We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful perfect location with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stella Maris Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Pinhal, Falesia Beac | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A peaceful perfect location with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We have just come back from a short break of just four nights. Took a chance on getting a transfer from the airport on arrival & happy to report it was easy & cheap. There is always the apprehension as you drop off other travellers and wonder what your hotel will be like but we were not disappointed. Our first impression was good, smart frontage followed by clean bright open plan foyer. Both staff on reception were immediately welcoming and spoke excellent English. Our apartment was perfect. Very large, bright and clean with two large single beds, plenty of cupboard/hanging space. There was an L shapped baloncy overlooking the wooded area at the back and great views in the distance. Large modern kitchen with full sized white goods. As it was only a short break we did not need to use it all but with a full size dining table and chairs too as well as the sofa (bed) and arm chairs it really was a "home from home". The Bathroom was also large and spotlessly clean with everything you could possibly need including a very powerful shower, out towels were replaced everyday too. We did not eat in the hotel but did use the bar and all the staff that we met throughout our stay were really friendly and helpful. The pool area and separate childrens pool area where also clean and well maintained although we did not use them on this occasion. The hotel is just a short walk to a good selection of bars, restaurants and supermarket. The lovely beach is also very close and a gentle stroll down hill although you could not do the walk back up if infirm. We have no complaints and really would recommend this hotel. It is 25 minutes bus ride into Albufeira which is also lovely and all the beaches in the area are stunning. We stayed here as part of a holiday paid for with our Airmiles but I would have been more than happy to have paid full price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    124
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
128
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I'll keep it short because my review is late..we stayed september 2011 for one week, It is a nice hotel but i think a week is enough as it is quite remote and there isnt a lot to do, there is a square up the road (5mins walk) with a few restaurants and shops. I imagine you would be bored of these after a week if you like to try somewhere different every night, we ventured out of town a couple of times.

Cant comment on food at the hotel as we didnt eat there, we did our own breakfasts, took sandwiches to the beach and ate out at night

the beach is a little walk away, you need to be able bodied for this walk, anyone with walking or breathing difficulties might struggle, its down a steep hill then down a few flights of steps...thats the easy part, the trek back is a bit of a killer after playing in the sun and sea all day! but it keeps you fit!

The beach is beautiful by the way..charges for sunbeds are outrageous, use your towel! also it was quite windy when we were there, some days so windy the sand hurt and it wasnt possible to sit on the beach.

the pool was freezing but i had a method...get in the jacuzzi for a few minutes..then the main pool was easy to get in to, and then after the main pool get in the small kids pool (it was like a bath lol)

over all we had a nice time but as it is quite remote we wouldnt go back, but that isn't the hotels fault

Room Tip: rooms that face the pool have the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hordle, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at the Stella Maris last July so it's not all that fresh in my mind! Beautiful location and we had a lovely top floor apart-room that overlooked pine trees. Huge double balcony, spotlessly clean rooms. The pool is adequate in size for the hotel with a smaller one for children and spa bath which in 38 celcius heat wasn't that inviting! Pool area, in fact all public areas, immaculate and some of the loveliest staff I have ever come across.

We were self catering which in retrospect cost us alot more. The restaurants locally are OK but pricey (around 70 euros for 2 adults, 2 children) whereas the couple of times we ventured into Albufiera proper it was half that amount. The only shop in the village can charge what they want - it is awful!! five euros for a tiny box of local cereal, 2 euros for a can of drink and my personal favourite - the 2 euro nectarine (yes, just the one). We ran out of sun cream one day and they had some wierd pricing structure of 15 euros for factor 4 rising to 30 euros for factor 50 so with my fair skin and 2 kids in tow, we were stuffed.

Beach is a 10 minute walk there, 15 back (steep hill!, buggies beware but worth it). It was never too crowded as I think the walk put some people off.

Would recommend a hire car if self catering - you would easily save the hire charge in food costs. If we go again, which we intend to, would either go HB or hire a car.

Room Tip: Hire a car if self catering unless you want the local shop keepers to hold you to ransom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the privilege to welcome you again in the future.

With our Regards,

José Domingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed here a couple of times. The first time was when we were buying our house in PT and the agency out us up here. The other twice was when we were checking out our property. The hotel is absolutely fantastic and the rooms are beautiful and clean. The food, while not being anything special, is pretty good as well. Nice pool. Nice people.

