and fantastic beach with a great English pub serving food and drink.
The local beach to the hotel will take around 5-10 mins to get there but 15-20 to get back from the hill is steep but is worth it it's a small but private beach surrounded by cliffs and a small bar and restraunt.
Over all the hotel is basic you only get BBC 1 and sky news on the tv and the wifi will cost you 20€ for the week but all in all the hotel is situated in a quit part of albifuera but has great transport links there are plenty of trips to go on don't book then at the hotel there are several ticket offices on the strip and the old town where you can save arour 10€ per person. I will be going back next year i really enjoyed myself.

Room Tip: Book the hotel not the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We looked for somewhere for a 5 day break, with apartment facilities on an all inclusive basis and we got exactly what we wanted! The food was freshly prepared daily, there were meats and fish grilled to order - lovely! All the staff were friendly.
We had a wheelchair with us and were worried about getting around but had no issues, the apartment was clean and spacious - no issues for wheelchair manoeuvres! Like others have said they are a little dated but fully equipped and maintained well. I have never had such a large veranda as we had here, it was lovely. Look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: No towels supplied for sun loungers so bring one with you!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just returned from a great holiday at the Balaia Mar Apartments. This was our 2nd year here and was not disappointed. The apartments themselves are a tad dated and could do with a re-vamp but they were clean and very well equipped. We were all inclusive so we only used them for sleeping in. The pool area and restaurant are lovely. The food is great. Everything cooked to perfection and a good selection available. The one thing that impressed us last year and this year again was the staff. They were fantastic. It's like being home from home. Rui, Jose 1 and Jose 2 were great as were the kitchen staff who seem to be working around the clock to cater for us all. Looking forward to seeing them all again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed in the hotel section of the Balaia Mar with my girlfriend late August/early September and I was very impressed by the hotel. The pool area was lovely and there was always enough sunbeds to go round no matter what time of day you went down. Rooms were basic but nice and were cleaned 7 days out of 7. The bed was massive (kingsize) and a good power shower too. We stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfast was well getting up for (the times we did) as there was a big spread put on.

The local beach is great and is only a five minute walk away. The strip would take about 20mins to walk and the old town is probably too far to walk but taxi's are cheap. A local bus is situated just opposite hotel too which we used a few times. Old town is great and is a much bigger area than we thought with loads of nice bars and especially restaurants. The trips we done were the Catamaran cruise and the Jeep Sarafi. Highly recommend both! My only gripe would be management seemed a bit slow to cater non-all inclusive customers needs when standing at the hotel bar or waiting to order snacks during the day (management take note). But this was a very minor point. All in all a great holiday and in my opinion it should definitely be a 4 star hotel rather than 3.

Room Tip: Room 108 was great and had a view overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I based my choice on trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed, the hotel furnishings are a bit dated, the beds a bit hard, but everything's spotless, the service is impeccable and the food great! We stayed all inclusive, had a good choice of local drinks, great coffee and a buffet style food, all fresh and a grill for fresh fish and meats. We were looking for a value for money break in the sun AI gave us this option and because the value was so good we could afford to eat out for lunch for a couple of days when out on trips. Small Negatives were, beds were hard, desserts were repetitive they had about 4 and all were similiar, some ran out if you didn't eat quick, out of 7 days I had the same dessert 4 times. Boyfriend thought buffet was repetitive but this was more because he didn't like all that was provided, I had, steak and pepper sauce, chicken pasta dish, fish, paella, Portuguese pork, chicken korma, pork in mushroom sauce, lunches I stuck mainly to salads. Lastly nothing on the grill was ever labelled right especially fish, we had swordfish 3 nights it was sardines one, cod another and maybe hake another night, each time the chef insisted the label was correct.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balaia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Mar Hotel

Address: Praia Maria Luisa, Albufeira 8200-925, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia Mar Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Balaia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Mar Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balaia Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.