We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stella Maris Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Pinhal, Falesia Beac | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Bolsward, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

In september 2013 we stayed in the Stella Maris for 12 days. It is a large hotel with 150 rooms, about 15 minutes walking from the beach. We asked for a quiet room and though there seemed to be some troubles, it could be arranged. Perfect!
The staff was very helpfully with maps and other information of the environment.
The apartment was spacious, with all the necessities you need. Everyday it was well cleaned.
Breakfast is served in the same place as dinner and there was always room enough in the morning.
By the way: Praia da Falesia is just a small village with only a few activities. The beach is the most important issue. There is a possibility to rent a car is you would like to see more.
Because our flight was early in the morning, the hotel offered a packet breakfast.
Stella Maris is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    123
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
128
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brescia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

These apartments hotel are absolutely brilliant. Very clean, the ladies would come every day to make the beds clean bathroom, very modern kitchen and utensils. Great balcony and three pools all very clean.
Lovely bar and onderful staff.
The beach is fab and just 3 min walk. The area has a few bars and restaurants, might be a bit quite for young people but absolutely perfect for families with small children, there is a running track, tennis courts and cross country track all around it. 5 star to this fab aparthotel

Room Tip: Good for families, rent a car, very easy driving around no traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was a different kind of place to where I normally stay, but this was a different holiday for me. I traveled with my niece for a 5 day break rather than my husband. I booked this a week before we traveled 20-25th Sept and I just wanted a chill time and Id set my self a budget and this was the most positively reviewed within that budget.

I booked half board and if youve read the other reviews you will see that the evening meal isnt great, we ate out 2 of the 5 nights and Ive got to say the fact that the hotel will let you change your plan for lunch is a good option as the food in the snack bar at lunch is better, by that I mean hotter and fresher. Please dont let this put you off - just take on board self catering may be better value. The room, although a studio was spacious and clean - perhaps a little tired, perhaps we were given a lesser room as we were only there for 5 days and were 2 females together?, not the best view and rather close to reception . At the time of our visit there were a lot of families with small children who, due to all the floors being tiled made it a little noisy. The tiled corridor, with bumpy tiles reverberated the noise of cases being towed along.

The resort is quiet with lovely beach and being in between Vilamoura and Albufeira gives you the options of going to either although the cost of taxis can rack up.

The staff are nice, friendly and helpful. Overall I think its good for a budget holiday and in a nice quieter area, yes a car would be a good tip. Would I stay again? yes I would in the same circumstances but I fear it may be a little crowded in the height of summer.

Room Tip: The standard of the fittings in the rooms are average but the room and balconies are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just arrived back after a 6 night break. We wanted a quiet, peaceful getaway & got exactly that. We had a studio apartment & it was huge. Our balcony overlooked the childrens pool & got the early morning sun. Everyone was polite, helpful & friendly. The apartment was cleaned daily and towels changed regularly. The pool was peaceful & no trouble getting a sunbed - although, admittedly, it is late in the season. Towels for the pool were 10 euro each that was returned at the end of our stay. Safe was 2.50 Euro a night. Local supermarket was reasonably priced as were the restaurants. The café opposite the supermarket has lovely pastries & iced coffee. We walked along the beach to Vilamoura & it took us about 50 minutes......and rather longer back!!
Overall we had a fantastic break in a beautiful area in a lovely hotel. Would most definitely recommend it & stay there again. Didn't use the restaurant in the hotel so cant comment on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went for a week self catering and really enjoyed it. Hotel itself is well kept and clean, polite reception staff. We stayed in 1 bed apartment - it was very large with huge balcony and everything you need in kitchen ( I was cooking myself). Safe costs 2.50 per night and you can rent beach towel leaving 10 euro deposit (you can change for fresh ones whenever you need it without a fee). Nice pool area.
Location - its very peaceful and close to Falesia beach. Its 40 mins drive (N125) from Faro airport and 15 mins drive to Albufeira. Few restaurants and small supermarket 5 mins walk away. Piri piri chicken in FR Sabores was very disappointing (dry and tasteless) - stay away.
We had a rented car so were doing a shopping in Albufeira. I wouldnt recoment Lidl and Aldi here - its more expensive than in Ireland. We found Pingo Doce and Intermarche very good value for fresh fish, fruits, veggies, fresh bread. Cakes were sooo good, all locals were queueing for them. And twice as cheap as in pastelarias around city.

All in all I would recommend Stella Maris as a good spot if you have a car.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing pool area has a direct access to pool from balcony. You can see ocean fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I returned yesterday from a 4 day stay at Stella Maris with my boyfriend. We really needed a few very peaceful days away which is what we got! The hotel Is immaculate!! So clean and modern, kept to a high standard. Rooms were very large too with great facilities. All staff were more than accommodating and genuinely helpful. We stayed half board, breakfast was fine, but we felt the only let down for us was the dinners...choice is limited to say the least....with only one meat dish and one fish dish each night with a few chips and some pasta. After a couple of nights we gave up and on the last night went to the local Chinese restaurant which I must say was very good!
The beach is a 10minute walk from the hotel and beautiful! But there's not a lot else near at all other than a couple if restaurants and a supermarket. You can however get a taxi into villamoura marina for 15euros, worth the trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tramore, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom apartment and it was huge compared to what we've stayed in in other hotels. The rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels left. The staff are friendly and willing to help. The pool was clean and well kept. There's a seperate large childrens pool but it's located on the other side of hotel away from main pool.

There's a supermarket within a 5 min walk and it's reasonably priced but there's only about 5 restaurants and bar 1 of them the food is shockingly bad and overpriced.

I would def recommend hiring a car as you are well away from the main towns and taxis are pricey enough

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stella Maris Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Address: Rua do Pinhal, Falesia Beac | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#32 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Maris Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, stylish and well equipped, Stella Maris is a fantastic holiday base for families. Only 800 meters from Falesia beach and a short drive from Albufeira and Vilamoura, offers excellent accommodations all with fully equipped kitchens and high standard of quality. Garage, swimming pools for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, restaurant, bar, take away restaurant, tropical bar, lounge areas, daily maid service are some of the facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Albufeira
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.