We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico to your Saves list
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacao Vale Navio - Lote 101 | Branqueira, Albufeira 8200-393, Portugal (Formerly Hotel BlueBay Balaia Atlântico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We returned from Balaia Atlantico on 18th Sept 2012. It was the best holiday my partner and I have had. The accommodation is absolutely great, our apartment was large, spacious and modern. The maid visited daily and replaced the towels and sheets in addition to cleaning the apartment. We were All Inclusive, but it was so useful to have the kitchenette in our room, which we used when making cups of tea! BBC1 and BBC3 were available on the TV so I didn't miss Eastenders when getting ready for dinner in the evening. All the staff were polite and kind, my only complaint is that I ran out of Euros so couldn't give enough tips on my last day :-). The bus from the hotel was useful for day trips into town and there is no lack of entertainment in the Old Town and the Strip in the evenings. I would also recommend the trip to the caves, which is advertised in the hotel... it involves a couple of hours on a catamaran, seeing wild dolphins, a dinghy ride to the caves, followed by lunch on a beach only accessible by sea. Fabulous. I will go back and will definitely go to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 507, which is near the dining room, so a good choice for us. If you love being at the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sandra

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

PS - I was very pleased that you not only enjoyed the hotel, but also the beaches and boat trips that are available down this fantastic coastline we have here. Great vacation!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico next year.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    125
    90
    51
    27
See reviews for
140
124
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went here at the start of September with my partner. I must say, it's one of the best holidays we have been on. We went all inclusive and we absolutely loved the food. My only complaint is that I couldn't eat more :) we always went at opening times of the restaurant so never suffered cold food. Hotel staff were lovely when Ou took the time to thank them and the cleanliness was also great. All in all, we had a brilliant time and are already planning our next trip to the hotel :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

PS - Sounds like you had a great vacation! Many thanks again for the positive review.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel, the hotel itself is very good, rooms are massive with very modern furniture and beautiful fully fitted kitchen, full sized cooker, hob and microwave, with fridge freezer. Good size bathroom, could maybe benefit from touch up around shower doors. Good size bedroom but very bad lighting, small windows which do not give enough light. Pool area very good with plenty of sunbeds, no need to go out at 7am to put towels on although as usual some, people felt the need.Drinks by the pool bar and upstairs bar were all very good and if All inclusive plus were unlimited. The hotel bus was excellent, we used this a lot, going to both beaches, Alburfeira centre and the sister hotel Paraiso where we were able to use our AI for lunch and drinks (book day before at reception).
All staff were very good and friendly, I dropped my purse in a taxi on the way back to the hotel, didn't realise until later, reception rang straight up and it was brought back in 10 mins ( wasn't I lucky for the honesty of driver).

Taxi to Old town was 6 euro, taxi to Villamora was 15 euro and well worth it, try and share and split the cost.

Downside unfortunately was the food, very little choice, and all very cold, shame cause it spoilt it. All in all we had a great holiday but because of the food quality ( 2 stars maybe) we would not return.

Room Tip: High floor, beautiful views, ground floor rooms lead straight onto pool area.Corner room balconies w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Patsy

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret that on this occasion our services did not live up to your expectations, and we will take a good look as to how we can improve on the specifics that you have kindly brought to our attention, particularly your comments regarding the food service.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

we arrived 4 hrs early and asked if we could check in early , yes sir no problem and were so pleased as we had bn up all night travelling from newquay .the room was clean and tidy 5th floor with a balcony.we were self catering so were pleased wi the kitchen space an lounge area .it was very clean and the house keeping was spot on .we were offered the use of showers and lounge to relax in after we had checked out as our flight was not untill late evening ,that was a nice gesture !the evening entertainment was good ,live music etc and the huge pool was a magnet for all .and the pool bar area was kept clean at all times with stuff to do, ie tennis courts crazy golf.the shop is also handy for essentials like nibbles water papers beer wine and stuff for the kids . you do need a car tho if you are not all inclusive. would stay there again !

