We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Algarve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Algarve to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Algarve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Milharo | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hi we stayed at this Hotel on the 3rd October till the 10th October that was our 12 visit
and I have just realized I have never written a review. This Hotel is just the best in Service
I have ever come accross. We rate everything against this Hotel. Open since 2005 The
bedrooms could do with a bit of a makeover. I think this Hotel is great for Couples it is quiet.
The staff are wonderful I would bet 60% of the guests have returned at some stage.
Nothing is to much trouble for the staff and management. The food is fantastic. Most are
on a half board package. The breakfast has a great choice and with the endless bottles of
sparkling wine and orange juice it sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    287
    62
    11
    9
See reviews for
270
640
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Was a nice hotel/location just the poor one way in and out walking that was all but rest of experience was good and nice friendly staff and the hotel was surrounded by a beach and nice places to have a drink and meal! Night time was fairly quiet but that was ok

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Not much to be said about this hotel that has not already been said, Spotlessly clean, excellent food with good choice, and very friendly helpful staff. The nearby beaches are superb, but thereby lies the problem, the most direct route to the beach is via bout 300 steps the end of which is about 50 meters of boulders and rough sandy paths, even if you are fit and able to get up and down the steps the last 50+ meters is very difficult. The easiest route is through the village which is about a mile or so this is uphill out of the hotel and then all down hill with the reverse uphill for most of the way, the hotel do not provide any shuttle or other help to get out of the hotel to the beaches or other areas. The local bus stop is also about a mile away. If you have trouble walking and want to explore the area or even visit the beaches then you would have to use taxis or hire a car, if you only want to stay round the pool and have a quiet relaxing hol then this could be the hotel for you.

The location and access to other areas is the only reason why I have given it 4 stars.

Room Tip: room 2112 is huge and has 2 balconies(being on a corner) which gets the sun all day with 1 overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and i stayed at the Riu Palace for 10nights everything was perfect,the staff,food,hotel all faultless.The amenities were of high standard,nothing skimped just about everything you wanted was available.Have you ever seen a hotel with palm trees growing in the reception area? well you will at the Riu Palace. From the hotel you will find 360steps leading down to the beach,don,t worry there is an easier route down for the less energetic.At the hotel the staff from the cleaners to the top management all treated us like members of their family.Hotel Riu stands on the cliffs above the beach the views from the far end of beautifull gardens was breath taking.We would highly recomm end this hotel to everybody.

Room Tip: we had room 5 on the ground floor facing south towards the sea looking out onto the wonderfull garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week in early October. Superb weather helped but this is about the best beach holiday hotel we've stayed in. Service was faultless and nothing was too much trouble and the food was of a good standard and there was enough choice for a week's stay. Our room was large with a good sea view and the outdoor pool area was fantastic and didn't feel too crowded with a good pool bar service. The excellent beach was a short walk away down steps however there is a choice of routes so you can readily avoid the one which gets the most grumbles on here. Yes the mattresses are on the hard side but a matter of taste. We were ok to start with but asked for toppers after 3 nights and they were added immediately with no fuss. As it was getting late in the season the local bars were getting quiet so as a result we did see some of the in house entertainment. Some wasn't too bad although we did draw the line at the accordion based folk music and the neil diamond tribute which was pretty frightening! Overall would happily stay there again sooner rather than later.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just arrived back from this wonderful hotel and having stayed in five other RIU hotels this must be the best so far.
The food is of excellent quality and is always fresh.The rooms are spotless and have great views we had room 3077 which was quiet and had a view of the pool and sea.
The staff from the cleaners through to the management were always cheerful and nothing was too much trouble.
Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone but do agree with other reviews regarding the location it really would nice to have a short cut from the hotel to the town/beach instead of walking all the way around.having said that i will still be booking for next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 3000`s are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Welcoming hotel, only bonus would be a short cut to the hotel from
the main routes. Bed very firm and made up of two queen beds put
together which was very spacious but not good for anyone on a
honeymoon! Lovely staff, courteous at all times and happy to teach
you the local lingo. Used the indoor pool and Jacuzzi lovely pool,was
approx 24 degrees.The sea was 22 degrees so slightly warmer.Nice to
cool off after the walk to the hotel in 27 degreesOne small local
supermarket a short walk by the Cabana Bar further up on the Albufeira
road is a large Intermarche. Took twenty minutes to walk to, passing a
lovely bakery and a variety of refreshing drinks. Beware of the local
trip shop at the bottom of the road. Enquired about a trip to Lagos
and Sigres for 18 euros for the two of us, very cheap, if we had been
given more info we wouldn't of gone. Air conditioning translates into-
small open top bus. Experienced the local coaches on return which were
not roadworthy and stopped by the local police bellowing smoke with
failed breaking system. Shared a taxi back to the resort with some
fellow holidaymakers.
Remembered for all the wrong reasons, Lagos was definitely worth
visiting though. The bus service is very difficult to use, no
timetables, local bus drivers unhelpful. Would be wise to use a hire
car as the roads are pretty good.
Would be happy to return to a Riu hotel, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Algarve

Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Algarve 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Olhos d???Agua in the Algarve. 4-Storey building standing on a cliff. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Algarve Albufeira
Hotel Riu Palace Algarve Albufeira, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.