We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday,definately would go again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lageado Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lageado Sol to your Saves list
Lageado Sol
Lageado-Areias S.Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday,definately would go again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Really nice holiday,small and friendly apartments,didnt have entertainment on or food,but the strip is a 10 minute walk away the Anchora bar was worth a visit,a very good Elvis act on two nights ,and the old town was 4 euros in taxi,with excellent resturants the oceano facing the sea, and bars the twist,fastnet,bars providing entertainment, with plenty going on.Salvatore greeted us on arrival,and provide us with maps of the area,and made us feel welcome,and new everything about area.Also moved us to a lower ground floor,due to the travel agents fault not informing that we need a ground floor.Marco run the bar,was really good company for our family whilst on holiday,and kept the bar open until late,but as there wasnt many rooms it wasnt busy.The apartments were basic,but maid came everyday,and cleaned.excellent aircon in rooms which was 5 euros for two weeks.A supemarket is 2 min walk,men dont walk in with no shirt as you get turned away,or it might be because iam fat and ugly :)..Pool was never really busy,so was always a sun lounger available.Definatel go back to Albuferia,and to the Lageado Sol.Thank you Marco and Salvatore for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    40
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
28
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sefton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

can.t believe all the hype these apartments have been receiving.when we were dropped off by the shuttle bus from the airport I asked the driver had he took us to the right place.the surrounding area was like a tip over flowing rubbish bins.went in to reception to book in were the chap gave us a list of to do and don.t do and a lesson in map reading.after about 20 mins we were shown to our apartment where we given another lesson on how to use the KEY? the rooms clean and basic furniture abit dated average two star apartment,the pool area was fine but the sunbeds should have been dumped years ago,one good point was the bar and marcus the barman he was excellent,to far to beaches and old town taxi,s a must.apartment,s more suited for young people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Myself, husband and his parents stayed for 1 week in July,nothing was too much trouble for Salvatore and Cidalia, you only had to ask and they were there. Marcus runs the pool bar and if he hasnt got it he will get it for you the next day if he can. Everybody really went the extra mile to make your stay as good a possible.
Half way through the week they organised a BBQ for the residents at 15 Euros each. There was plenty of food for each person, of burgers, half a chicken, salads, fruit, etc. It was cooked lovely and the atmosphere was fantastic.
The apartments are basic but there is everything you need and they are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We paid the extra for the room safe which if you are leaving early the next day arrange with Salvatore to get your deposit bank the night before which is what we did.
The pool is very clean and there are inflatables to lie on which were there everyday so I presume they were provided by the apartment as well as pool sunbeds.
The apartments are located in a quiet area of Albuefeira and are approximately a 10 minute walk from the strip. We did not attempt to walk to the old town as it is much further and my husbands mother does not walk well, but we were able to catch taxis (called from Reception by Salvatore) which were very cheap at 4 Euros a time for the 4 of us.
A restaurant worth a mention nearby is Fat Cats, food is very reasonably priced and friendly service.
Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and you will get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newastle upon tyne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We returned yesterday from a 9 night stay at the lageado sol. we were greeted at reception, advised of the routes and places to go then were took to our room, this took about 30mins. stayed in a studio, they are basic, had a pool view but the balcony's are tiny, the only mirror in the room is in the bathroom where there is no plugs so took forever to do my hair going in and our from the kitchen to the bathroom. Aircon was new, so good.

After the first day we did not spend any time at the hotel other than in our room as my parents were staying in the Eirasol apartments just over the worms roundabout. My mam came over on our first morning with me to check out our pool and we received a huge lecture at reception about the apartments being private and for any trouble in the apartments, which we had not been told when we checked in and said we were with family, this made us feel very unwelcome as he told us 5 times that it was private. From then we went to the eirosol every day, and were welcomed as if we were staying there, took our business there for both food and drinks and had a brilliant time there. One morning we were woke up by a loud alarm at 8am, it went on and off for about 30mins, no lie in that day. The pool looked quiet every day, on a plus other than the alarm we didnt hear any noice from any rooms.

The karaoke bars at the top of the strip are great, me and my fiance left my parents on a couple of nights and went further down the strip and enjoyed garage bar and the one nextdoor but went to patcha and we were the only english in the bar and the portugese were fighting with eachother and the security. the old town has good night life, has bands/singers on until about 1am then the bars turn into bars for the younger crowd.

Fat cats over the road from the worms next door to the eirasol is good for happy hour beers (in a frosted glass) breakfasts are nice too, and it has a pool which you can use free of charge whilst there.