Room Tip: there is good access to all rooms .though top floor has lovely views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Laurance

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

Many thanks again for a very positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future, maybe next year.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

stayed on the 26 aug for ten days loved it not much entertainment but we made are own man on panio was lovely staff were lovely and food i couldnt complain .stayed with 2 adults and 2 children there is a bus to bring u into town are the beach would go back

Room Tip: bottom if have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Michelle

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

Short and sweet, but made good reading. Thank you.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are very spacious and cleaned every day. We had a apartment on the ground floor which had a huge balcony, the balconies get smaller the higher up you get. There is a kettle, toaster, oven and microwave and a full size fridge, all plates and glasses etc, the best all inclusive room I have ever stayed in.
I have to agree with most other reviews though when it comes to the food, it is nearly always cold, you can ask for it reheated but I didn't bother. If it had been hot it would have been nice. Also there are two sittings for lunch and dinner, when all inclusive you either get a yellow band or a green band, the green in for the later sitting which is 14.00 to 15.00 for lunch and 21.30 till 22.30 for dinner, particularly too late for me. We had to ask to change bands which we had to wait for the next day and ask again. We were told the first sitting was very busy and advised against changing. Once we had changed we found there to be plenty of room for us.
The drinks were fine,the usual you would expect for all inclusive.
The hotel shop says supermarket which it definitely is not! It is very small and has the care minimum, so if you were thinking of going self catering you would gave to go on the courtesy bus or get a taxi to the closest town.
The pool is large, quite cold, but thats refreshing from the sun. Plenty if sun loungers and if someone left their lounger for any length of time a man came round and folded up towels so others could use the loungers.
The courtesy bus was a great asset, we used it a couple of times to go to albuferia old town and get some shopping and souvenirs and had a lovely day walking round and taking in the views.
This hotel really could be perfect if they could only resolve the issue with the food being cold.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Chaz

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one, and we have noted your comments about the food service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at the Balaia Atlantico for 10 days in August 2012 with my husband and 2 children and we had a fab holiday. When we checked in at reception the lady was very pleasant and helpful. The room was very spacious and well equipped although I would agree with previous reviews that the lighting is poor. The room and the hotel was clean.

The pool area is lovely and we never had an issue getting a sunbed. The pool area was never crowded and there were never long queues for the snack bar. The staff at the snack bar were fine and my children enjoyed the snacks and ice-cream there.

We found the food in the restaurant to be fine. There was no separate menu for children which was great for my eldest who tried lots of different things but my youngest is a fussy eater and we did struggle!!! The staff in the restaurant work extremely hard and were pleasant and helpful.

There were not many British holidaymakers at this hotel.

I could imagine that the entertainment at night wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea but we enjoyed having a quiet drink with some background music.

The only negative point I have to make is the distance the hotel is from the beach and town. I walked into Albufeira and it took me 30 minutes and I enjoy walking and walk very quickly but it is not a particularly pleasant walk and not one children could make. We used the free bus from the hotel into Albufeira 3 or 4 times and got a taxi back but the buses are infrequent and do not run on Saturdays and Sundays.

Overall a great holiday - nice hotel, lovely pool, food was fine, staff were pleasant and helpful and hotel clean. I would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Emma

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

Thank you again for your positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Balaia Atlantico in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico

Address: Urbanizacao Vale Navio - Lote 101 | Branqueira, Albufeira 8200-393, Portugal (Formerly Hotel BlueBay Balaia Atlântico)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balaia Atlantico is a natural oasis surrounded by the unique beauty and contrasts of the Algarve countryside, among the over 3 km of sandy beaches and crystal clear waters. Located on the outskirts of Albufeira, surrounded by magnificent forests of olive trees and lush citrus tree plantations, it offers spectacular ocean views from any of its 139 apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Albufeira
Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Hotel
Balaia Atlantico Hotel
Balaia Atlantico Aparthotel
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.