We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Algarve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Algarve to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Algarve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Milharo | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We have just returned from one weeks holiday at this wonderful hotel. It is our second visit to a Riu and was not disappointed.
We had a terrace room on the ground floor which overlooked the lawned area, I must admit that was my only grouch as it was quite dark in the room as there were quite a lot of trees outside our balcony, having said that it was very quiet and peaceful we were awoken with the birds singing in the trees.
The food in this hotel is excellent, so much to choose from I cannot see anyone being disappointed with the selection on offer.
The staff are brilliant and so friendly from the reception staff, restaurant staff down to the ladies who clean, they are so polite and always great you with a smile.
THe rooms are of a high standard and kept spotlessly clean by the maids.
Didnt use the mini bar as the contents were very expensive.
We also didnt drink in the hotel (only once) as the drinks are pricey, even the coffee.
Can't also comment on the entertainment as we didnt stay in the hotel in the evening, we used to walk our intake of food off.
The beach down the steps is quite disappointing, after walking all the way down the steps in the heat, there isn't anything down there, ok its a nice beach, but no facilities, no toilets or catering for drinks or food. The best beach is down the road, but it is quite a walk as unfortunately it is not straightforward to get there you have to walk a bit of a detour to come back onto yourself. It is a pity the hotel cannot put a cut through to get onto the main road .
There are quite a lot of shops in the village and quite a few cafes and bars.
What we found funny was the people reserving sunbeds really early, and not by the pool but on the grass, allthough there are signs saying not to do this, but I suppose you get this at every hotel.
To sum up, a fantastic holiday in a wonderful hotel. Would we go again, probably not, as we want to try other Riu Hotels. Don't hesitate to go to this hotel. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    287
    62
    11
    9
See reviews for
270
640
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My friend and I stayed here from 29th Sept to 6th Oct. We had a fabulous time and would certainly recommend. A special mention to Angelo, Thomson representative, you are a credit to your company and to your home country of Portugal. Your welcome meeting and resort ramble were great. We met some lovely people during our stay, all nationalities.
Be prepared to walk short distances if you wish to see the village or the beaches. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The food is good and there is plenty of choice. Management Mr Raul and Mr Jacob always around to oversee matters if required.
We got the bus to Alberfeira, 10 mins away, Really easy and a nice afternoon out. We went to Villamoura on the Friday night,organised by Thomson, however the marina was in darkness so were unable to see the boats. Plenty of bars around the marina, but expensive. In conclusion I would like to say thank you to all the staff of the hotel for the excellent job you do and hope to return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Dog barks all night outside rooms overlooking the tennis court .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We consisted of a large extended family group ranging from 3 to 60 yrs and this holiday was enjoyed by all.
The food was exceptional in every way, it was always fresh, of good quality and with a huge variety available.
The staff were polite curteous and helpful, the rooms spacious and spotlessly clean.
It is easy to see how the hotel has gained its reputation and popularity and I
I would look to stay within the same group in the future.
Because of the local surroundings and the vicinity this hotel it may not appeal to youngsters.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was our second visit to the Hotel, this time for a two week stay and it was just as enjoyable. Everyone from the Reception Staff especially Elsa (who was a great help in changing rooms) to the Bar and Restaurant Staff especially Joao Pedro who looked after us!
not forgetting the maids who worked extremely hard, what can I say they are all exceptional and a credit to Hotel.
The Hotel and Gardens as usual were immaculate and the Hotel lives up to the 'Riu' standard, as for the food, well it's just as good, the choice on the Buffet both at Dinner and Breakfast
is second to none and we enjoyed a nice Lunch in the A La Carte Restaurant on our last day.