All in all had a fantastic time but wish we were welcomed more into the accomodation.

Room Tip: no lift so maybe a low room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

just spent a week at the Lageado 21st-28th august. On arrival around 5.15pm we were met by the very friendly Zelda (might have got this name wrong so apologies)..If you are checking in after 6pm call in advance and warn them as reception is closed...the room safe costs 10 euro deposit and 1.50 euros a day...you receive a welcome drink at the pool from the very lovely barman called Marco, he is such a friendly guy and will do anything to help, even stream the football for you on his laptop if it's not on tv...Salvatore is also a great guy and knows everything about albuferia so ask him for help if you need it...remember, if you expect great service , act responsibly and you will definately get that from the staff here..The hotel is 10 mins walk from the strip, 20 mins from the old town... 2 mins from the supermarket, beware, it can get very busy especially early morning..if you fancy a good cheap english breakfast try Hollandaise which is on the left side of the road as you walk to the strip,, 1.95 euros it was in may, 3.90 euros last week..as for the rooms, you have everything you need although an oven would have helped a wee bit..rooms cleaned daily although towels were twice a week ,beds once...when having a shower here's some advice the water can make the shower head fly up so water goes everywhere plus the glass shower door leaked quite badly so there is a mop and bucket in the bathroom, it can get quite quite messy, beware..also you may find little ants in your room occasionally so just kill them , your in portugal so this is expected abroad..lastly, hotel rule..do not put baby wipes, sanitary towels etc down the toilet as they can block it, the sewage system is getting hammered due to the high number of tourists in the area..ours blocked and we hadn't put anything down it but salvatore had it fixed within 30 minutes..can be a bit noisy at night when people shut there doors plus you can hear other guests moving around in their rooms so just get drunk and pass out and hey presto , no noise.. .we both enjoyed the relaxed stay here, the pool area gives you the chance to have a chat with other guests...i would recommend staying here...lovely friendly staff...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

My partner & I stayed for 1 week in July, we arrived at about 9am but wasn't a problem, we were greeted by Salvatore & taken to the bar for our welcome drink & met Marco! A very friendly welcome! We were in our room within an hour & it was grand, had everything we needed & was clean! Only criticisms are, kitchens really need ovens, toasties/sandwiches for lunch every day got boring! And would need atleast one more towel & bed change in the week! Salvatore helped us book a few excursions & was very helpful! Marco was very friendly & approachable, makes very tasty cocktails! Pool area is good however sunbeds aren't great, can only tan front & very few umbrellas which should be provided by hotel as its not something you usually pack or should be expected to purchase! Apartments are in a great location & are value for money! The pros out weigh the cons, would highly recommend & would book here again if
returning to Albuferia! Recommended restaurants, sizzling stone, at very bottom of strip by the big bumble bee, amazing steaks, cooking your own is just a novelty, we opted to have ours cooked, best steak I've ever tasted!! A pizza restaurant with 'frog' in the titled (can't remember name) about half way down strip on left side if facing beach up some steps! Three Crowns in old town, amazing trad Portugese food & v cheap! Recommended excursions, quad biking, it's a bit expensive but you get to see parts of Albuferia you wouldn't otherwise, if can afford it get your own quad & wear old clothes & shoes, need drivers license! Fiesa (big sandcastles) are fun! Waterpark was ok, wish I had of went to dolphin park instead!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just returned from here, went on a girls clubbing holiday. We wanted somewhere quiet and peaceful to relax in the day. Like other have said no rush at the pool, there are only a few parasols but we never had an issue getting one.

Marco is wonderful- ask for a big Mama cocktail, he's also happy to taking 'going out snaps' if you like to get dressed up like us lot and have some poolside snaps.

Strip is 10 mins away.
Beach 20 mins.
Old town 5 mins in a cap and 4 euros.
Supermarket is great!!! and next door!

I recommend Garage bar on the strip especially the rudely named blue cocktail. There's also a bar crawl if you fancy it.

Perhaps don't go to Loule- we got stuck there. We went to the market but we got there late and a lot of it was packed up.

Salvatore is a wonderful man, he can't do enough and knows everything!

Rooms were nice and beds were comfy.

Oh we also went to splash and slide water park- which was great, we were told Aqualand is a bit dated now.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lageado Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lageado Sol

Address: Lageado-Areias S.Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lageado Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lageado Sol Hotel Albufeira
Lageado Sol Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lageado Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.