We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sensimar Falesia Atlantic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sensimar Falesia Atlantic to your Saves list
Sensimar Falesia Atlantic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Milharo | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Palace Algarve)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

From arriving at the hotel to leaving couldn't fault it. From bar staff to the hotel cleaners they were all friendly and couldn't help you enough. Alex the Thomsons rep was excellent with all the information she gave us nothing was to much trouble. This was our first time at a Riu Hotel and can't wait to try another

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    304
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
274
662
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just back from 2 week stay and was so impressed by the level of service provided by all staff. It was our first time with Riu and would certainly recommend this, although our 19 year old daughter came with us and was not for her, we thought that there would be an entertainment team but there is nothing. Certainly a great destination for more mature couples, but not families with teenagers. Shame that Riu are not continuing with the lease, otherwise we may well have returned, like many other couples had. We had always used all inclusive hotels in the past and this was our first time half board, the food was great and plenty of choice, fish dishes were superb. Drinks in the hotel were rather costly (€15 for G&T) but selection of bars and restaurants close by, within walking distance. Evening entertainment was lame, although Elvis night worth staying for, many guests have commented that entertainment needs improving. However didn't really detract from our holiday too much, we either walked into Olhos D'Agua, or got taxi to Albufeira or Vilamoura. Be warned, taxis do not come immediately and can take up to an hour in peak season. The hotel reception ring through to order you one, but it is an automated service so they give you 4 digit code for when your taxi eventually arrives. Mosquitos love me wherever we go and I was delighted to find that there are no Mosquitos here! In fact I had stopped wearing any repellant within a couple of days, and no bites at all. Only brought one cardigan as was expecting the weather to be warm and balmy in the evenings, it was not, it was breezy and needed an extra layer. Pool area is rather small and found that people were reserving sun beds earlier in our 2nd week, as the hotel got rather busier. Some people commented pool was too cold, but fine for us. Weather was getting hotter as we were leaving so I expect pool will be like a bath in August! Travelled with Thomsons who rate the hotel as 5 star, have used many 5 star hotels and would only rate this as 4 star, which is the official Riu rating. Water is not provided with your evening meal, you have to pay for it, air conditioning in bedrooms is poor, no tea or coffee facilities in room. However as said before, service was certainly 5 star, they really do everything with a smile. We requested a quiet room and were delighted to receive a room which had a sea view, room 2052. Great hotel for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Room 2052 quiet but has a sea view without charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