So Thanks to everyone and keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed in Riu Palace for 1 week 29th Sept - 6th Oct. We havent been back to Portugal for many years and were pleasantly suprised. Weather exceptionally warm and people very friendly and helpful. Hotel Riu Palace was brilliant, from the minute we checked in we were surrounded by wonderful staff. Anything you needed or any problem they were there to help. From the Managers to the cleaning staff. Food quality and quantity was wonderful with 2 sittings in the evenings (your choice either 6pm or 8pm). Diet time now we are home!!! Angelo the Thomsons rep was absolutely brilliant, the best rep we have ever had, nothing was too much trouble. The area is very quiet and if you want a lively holiday this isnt the place for you. Choose this hotel if you want a relaxed, quiet and very contented holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view room with afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My partner and I have recently returned from two weeks at this hotel; 11-25/09/11. This was our first visit to a Riu hotel and the Algarve. Chose this hotel from other good trip advisor reviews, and were not disappointed. The coach transfer was about 40mins and both ways were made in a sedate fashion. On arrival at the hotel; about 11.00hrs for us, as we queued at reception we were given a glass of bubbly.This helped, I think, people relax a little at the end of their journey. Their were about thirty people waiting to be booked in but this was done quickly and efficiently by the efficient,friendly staff adding to the atmosphere of having arrived and now you can start relaxing. There was a porter transfering suitcases to thier relevant rooms but, the lifts were only a short distance away so you could easily wheel them if you wanted to. Our room was on the third floor.Very clean. Good sized bathroom with nothing missing,broken or otherwise curling up !! The maids made a thorough job every day. The room was a little under illuminated at night; there was no main ceiling light.The balcony was large with a expandable clothes drier but no outside light.Some people have said on tripadvisor that the rooms are dated well, yes I suppose if you look hard enough you could say that but it was spotlessley clean and we did not spend all day looking at our room. It was more than pleasant for us. Talking about hard; the beds are rather that, no problem to us but you can get mattress toppers. Did not spoil our nights sleep. The air conditioning was a little noisy but droned us to sleep quite easily and was not as cold as it should have been.One note. The lady who checks the mini bar knocks once,mid morning, and comes straight in, beware. If you make a noise she will not enter.
On the first evening we were given a 20.30hrs sitting. There are two sittings the other is 18.30hrs. This can be swopped around if desired. We were shown to a table and this is where you sit at every dinner unless you you wish to change. The tables themselves are mainly arranged in rows so it does have a slight canteen appearence with not much room between but, the restaurant itself is big and there are many people there so I guess arranging tables with vast spaces between would limit the number of people in there. Having said that we had no problem with this arrangement. As stated we were rostered for 20.30hr sitting. This means that by the time you amble through your buffet dinner it was usualy 22.00hrs before we had finished; bear in mind. The evening meals are buffet style or you can opt for waiter service at your table and chose from the menu on your table.Also you can arrange for an Al a carte meal in the poolside restaurant. We never tried this. The buffet food was very good, presentation was exceptional although I did detect that maybe some vegetables may have been frozen ones and there was a repetion with some dishes on the hot food counter, as staple dishes and then one different one. To us the food was of generally good quality, cooked just right. The steak meat was tough on a couple of occasions. I would say that there would be something there to please every palate. The chefs are out and about and will do what they can to please you; just ask. We found that if you went into the restaurant about twenty minutes after it had opened for your sitting you could avoid the main rush and crowd around the buffet tables. This does not occur at breakfast as there are no sitting times and it generally remains quite busy, but not too hectic.The rastaurant staff are all extremely friendly and will acknowldge you whenever they can with a smile. Generally very very good.
The following morning we attended the greeting meeting. The hotel manager was there and introduced as was the head chef, as the fitness instructor!! by Angelo the Thomson rep. He was Portuguese and he talked about the various trips on offer, however, it could be seen that he had a vast knowledge of the area and I think this is so important. You basically had
'a local' on hand with a wealth of information. The guided walk that he organises himself around Olhos D'Agua is worth participating in. It is not too strenous and picks out a few places of interest espicially the small supermarket that could prove to be a little difficult to first locate. It is located near to the bar where you stop for a free refreshing drink. After this we then started our holiday.
