We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at the Palace.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Algarve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Algarve to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Algarve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Milharo | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at the Palace.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed there at the beginning of October for seven nights. The hotel and staff were all excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them. As other reviewers have commented the hotel is at the top of a steep hill,if you have mobility problems, I would suggest another one. The weather was great when we were there and we went a day to Albuferia and Villamoura and enjoyed the latter more. All public areas are spotless as with all the other Riu,s we have been in before. We had a lot of Riu points and were able to use them as the hotel is not all inclusive. The price of food and drink are reasonable but still would mount up over the week.

Although, we enjoyed our holiday and enjoyed trying out a Palace, we would look for to a Riu with an all inclusive option in the future.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be noisy if situated near the air condition units(on ground floor under rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    287
    62
    11
    9
See reviews for
270
640
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A very nice hotel + food. Our room overlooked the gardens which was lovely in the morning watching the birds. Staff were very helpful with any requests we had such as a mattress topper!! Overall I would return to this hotel but maybe not to the spa which I thought was overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at this excellent hotel. We arrived at the hotel in mid afternoon having transferred by taxi from the airport. The service at the hotel is first class starting with our warm welcome from Nelson on Reception to the extremely friendly Maria on the Housekeeping Team to the excellent Restaurant and Bar service staff. Our room was a side sea-view room on the second floor which afforded very good views of the well maintained grounds on of the sea itself. Our room had ample storage and hanging space for our stay. The beds are fairly firm and a call to reception will provide you with mattress toppers for the beds and additionally rubber bath mats if required. These where delivered to our room promptly. The location of the hotel is very good with easy access by bus to either Albufeira, Vilamoura and Faro.
The fare to Albufeira costs Euro 2.20, Vilamoura Euro 3.25 and Faro Euro 4.50. Timetables are also available from reception. The hotel reception offers a superb selection each evening which will suit everyones tastes. We pre-arranged transfers from the airport with Yellowfishtransfers.com who charged 60 Euro for the return fare. They kept us fully informed by email of all arrangements and can not recommend them highly enough. They will be our choice of transfer every time we make individual arrangements to travel here.
Our stay at the Riu Palace Algarve fully met our expectations once again and can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just returned from our fifth(I think) stay at this wonderful hotel. It always maintains the highest standards. Beautiful setting, excellent food and wonderful, helpful and polite staff. Management always about ensuring everything is as it should be. All goes to contribute to a worry free holiday.
Looking forward to seeing the refurbishments next year.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms provide a wonderful view over the gardens and village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is up market, extremely well run, very professional staff. Anything you required, they were genuinely happy to meet any requirements. Management always on hand but were not needed because everything was perfect. Food was top top quality with immense choice, Highly recommended for all.

Room Tip: Great views from 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Have stayed at the Riu Palace a number of times now and our visit in October was the best yet. We were given the room we requested, an early meal sitting and most importantly a table on our own away from other guests. Most of the tables are far too close to have a private conversation and this is a draw back at this hotel. Had fabulous weather all week which was lucky as the two weeks previous were awful, we were told. The staff were as brilliantly attentive as ever and could not do enough for us. Food superb. Waiting staff from the restaurant to the bars and reception could not be faulted. Gym equipment needs revamping but enough for a holiday workout. Indoor pool great with superb showers. Will definitely be returning next year. Special mention to our exceptionally hard working room maid, Hannah.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed last year and we had a great time, the food was excellent, the service great and everywhere was clean. The rooms were a little dated however, but the hotel was very grand in the reception areas. Would stay again for a chilled holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Algarve

Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Algarve 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Olhos d???Agua in the Algarve. 4-Storey building standing on a cliff. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Algarve Albufeira
Hotel Riu Palace Algarve Albufeira, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.