There was nothing to complain about in the hotel. The room was lovely and the bathroom very nice ( to be honest we didn't even switch on the TV so no comment on that). The staff were always very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent with lots of choice and drinks reasonably priced.It was quite a long walk to the beach down the steps but then you could walk around the bays to the village and walk back from there.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the top floor as we don't like people walking over our heads, but to our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Check-in and room - We were welcomed at check-in with a glass of champagne - a good start. We had to wait a while for our room to be ready but when we got there, the room was spacious with large twin beds and a bathroom with efficient shower over the bath, and a separate foot-washer aka a bidet. We were lucky enough to get a room where you get the sun late into the day, although it did mean that it overlooked a side-street with only a distant partial view of the sea.
There aren't many places in the grounds of the hotel where you can actually get much of a view of the sea and beach, which was a bit disappointing. Maybe the views are better on the higher floors of the hotel?
Food was superb, especially the breakfasts. Loads of fresh fruit, juices, smoothies, yoghurts, pancakes and cooked breakfast choices too. Dinner good too, with loads of choices although there was some queuing. Always puzzles me how much time it takes for people to put food onto their plates from the buffet. Stop pretending - we are all a bit greedy when the food looks so good, and putting it onto your plate slowly doesn't fool anyone into thinking you are less greedy!
Ice-cream parlour / pool bar - service a bit slow, but the delicious ice-cream with strawberries and banana was great for me as a midday snack. We did eat at the lunchtime snack bar one day too, which was good, although limited choice at reasonable prices.
Bars - good choice of drinks, although service was a bit slow at times.
Staff are lovely - always friendly, polite and professional. Manager Juan was seen about the hotel a lot, occasionally helping out in the restaurant - he is certainly adept at dishing out champagne!
Pool area and gardens - gardens are beautiful, and well worth a walk around, so don't miss the chapel, the herb garden and the zen features too. We never had any problems finding a sunbed, although it was busier around the pool so we generally took our sunbeds into the garden areas.
Beaches - one down the wooden steps, although we didn't go to this one as no facilities there. 15 mins to walk to Falesia beach - beach is lovely with a couple of restaurants. My favourite beach was the village beach, although this is about 20 mins to walk from hotel, as there is no short-cut so you have to walk all the way around the Riu Guarana hotel.
As others have said on here, it would be better if steps could be built down from the side of the hotel as it would knock 10 mins extra walking time down to the village and beach.
Evening entertainment at the hotel was generally not very exciting. And for me and my friend this was the main downside of this hotel, particularly as it was such a drag of a walk to get into the village, and even once you got there, there really wasn't too much going on.
We were at the hotel for a week, and so one afternoon/evening we took a taxi into Albufeira (approx. 12 euros each way) which was much more fun. Another aft/evening we, took the bus to Vilamoura (3.25 euros), had a lovely meal and fun night out there and then got a taxi back for approx. 16 euros.
One of the highlights of our holiday was the LazyDaze cruise arranged by Thomson. We were lucky enough to have Cory as our hostess on the boat for the day - what a character - an amazing lady, with an unforgettable cackle! - the day as a whole was brilliant, with a cruise, cave visit and then BBQ on a sandy cove. In fact, all the crew involved on the boat trip were amazing. Alex the Thomson rep was brilliant and took us on a walking tour the day after we arrived to show us the routes to take to the beaches as well as some short cuts.
All in all, we had a brilliant week here, but were thankful that it was a very hot, sunny week as the location and lack of entertainment at the hotel wouldn't have been ideal for the sort of holiday we enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

To start we flew with Norwegian airways? Thomson holiday? but what an experience , great check in , great flight crew , great flight times , got to Faro holiday started , chaos again only 2 reps for coach number info for 4 flights !! after a 50 min sit on the coach at the airport a good trip to hotel full coach all to the palace , great room , great pool and staff, great restaurant, really good food , fantastic bar and all and I mean all staff , overall a really good holiday not for less than good mobile people lots of hills around this are but worth while walking these getting to the little beach at Ohlos you pass so many good restaurants and bars to get to the fishermans beach which is clean and well looked after , 9th time of visiting this hotel would recommend to all , but why are RIU pulling out in October I hope Thomson keep it on their books whoever take's it over ,

Room Tip: floor 1 2 ask for 1001 to 1010/ 2002to 2010 all overlook gardens and sea 1011 2011 up to 1022 2022...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Third visit to this excellent hotel / resort...... Consistently good.Excellent food, service, etc., Entertainment weak..... And a bit of hanging around waiting for transfer to the hotel.But overall very, very good. I am much travelled & believe this hotel & Thomsons package great value. Of course there are better hotels & locations, but not for this sort of money.... Well done Thomson.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Fantastic location, food, cleanliness and staff exceptional, a truely wonderful holiday. It had all that you required, gym, sauna, fabulous pool as well as an indoor pool, all well maintained and spotlessly clean. The staff really work hard, and are a credit to the company. We highly recommend this hotel and are looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sensimar Falesia Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Falesia Atlantic

Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Palace Algarve)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#1 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Falesia Atlantic 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Sensimar Falesia Atlantic Hotel is a holiday resort located on the seafront, in Albufeira, at the Algarve, Portugal, for adults only. It has 349 rooms surrounded by extensive gardens, 3 restaurants, 1 bar, 3 swimming pools, sauna and gym, WiFi access with a fee. With access to a small cove directly from the hotel. Located only a 15 minutes walk from Falesia Beach away, 10 minutes from Albufeira and 20 minutes from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Sensimar Falesia Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Algarve Albufeira
Sensimar Falesia Atlantic Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sensimar Falesia Atlantic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.