We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort - but make sure you've got a car.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponta Grande Resort

Save Saved
You added Ponta Grande Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ponta Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sesmarias Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Fort William
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice resort - but make sure you've got a car.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Apartment was spacious - 2 bedrooms, good sized lounge, large patio, even 2 fridges. The kitchen was missing a few basics - no wine glasses (we used tumblers!), no coffee maker (got one soon after arrival), only one sharp knife etc.
However, for the first week of our fortnight, the bar/restaurant was closed, which was disappointing. Once it opened, it proved to be a popular focal point at very reasonable prices.
There's no shortage of bars and restaurants within walking distance. During the daytime, if you want to do more than sit by the pool or on the beach, then a car is a must - there are plenty of places to explore, driving and parking is easy, but it's easy to get lost (an up-to-date map needed!).

Room Tip: Rooms 40 - 45 seem to be in an optimum position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    30
    16
    12
    1
See reviews for
54
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coalville, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I hate to be negative, but it really needs to be said like it is. This could be a very nice resort. However ....... although the villas are spacious and nicely designed, the kitchen, show/bathrooms are worse for wear. The sofas worn and very uncomfortable with no cushions to make them less so. There were only single beds in both of the bedrooms. There were no loungers on the patio and in the first unit we had been allocated there was not even a proper patio set - just 4 child size flimsy, uncomfortable plastic chairs. Also in that unit the TV didn't work, also the coat hangers totalled 5 each for the 2 wardrobes. After requesting a different unit, without any fuss (the reception staff and the cleaning staff were excellent) we were allocated one nearer to the pool and reception. However, this one didn't have a kettle, only wine glasses (no tumblers at all) and even fewer hangers - so I transferred the very basic kettle (no switch), one tumbler and some hangers from the original unit! We were dragging around like displaced refugees with our belongings on a trolley for the first couple of hours. The restaurant was closed (told it was just for a week due to electricity problem) and nowhere to get a drink. Then to add insult to injury, there wasn't even any sort of welcome pack so that we could at least make ourselves a drink. Since there isn't an on-site shop, this entailed walking downhill to the small mini-market (excellent fresh bread daily). The pool was freezing - only saw three use it, very briefly, during the whole week. Although we had seen the hot tub being used. on the day we went to use it, that too was not working. So Ponta Grande management, get your act sorted out - this must have once been a lovely resort and probably not too long ago. At the moment it gives an impression of being run down for some sort of take-over. You are being very unfair to your wonderful staff who must have days when they dread going into work (everyone we listened to were full of complaints and either been moved or were waiting to be moved) although they always remain helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at no. 57 booked through Portugal Haven. The apartment is large with two good sized bedrooms one with a larger than king size bed which has views over the swimming pool and the other a twin, both rooms have air con and loads of storage space. Downstairs there is a lrage lounge area with dining table. Kitchen was ample with every utensil you would need. Outside a large terrace with loungers and table with four chairs. The apartment was not as modern as some others we have stayed in previously but was of an excellent standard, clean and tidy. We paid extra to have wifi in the apartment which was a hit with two teenagers. The pool area was very spacious, we were there late September so was very quiet, no more than 15 people round the pool at any one time. Thereis also a small jacuzzi, kids pool which was all clean and safe for little ones. There is a bar and rstaurant o site but we did not use either so cannot comment. The closest beach is a ten min walk, if that, closest restaurant was about five minutes walk away. There is alos a small spermarket within five mins walk., but better to go to Apolina in Gale or Algarve shopping, both you would need a car. Albuferia is five ins by car, great olace to oeople watch. If your anything like me and like to read about prices of food and wine in the areq, good portuguese rose wine was 2.99euro, if you go to Continete shopping you can get 5lr of red for as litle at 5 euro up to about 14euro. Food was pretty reasonable, if you want a decent cheap chcken piri piri go to ramires in guia. We had three chickens, two chips, one rice, salad three soft drinks and a small bottle of rose wine, it came to 45 euro. This is a typical portuguese restaurant with alot of locals using it. Other restaurants in albuferia were around 8-20 euros for a main meal depending on what you had. oh mr singh restaurant in gale was also god, but came in at nearly 100 euros for four, but was good food and enough for the teens to have for breakfast. all in all a god week away in the algarve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed at beautiful poolside villa in July 2013 with 3 teens. Villas are spacious, modern, bright and have full kitchens with all necessary appliances. Pool is lovely & gardens are well maintained. There are plenty of comfortable sunbeds & no booking allowed which was a relief & made a pleasant change; some people did try reserving one morning but the gardener removed the towels from the beds. Poolside cafe serves sandwiches, snacks etc & staff are nice. There is also a full restaurant service with a special price, all-inclusive lunch menu daily. Resort is very close to the beach, about 7 mins walk. It's about 2 km walk to old town Albufeira but taxis are plentiful & cheap. There are also some lovely restaurants close by which are well worth the visit. All in all, a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nicely located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 9 days in May 2013. The Staff are friendly and not intrusive. The weather was great in May. There is a restaurant on the premises, which has a staff of 2.5 people. However,they are very friendly and work hard to make you feel at home.