The hotel is situated on top of sandstone cliffs of some 30-40mtrs, this continues along the coast so you may want to visit the beach below. There are a few ways to do this. Firstly there is a well constructed wooden stairway comprising of 300ish steps situated just outside the front entrance of the hotel. These descend to a small beach with no problem but they do not reach the vast Falisia beach, for that you have to negotiate big rocks for about 40mtrs which are roughly strewn and not smooth stepping stones; only for the agile. However these steps are worth a visit on thier own.It is quiet with good views many benches to sit and the steps are not continuous,there are flat sections also. Seconly there are another set of steps. These are located when you walk through the Porto Bay hotel and through a small gate with a No Entry sign next to it. This path will be explained to you. It comprises of abouy 133 concrete steps leading down to the eroded gorge and then a short flat distance to the beach.
The hotel is the nearest to the ciff edge of a group of three big hotels. There is one road serving these hotels. The village is next to the Riu Palace but there are no short cuts to it you have to use the road. There is no good trying, all the others are well fenced off.
The road is a down gradient from the hotel. It proved no problem for us and you do get shaded for a while by the other Riu hotel.The general area is undulating but not difficult. The beach has to be seen if not visited; golden sands run about 50mtrs wide for about three miles towards Vilamoura of which we walked. The gradient into the sea is gradual with no stones. But, as stated there is walking up and down steps to be done,achievable but there are many of them. There is a route with no steps but it is a long walk. If you walk down past the other Riu hotel to the road junction look right and you will see a dusty track that double backs past tht zoo. Take this and it will lead you to the top of the eroded gorge where you can walk down; again it is undulating.
We did start the first few days around the pool but then went to the beach and returned there every day,glorious. The pool area is well maintained and tidy. The pool water is cool but refreshing. The sea is warmer and invigorating.
Drinks and entertainment. We had a bottle of wine with evening meals, these you sgn for at the table with your room number and are given a receipt, unfortunately that does not say the cost of it. In the bar again you signed a receipt which did have a cost on it but you were not given a receipt, so, you either just spend or you need to make a note of expenditure as you go along. You can ask at reception for a print out of your costs at any time but double checking means making your own notes. Again all the staff around the bar areas are very friendly and always acknowledge you and appear to be enjoying their job. The entertainment was I am affraid, mediocre. The in house duo did thier best but the pigeon English of the songs made it sound amateur. There were a few special guests who performed. These started at 21.45hrs and ended about 22.30hrs when the duo took over and many people left leaving a virtually empty auditorium making the atmosphere a little quiet and subdued.
I have gone on too much but basically to round up the hotel met our expectations. It was clean, quite grand, all the entire workforce were very friendly. It was a relaxed atmosphere. The food was very good and well presented. As stated there is walking to be done and you could argue that it is slightly 'hilly!' You may have to keep your own records of spending. Our first time at a Riu hotel and would certainly consider it again in the future. Enjoy.
I have given four marks because of the closeness of the tables and the meat being tough on two occasions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have just spent two weeks at the Riu Palace Algarve and we can only agree with the other reports about the cleanliness, the friendly staff and the nice food at this hotel.
It is always reassuring to see the Manager or his Assistant checking on standards in and around the hotel, this happened everyday during our stay.
They we also there at meal times.
However I do have some observations of my own to pass on.
This is a large hotel 349 rooms and access to the beach is difficult via 300+ stairs, this puts great demand on the swimming pool area.
The pool is very small only 204m2 (Riu details) with the pool side area cluttered with sun loungers very tightly packed making it quite uncomfortable.
Getting out of the hotel on foot and into the village will be difficult for some as there is "NO SHORT CUT" from this hotel. The only way out is up the hill from the Palace and along past the Riu Guarana and then down the hill past the Guarana entrance.
There is no shop at the hotel for consumables and the nearest is past the Porto Bay Falicia hotel quite an inconvenience if you need to carry drinking water.
The hotel provides a mini bar in the room with quite high prices.
In my opinion a small fridge for clients use would be much better or make the hotel "ALL INCLUSIVE" like the majority of the RIU Hotels world wide, better again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Algarve

Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#1 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Algarve 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Olhos d???Agua in the Algarve. 4-Storey building standing on a cliff. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Algarve Albufeira
Hotel Riu Palace Algarve Albufeira, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Algarve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.