We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean and comfortable apartments. Limiting Area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada to your Saves list
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Orada - Apartado 2422 | Albufeira Marina, Albufeira 8201-918, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean and comfortable apartments. Limiting Area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I stayed for two weeks at the Orada apartments. The apartment itself was spacious, clean and comfortable, with all the appliances you could need in the kitchen (except a kettle but we survived with the old school boiling in a pot!) plus TV and telephone. We had two rooms, one ensuite where getting hot water from the shower was touch & go, however, the main bathroom shower worked fine.

The grounds themselves look a bit tired. We were there through the winter season though, so I'm imagining they are in tidy up mode as there seemed to be plenty staff on site. My mother had walking difficulties, so she hired a mobility scooter for our stay, which for the most part Orada's grounds were suitable for. The lift towards the marina area had a step however and I had to lift it up every time, so silly a 'missed' area as they had a portable ramp at the reception, all it would take would be a second!

Talking of the marina....tired and empty! Only one good restaurant available. If you follow the road passed the marina, you will come to the 'Old town' Albufeira, which is just lovely and spoilt for choice restaurant wise. It was approx a 15 min walk along the road, which was fine because of my mums scooter, we would have been severely limited and bored if we didn't have it and I would have spend my whole holiday having to drive places, missing out on many sangrias!!

Wifi and books available from the reception. Car parking was available for outside our apartment to accommodate my mothers difficulties, which was invaluable.

So to summarise the apartments themselves are great but the location would be severely limiting if you cannot walk to the Old town as the Marina is practically desolate.

If you have car hire visit Gale beach it's picturesque with a great restaurant overlooking. Supermarkets within 10mins drive I'd recommend- Lidl will save your pockets and Apoloosia, which is more expensive but is like a UK Waitrose.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    66
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Staff - Staff were A+. The cleaners tidied up our mess and replaced the towels and toiletries and the receptionists were all very friendly and knowledgeable. The receptionist even spoke to the shuttle bus company in Portugese to confirm our bus back to Faro Airport.

Apartments - These apartments were huge! They were also spotlessly clean and everything worked. The kitchen had an oven, hobs, dishwasher, microwave, fridge freezer, telephone, kettle, iron and ironing board, cups and cutlery, etc. The living area had a couch, coffee table, lamp, tv. If possible, try to book an apartment with a balcony facing the swimming pool in the centre of the complex.

Wifi - Wifi is only usable in the reception area, but is strong enough for surfing the net and making calls using Skype.

Bus - There is a bus outside the hotel that takes you into the Old Town and New Town. It cost 1.40 euros per person. It come every 30 minutes on the hour and every half an hour promptly.

Taxi - Taxis are metered and a trip cost no more than 5 euros.

Cons - It's about a 30 minute walk to the beaches, which is walkable but can get tiring.

Room Tip: If possible, try to book an apartment with a balcony facing the swimming pool in the centre of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here in the last week of aug. myself and two friends. 2 bedroom apartment had 2 bedrooms, living room, kitchen (with everything you need including a dishwasher), 4 balconies & 3 bathrooms over 2 floors.
The apartments run a free shuttle bus service to local hotspots, you have to let them know a day in advance- although the driver was quite rude on two occassions when dropping us off & never came back for us resulting in ordering taxis from a nearby hotel as we couldn't call one.
There are a couple of wee shops near the marina for essentials but would advise getting the shuttle into town for a main shop.
Would advise anyone to try 'Wish' restaurant, 5 minutes walk away, near the roundabout at the marina.
Also Sao Rafael beach is close by and takes a few minutes on the shuttle bus. Its quieter than the main beach in albufeira & has a lovely bar & seafood restaurant.
Overall I will definately stay here again, a taxi into town was roughly €5 and the apartments are beautiful & spotless . :-)x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We travelled as a family of two adults and four children aged 14, 12, 4 and 6 months in October. The apartment itself was huge, had a separate kitchen area with all appliances such as washer, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, and iron which was ideal especially when travelling with a baby, three bathrooms and two great sized bedrooms each with ensuites and their own separate balconies.

