We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Branca than a Villa!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Branca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Branca to your Saves list
Vila Branca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Do Tenis 4, Albufeira 8200-186, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Belfast/Wicklow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“More Branca than a Villa!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Just returned from a week in Albufeira and a stay in Vila Branca, and couldnt say it was bad but equally couldnt say it was great either. If you are after a cheap week in a good location this is the place, these apartments are family run and owned which is linked to the Casa Mitchell complex on the other side of the street. Residents of Vila Branca can use the pool at Casa Mitchell which is really chilled and a great little spot to catch a few rays and have a dip in the pool. There are no facilities at the pool ie bar for food and drinks etc however we just had a little cool bag for cold drinks which was great and saved money. If you are staying in Vila Branca you have to ask the reception guys to buzz you in and out of Casa Mitchell to access the pool which can get a bit tedious if you are going for snacks & drinks. There is also no toilet facilities poolside so we had to go back & forth to use the toilet in our apartment. On the plus side the pool is very quiet no kids splashing around and this was a bonus in itself. The Casa Mitchell complex can only be booked through Thomson Holidays from what we gathered and these apartments had nice big balconies and the guys staying here could simply walk in and out to use their toliet or grab a cold on from the fridge!!
The accomodation in Vila Branca has a small mini bar style fridge which never gets that cold and the air con system is basically a wall mounted fan which didnt make the room any cooler at night to sleep in.
Location wise these apts are in a great spot five mins walk to the square where all the action happens and no taxis are needed if you are fit for a few hills.
To sum up Vila Branca is a get what you pay for type of place, I would recommend it to those on a budget but a week would be the maximum amount of time you could stay here. I would definitely return to Albufeira and the old town it has something for all but the next time I would like a bit more luxury which you simply wont get at Vila Branca.
The hotel rocamar is one street away and looks much nicer I will hopefully stay there when I return to Albufeira.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

These are apts not a hotel we stayed in Marina club in 2008 and it was a different type of facility altogether was plush ,Vila Branca was as nice in a simpler way,
Well located at the top of town near porto do mos area gorgeous beach there.. There was a shuttle bus to take us to Porto do mos although it was walkable ,the bus also took us into Lagos which was a distance if walking but again do able.
It was a family run complex and immaculate , well equipt spacey apts ,
2 pool areas ,bar and restaurant. Pirata restaurant was our local did a very good breakfast and evening meals were gret value and varied we went there on the nights we didn't go into town..
We would like to compliment Carlos on his lovely accomodation and the friendly welcome he gave us on arrival..
We flew Monarch and we used our regular transfer company booklagostransfers.com .
We really like the drivers we have had David twice his English is better than mine.
A English girl too who was extremly friendly and chatty can't remember the name.Always on time on arrival and for pick up .Give us a bottle of wine too..
Visiting Lagos again this year we just love it.........

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moron de la Frontera, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Writing a hotel review is difficult because you can't compare the Vila Branca with the MGM Grand like you can't compare a Smart Car to a Hummer. That said, the hotel was a perfect New Years Eve weekend stay for my wife and me. The room which we stayed had 2 beds pushed together, a 13" TV, a mirror, and a small balcony. The location was perfect; about 5-10 minute walk to the main center of town. The front desk was helpful giving directions/reccommendations around town. It's as quiet as you can reasonably expect in a town, having heard only occasional obnoxious motorists revving up their engines nearby. It's not the honeymoon suite; it's not a hotel you would bring people up to party in; the humidity in the room gave a slight moldy odor; there is no view of the ocean; there's no room service; and the shower is tiny - but if you are looking for an inexpensive place (we paid 30 Euros a night) to just sleep and don't mind walking 5-10 minutes to get in the thick of it, this is a great hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

small really friendly hotel, how it was discribed as a hostel i will never no!! It was a small hotel in a side street that was so clean and friendly, the breakfast was not really up to much but hey for we paid you could go up the road and have a full english for 3.50 euro!! Loved the location it took 3 mins to walk to the pub which over looked the sea and the lift down to the beach. You can use the pool opposite in the casa mitchell which is like a private villa feel to it, there were a max 11 people sunbathing and some days 2!! Only down fall i would say is they could do with better shower head, also fridge in the room(FREE) was brill for your cold drinks. Book it!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Very clean, very well run, great location, about 10 min walk up a slight hill from the old town square. Breakfasts where great, fresh crusty rolls, salami, ham and cheese, fresh coffee and fruit juice. There was also a selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad and yoghurts.

Rooms where great and spacious enough with a safe, a fridge and sky tv. Don't have a bad word to say against the place and we want to go back right now...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist who made us feel totally at home. I was a bit perturbed to find my apartment was for sale and wondered if this was a bad sign. Definitely not, The apartments were very spacious and spotlessly clean as was the whole complex. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
There was a steep hill into town and also to the nearest beach but there was a courtesy bus available which went about 3 times a day.
We ate in various restaurants and all were of a good standard but if you fancy a treat go to the DO Cais ( I think that's what it's called) at the Marina. The food was absolutely superb and although it was a bit more expensive than the others we visited it was worth the difference.
I would definitely go back and would recommend this place to anyone

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — notthing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

Loved every minute of the holiday. The Apartment was very clean and in great location. The breakfast was basic but very enjoyable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We would definately stay there again, fantasic value for money.

Ed & Rach, Manchester.

  • Liked — Location, Friendly people & cleanliness
  • Disliked — One of the mattresses was not very comfortable
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Branca

Address: Rua Do Tenis 4, Albufeira 8200-186, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Branca 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Branca Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Branca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.