A bit out of the way mind but we had our own car so not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We did our usual family last minute thing and paid over the odds for a week at the Stella Maris that turned out to be six days due to flight and transit times. This was August last year and we will not be victims of our own indecision in 2012 with the US and Malta already booked for a proper 2 weeks each.
The Stella Maris is a little bit remote, being halfway between Vilamoura and Albufeira but is well presented with friendly staff and a really pleasant albeit quite small pool area (there is also a small toddler pool / play area hidden round the back of the hotel so don't miss it!).
The food is a little bland and repetitive with breakfast the better meal ( we were half board but ate out the last 2 nights)..
Our family room was spacious with a nice little kitchen two tv's and two sleeping areas. The main area with 2 proper beds was fine ( these were snaffled by the ladies before my son and I reached the room with the heavier cases!).
Now let me tell you about the other two " beds".
" Bed" 1 was a cheap z bed affair with wooden Lats that fell out every time you opened it and did so if you as much as shored loudly during the night. Rolling over meant rolling off and a full scale capsize followed by Time travel back to GCSE woodwork to put the thing back together.
My son and I tossed a coin every night to see who would get the "raft".
"Bed" 2 was a convertible sofa that purported to be a double (and got used as a double twice when night time damage to the raft proved irretrievable).
This bed had such a thin mattress you would not believe it, even padded with all the are blankets you still felt like the princess and the pea - it was like sleeping on a five bar gate it was that uncomfortable. This bed was christened the " gate".
Now I've got the gate and the raft and my lack of sleep off my chest I will share a bit more with you.
If you are told that Vilamoura is a 20 minute stroll down the beach do not believe it. It is a good hour and more suited to a French foreign legion route march with Laurel and Hardy. More than one guest fell foul and returned burnt and dehydrated. If you make it.Vilamoura is lovely with some great bars ( including Figos) around the marina with some lovely yachts and cars knocking about. Don't expect to return easily though. The queue at the taxi rank behind Figos is always huge and the drivers don't like going to the Stella Maris as the route is convoluted with no return fares.
Take a trip to Albufeira Old Town and market, there is an escalator down to the beach which is gorgeous and the old town and market are smashing.
There is a superb beach 10 minutes walk from the Stella, turn right, go to the tennis courts and turn left then left again - it's a bit steep for people with walking difficulties but well worth it.
We enjoyed our break but for the raft and the gate so beware of the bed arrangements and ask before you book.

"Bed" 2 was a convertible sofa purporting to be a double

Room Tip: Take your own blow up beds if more than 2 in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad you have enjoyed your overall stay and we have taken into consideration your opinion as it helps us improve our services.

We hope to welcome you again,

Kind Regards,

José Domingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We visited Portugal for the first time in June.

We could not have found a better hotel, great service and very friendly staff. The apartment was very spacious, and cleaned every day.

The only downside was that the hotel is qite some distance from anywhere. Could really do with your own transport.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

We went to the Stella Maris last wk in October. Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. We got a discount on breakfast when we checked in, breakfast was buffet and as hotel was quiet after a couple of days the waitress just asked what we wanted and it was made it for us which was even better! Room was huge with big balcony modern kitchen and bathroom tv in sitting room comfortable bedroom. Area was quiet but food places and only bar were very good. We walked to pine cliffs algarve restraunt in Sheraton algarve hotel, it's a posh 5 star complex but anyone can go in and eat the food was amazin!!! Big building site building hotel at end of the road but never heard any noise from it. Best part about area is the beach which stretchers to vilamoura lovely walk. Only little niggle with hotel is that when we arrived there and checked in we were given our room number and took lift. When we got to the floor and stepped out of lift it was pitch black no lights on were not told this at reception, had no idea where light switches were n had luggage with us. Ended up pressing peoples doorbells which were next to light switches till we got our bearings. Lights were off all the time we were there n it got dark early in October quite spooky coming in n goin out of hotel till you got to reception. I expect this was to save money as hotel wasn't busy. Overall thou very good holiday n would love to go back :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingosJ, General Manager at Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and such thoughtful comments.

We hope to welcome you again,

Kind Regards,

José Domingos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stella Maris Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel Apartments

Address: Rua do Pinhal, Falesia Beac | Praia da Falesia - Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#32 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Maris Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, stylish and well equipped, Stella Maris is a fantastic holiday base for families. Only 800 meters from Falesia beach and a short drive from Albufeira and Vilamoura, offers excellent accommodations all with fully equipped kitchens and high standard of quality. Garage, swimming pools for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, restaurant, bar, take away restaurant, tropical bar, lounge areas, daily maid service are some of the facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Albufeira
Stella Maris Hotel Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Maris Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.