We booked this due to its quiet location and didnt mind the walk at all into the old town, there are plenty of places along the way to stop for a drink or just to take advantage of the viewpoints, the walk is around 15 - 20 mins. Lots going on in and around the old town spoilt for choice of restaruants and plenty of shops and stalls to visit although for me personally it was nice to walk back to the quiet and relaxed area of the Orada and the Marina after a few hours.
We used the free taxi service provided by the Orada which can be booked with reception, first visit we went to the commercial shopping centre in the new town this i would recommend to do at the start of a holiday to stock up on essentials for the apartment as they were so much cheaper than around the marina and much more choice, we had arranged to be collected at 4 and the driver was spot on time. We also used this service to visit sao rafael beach which was very picturesque but if you do this take your own drinks as there is no beach bar.
Even in October we had days warm enough for the kids to want to go swimming and they were brave enough to enter the pool! The pool area is clean and well kept and lovely just to chill out around the only downside was the pool bar was very hit and miss with regards to opening and on the days it was open it was closed again by 6, there was also no play area or pool tables etc which would have just given the children something else to do without having to leave the apartments.

The marina is just a few minutes walk away, if like us you have a buggy its worth noting that once you are outside the apartments there are lifts along the roadside in blue which if you go to minus 2 level will take you under the main road and bring you out at the marina and avoids the two flights of stairs which we didnt realise until day three! There are several restaurants alongside the marina and lots of little childrens rides, this is also where all the boating activities can be booked, there is an area where children can hire go-carts and segways which were priced at around 10euros for about 15mins although they got much longer but maybe this was due to being low season. We tried a few places to eat along the marina and our favourite was the Spirit Lounge which was towards the far end, the owner here was fantastic with the children creating them lots of cocktails to order and very reasonably priced, a litre of sangria was 7euros compared with 10euros everywhere else along the marina. He was also the only person who asked where we were staying and then volunteered 10% discount on our bill for guests staying at the Orada, it was only towards the end of our holiday we spotted a sign in reception that stated a handful of restaurants offered 10% discount on the marina yet not one of them had mentioned it and reception staff hadnt mentioned it either which was annoying to say the least. The marina is a very quiet place and centres around your evening meal so not the place to be if you are looking for bars and late nights, however saw lots of couples and families around and had a lovely vibe about the place.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but just felt that if there had been a little bit more on offer such as a bar/cafe area that stayed open after 6 and a few games for children within the apartments it would have gone a long way to improving our stay. We found the staff friendly and helpful and if it is a quiet relaxing break you are after than this would tick the box.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When we first looked at our apartment we were amazed by the size of it, 2 bedrooms 3 bathrooms 5 balconies huge lounge and dining room with a fully equiped kitchen too. The grounds are well kept and the swimming pool and loungers are great, however, I appreciate that Portugal is going through a rough time at the moment , but hey so is everyone else, the staff frankly are surly, they are in desperate need of hospitality training as at present they have nothing going for them at all. I was told the key card maker was broken so if the side doors were closed you had to walk all the way round to the main entrance, it stayed broken for the duration of the holiday.

The pool although I earlier indicated is great I would quantify that in saying the fountain at its head is very noisy and can start at 7 in the morning, running until 8.30 at night, after a few hours on the balcony you find yourself overwhelmed by the noise, when I asked them to turn it down I just got the customary shrug of the shoulders and the palms of the hands facing me, not what I expected from a 4 star establishment.

You should also be prepared for hard beds, and yes they are hard by any standard, to the point of uncomfortable, this was pointed out in a previous review but not taken too seriously by me, I would advise you to take this seriously

The apartments are quite a distance from the night life and restaurants of the old town which is lovely at all times of the day, the walk takes about 20 minutes up some quite high hills but its downhill after that, a taxi costs about 7 euro.

I hired a car from an internet site to get around the many sights on the Algarve, I got what I thought was a good deal from the hire company and paid all the various insurance waivers etc thinking job done, however, when I picked up the car I was told I had to take out a further insurance policy for 43 euros and leave a 300.00 euro deposit and pay 80.00 euros for a full tank of fuel with no refund on fuel returned, needless to say I was not amused by that, so in short if you do hire a car in Albufeira be prepared to pay an extra 123.00 euros, not such a good deal after that.