The down side is that this is about half a mile from the beach, so don't book this place expecting you will be at the beach. Also, there is No fitness center, and No business center, as advertised. Also, breakfast is Not included, as advertised.

The pool is freezing cold, and the Jacuzzi never worked while we were there, despite requests to fix it.

The apartments are cozy and decently equipped kitchens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We a family of two adults and four children have been to ponta grande a couple of times and find it superb for our holiday needs. The villas are very spacious and most are well furnished, some are showing some wear and tear from years of rental but the owner I spoke with told me that they try to upgrade every so often and therefore it is a continuing process of improvement. We find however that the accommodation is top class , these are houses not apartments and on ground level ,very easy access no high rise here. They have large terraces some with sea view and others with pool view. The Sao Rafael beach is 600 metres away and Coelha, Castella, Lourenco beaches are all walkable to. The fabulous Gale and Salgados beaches a short five minute drive. In the vicinity there are quite a few restaurants to chose from all excellent and Albufiera old town a five minute drive or taxi ride. While a car is handy I know many holidaymakers who don't hire one and have an equally good holiday.The attractions such as Zoomarine, Slide and splash, Aquashow, Albufiera Marina for water sports and trips and of course Algarve Shopping are all so easily reached from the resort. To sum up I would say that Ponta Grande is a 3star+, borderline 4star and as a result we as a family have been going back for a number of years. I would recommend it for families with children from toddlers to teenagers.

Room Tip: houses to the front of resort don't seem to be affected by dogs barking at least not in my exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just returned from Ponta Grande Resort and enjoyed our break overall at the resort, however it is nearly a 3 Star hotel and in need of some major modernising. The rooms are very large and have a massive terrace in our 2 bedroom villa, when we arrived we had NO patio furniture, we asked for some and were told they were waiting on new furniture and would move some furniture from a vacant room to ours in the short term, this never happened and after 3 complaints a bend scabby table and 4 different coloured plastic very cheap chairs appeared. The kitchen was rotten and smelt of sick and smelly feet, we had to open the window every time we went into it to get rid of the smell, the shower down stair was black with mold and was not clean, the four single beds were like back packer hostel standard and reminded me of camping and lying directly on the ground they were so hard. There was black human hair in the oven and on the kitchen floor and in the lounge area. The staff were not very helpful or friendly with the barman worst off all he was grumpy and rude. The free wifi was only available in the reception area where their was only a 3 seated settee and it kept crashing so was only available some of the time. The restraunts and beaches in the area are very good and we enjoyed eating out every night, we had a hire car and that was a must as the hotel is isolated from the main part of the town. Every night their were lots off dogs barking all night from dusk till dawn about 100 metres from the hotel, this was quite a pain as it was very loud and woke most people up several times a night. Overall we enjoyed our holiday here but would certainly not go back.

Room Tip: Get a hire car as the nearest ATM is at the Marina about a couple of miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponta Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponta Grande Resort

Address: Sesmarias Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponta Grande Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponta Grande is a four star resort, designed to offer its villa residents a perfect holiday combination by being both welcoming and comfortable. Escape to an enchanting hideaway of secluded townhouses with lush gardens and inviting pathways. It will refresh your spirit and renew your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ponta Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponta Grande Hotel Albufeira
Ponta Grande Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponta Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.