We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel... Even better if you're over 60” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Algarve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Algarve to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Algarve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Milharo | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel... Even better if you're over 60”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just got back from a weeks stay, overall very happy with our choice of hotel.

As other reviews have said, the choice and quality of the food at mealtimes was top notch and resulted in me eating far to much!
Small gripe about the strict meal times, we were told there would be a choice between two evening meal sittings, 18:30 and 20:30 however when we checked in were were told 20:30 was full so we had no option. Now 18:30 was ok, but given we had a few days out planned and had hired a car it did mean we missed two meal times (it was either that or cut our trips short)

Rooms are large and clean, they do have air-con (of sorts) - although it's not THAT cool, it was ok for us..(As others have mentioned, you don't get a double bed, you get two large beds pushed together)

I only have positive things to say about any of the hotel staff I had dealings with, always friendly and courteous and happy to help, a credit to the hotel.

The main gripe for me "atmosphere" in the hotel, the reason why I wouldn't rebook (even if it wasn't closing in October). I think in short the hotel caters very well for the average age of it's guests, which I would estimate somewhere around 60+. Evening entertainment consisted of piano music or a live act in a side room, again catering for a more mature audience and the eerily quiet atmosphere around the pool area made you feel almost uncomfortable to speak too loudly... I'm sure a little background music would have helped.

The pool area was spotless and there always seemed to be free beds/parasols however it was REALLY cold, took quite a while to ease yourself in...

Overall we had a great holiday, I'm just not sure I'd have chosen this hotel had I been aware of its more mature outlook :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    287
    62
    11
    9
See reviews for
270
640
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Riu Palace Algarve between 12th and 22nd June 2014. Having read the positive historical reviews of this hotel before arrival, we were delighted to discover that it was all true ! The management and staff were outstanding in their professionalism and efficiency. We travelled with friends who similarly shared our enthusiasm for the hotel and staff. It will be a pity if the lease expires at the end of October if the rumours are to be believed. If I can find out where the manager is moving to next, that's where I'll be taking another holiday !

Room Tip: We were in first floor room 1061 with a partial view of the gardens and the road to the beach....it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My friend and I travelled to Rui Palace on June 15 to 26 June 2014, this was my second visit and I have to say for two females travelling alone how well we were looked after.
The Hotel ,food cleanliness and location are second to none.
We learned whilst there that the lease on the hotel terminates in October, and will be run by another company. I do hope that the standards don't go down and that Thomson's soon are able to secure rooms there again.
All in all this was an amazing holiday, we met some wonderful people, our husbands were very pleased when they met us back in Manchester airport to see how well and relaxed we both looked
Lets hope the Rui group wont be too long finding another hotel on the Algarve.
.

Room Tip: A sea view is worth the extra cost, as you get the morning sun with beautiful views of the sea and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed at the Riu Palace 2nd and 3rd week June and can only agree with all the previous reviews and comments.Will be a great pity if it becomes yet another all inclusive hotel killing local business.I would like to mention catering staff under Head Chef Antoinos ? who worked very hard.Also some waiting staff namely Vaunda ,Teiyeira.Victor and Fabio who we had at our table many times.Not forgetting waiter Nuno who we encounted on his first day working in the dinning room.Trying so hard to please everyone he came across.I did notice Vaunda giving him some steer into his role. Not forgetting Luis Costa on reception.All staff had amazing moral considering the hotel closing.We also had a couple of issues quickly sorted by the hotel Managers who appeared to be everywhere.Great also at Thomsons welcome meeting to be introduced to all Heads of Depts by manager who also made aliitle intro speech.Good also to see a Thomson Rep on the ball at hotel everyday althought we did not require any assistance she kept us informed.Great peace of mind.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just got back from a 6 day break here. Everything was excellent, our room, the food, the staff, cleanliness - what a great pity that Riu's lease ends on 31st October. The staff here work so hard at making your holiday perfect and go all out to meet all your needs. Thank you.

Room Tip: 3rd floor with a sea view nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just back from a weeks stay at this hotel with Thompson Holidays (Platinum range) and was very impressed. The hotels staff are all enthusiastic, friendly and attentive. We were particularly impressed with the Hotel Manager who appeared to be very "hands on" and was often seen talking to the Hotel guests around the complex. The Hotel room we had (103) was huge with a massive bathroom to match. One point I often find in hotels is the shower water pressure is poor..... not here though, very invigurating. The room was spotlessly clean as was the whole hotel. The gardens around the complex are quite magnificent (on the day before we left we attended a tour of the gardens with the head gardener of the Riu hotels) and that was very informative. The Food was always varied, well prepared, presented and served in very pleasant surroundings.
If you want to explore the area you need to be fairly active as the area is quite hilly (its about 200 steps down to the beach) but the Taxi's are reasonably priced. We took nice stroll along the beach to Vilamoura (takes about 2 hours) and got a taxi back (14 Euro) (you could take a bus though which is cheaper)
Positives.... 90 minutes free WiFi in the lobby area every day, reasonable drink prices, superb food and surroundings, free bathing towels use
Negatives.... Needs a better walking route down to the centre of the village, Hilly location, The hotel states rooms have Air conditioning but this consists of a cool (or warm)air fan blower in the room (above the door) which is Ok in the early summer (low season) but may not be adequate in high summer (I could'nt get the room temperature down below 25 DegC during the day even with the fan full on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The service from start to finish was excellent! Very attentive & nothing was too much trouble! The food choice plentiful and what an absolute pleasure to get a sun lounger at anytime of day. Would highly recommend,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Algarve

Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#1 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Algarve 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Olhos d???Agua in the Algarve. 4-Storey building standing on a cliff. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Algarve Albufeira
Hotel Riu Palace Algarve Albufeira, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.