All in all we enjoyed the holiday, but it could have been so much better, the apartments have so much going for them, open a bigger bar and retaurant put some entertainment on for your guests till say 11.30 or midnight.
Makethe most of what you have, and employ happy staff it will pay dividends in the future.

Room Tip: Stay away from the apartments at the top end of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just back from a 2 week stay in this Resort with my husband. The area was lovely and quite, exactly what we needed due to hectic and busy careers! We were checked in very quickly by a lovely girl in reception who explained the free daily transfer buses into town (that have to be booked in advance), the safe costs €30 a week and you need to pay a €25 deposit that you get back when you check out. We were pleasently surprised when we got to the apartment, it was very spacious and had all the mod cons in the kitchen. Very clean. Was a little disappointed that we got a ground floor apartment and not one with a balcony - but i didn't ask for that up front so would recommend that you do that. I had requested a Marina view but being on the ground floor didn't give much of a view. Bed clothes changed twice a week - towels supposed to be the same but if you leave the towels out on the floor the cleaner will change them for you.

The Marina is across the road from the apartments......there is a lift / stairs from the middle of the apartment complex (then though a set of glass doors) that you can use to get you out into the main road, then walk across the road and down the stairs and you are in the marina. The only thing is that the glass doors are not open all the time - it's ok to get out from the apartments to the marina as you can use a button to release the doors - but you cannot get back in from the marina side to the apartments if the doors are locked so you have to walk down to end of main road and in the main enterance to the apartments. Marina was lovely but very quite at this time of year.

Yes these apartments are outside the town but the walk was only about 15minutes into the centre of the main town. The hills are not as steep as people in other reviews have mentioned. We walked into town every day of our stay and only got taxi's home when it was late at night! We really enjoyed the walk each time. The taxi's cost no more than €6 from the old town to the apartments. As we were self-catering we had to get a taxi back from the main supermarket - Continente (in the new town) as it was the most reasonable. DON'T shop in the small supermarket in the Marina Area - rip off!!

Agreed on the other reviewers that the pool in the complex was absolutely freezing - but got used to it once in for a few minutes! Pool area was really lovely - again very clean - and there was a drinks / snacks area there - this closed at 7PM.

The old town is amazing - we loved it. So quaint and the market style stalls were lovely. We went for a walk to The Strip in the new town one day - it was horrible and we came straight back to the old town - but suppose it depends on what you are looking for! Night life in the Old Town is brilliant for all ages!

Best Restaurant by far was BAILOTE - an Italian Restaurant (in the old town straight down from the tunnel to the beach) but is a steakhouse and fresh seafood restaurant - the food is amazing, wine is amazing and the staff couldn't be more helpful....you have got to go there! :-)

We did the Best of the West tour one of the days - bus tour from about 9AM in the morning and we didn't get back until after 7PM - very long day but was enjoyable. My husband did the Parasailing (from the Marina where you can book) and he absolutely loved it!!! You can get a CD of pictures for €20 at the end.

All in all a great holiday..........and would recommend these Apartments to anyone!

Thanks for reading!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After reading previous reviews I was really dubious about these apartments but I was presently surprised by the complex. We went as a family of 5 - my husband and I and our 3 KIDS aged from 31 to 23. It was a little quiet around the apartment complex, we found it a pain that the bar closed at 7.00 pm meaning we had to go outside the complex every evening but we all found something to interest us in the old town,great food and bars, the down side of this is that the old town is a good 20 minute walk or a taxi ride away, there is a complementary shuttle bus which runs on a 2 hourly basis from 10.00 am to 4.00 pm and it's FREE but only runs from monday to friday. The quality of accommodation is excellent and unlike previous reviewers I could find no fault with reception staff, they were all very helpful and pleasant. My only gripe with staff is that one of the night security men was a very unpleasant character who locked the front door early meaning that guests had to walk round the building and enter from a different way when he was quite visably sitting in reception watching T.V. and would not get up to open the door.

Room Tip: Rooms in block F have no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada

Address: Sitio da Orada - Apartado 2422 | Albufeira Marina, Albufeira 8201-918, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Turisticos Da Orada Hotel Albufeira
Orada Apartments Albufeira
Orada Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Apartamentos Turisticos Da Orada Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.