We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velamar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Velamar Hotel to your Saves list
Velamar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torre da Medronheira - Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€30 (EUR)
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impeccable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed in the Velamar for one week earlier this month, and we could not have been happier. The staff were so welcoming and polite and helpful. The hotel itself is absolutely spotless, I have never been in a hotel so clean. The room was a good size with a lovely bathroom and a small but nice balcony. The towels were changed every single day and the beds made up and the room tidied. The bar downstairs is lovely and again absolutely impeccably clean, the staff there were so nice and friendly, especially Adrienne, he was very helpful. Very good value too, myself and my partner ordered to coffees and two brandies (which were at least doubles, possibly triples) and the cost came to €6 in total! The pool area was nice, but a bit small, but we didn't use it anyway, we went to the beaches every day, the nearest is about 10-15 mins walk. There is a fabulous portuguese restaurant just across the road we would highly recommend, the food was superb and the staff excellent, it's called O Assaiolo (I think), we ended up going there three nights as the food and service was so good. Overall, the holiday was a huge success due to the hotel and the lovely restaurant across the road.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    256
    58
    7
    3
See reviews for
111
516
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Just got back on the 13th May we had to stay another three days due to the ash cloud but did we care no. There was no problem staying the extra days we stayed in the same room, the staff were very good and friendly. They have internet so checking the flights was easy ( 1 euro for ten mins but local bars have free internet ) It is a very clean and modern hotel the rooms are cleaned and beds made every day, Breakfast was always a treat fresh fruit and breads but if you like your tea take your own teabags unless you like drinking hot water. The breakfast room is on third floor so you get a really nice sea view while having your breakfast. All in all a very nice holiday would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Superb value for money - good location (away from the tacky strips) with local restaurants & cafes / supermarket / beaches / shops nearby. Booked on travelrepublic for very reasonable price and was not disappointed. The Staff are very friendly & helpful - not yet tourist weary.
Great Breakfast - free wifi - good Bar - nice pool area...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We have just returned from the Velamar on the 9th of May and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the staff were friendly and nothing was a problem for them, the rooms were cleaned and towels changed on a daily basis, the breakfast was very 'healthy' which was a nice change from a fry up every morning it was fresh bread cold meat , cereal and fruit with a selection of jams etc. We really enjoyed eating at a restaurant called Ambrosia Nectar which is down near to the beach and the food was excellent, we did not have any complaints about the food in general and it is a fish lovers paradise , although if you have never visited Portugal before be prepared to wait as the food is cooked fresh to order. We visited Jolly's restaurant which is next door to the Velamar and really had to wait a long time although the food was good when it did arrive, I must say was little bit like Faulty Towers but the staff made you feel more than welcome and by the end of the night all the diners were talking to each other! !. The public transport was good too and the staff at the hotel were happy to give you a timetable and a map if required . The only thing i would have to say is that the pool area may get a bit crowded in the busier months as it was not very big, but wasnt a problem for us. This was our first time in Portugal and will definately return to this hotel .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

just arrived back from portugal after our flight was cancelled 24 hours.. the staff at the v elamar were briliant and went out of their way to accomodate us would go back there again tomoro. situated in a nice position out of the way of hustle and bustle but within walking distance of beach and short 4euro taxi ride from albufeira... we had our breakfast
at 7 30 ish and were so full up we didnt need to eat again til 6pm. had clean towels and bedding every day . will be going back as soon as we can

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Difficult to find fault in view of the price! Room was a good size, bathroom very nice. Decor throughout well done. Staff very helpful. Decent buffet breakfast. Beds a bit on the hard side. The hotel is a bit away from the centre of things but that suited us. Overall very good - would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed at The Velamar for one week from the 26th April 2010 and found the hotel to be excellent value for money. We were concerned because it seemed a very reasonable price to stay there and although all previous reviews were very positive we were still a little concerned - but no need. Very clean, staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good.
We dined out every night and found a couple of restaurants which were very good, Tavertino's is worth a visit, as is Jollies near to the hotel, but the one which stood out head and shoulders above everywhere else we visited was A Cantina (next to Oceanus apartments on the front street). Although it was a little more expensive than the others (about 40 Euros for a 3 course meal for two including a bottle of wine) it is well worth it. The quality of the food and the service is as good as you will get anywhere. If you like steak, try the cook on the stone, an excellent fillet which you cook yourself on a hot stone at the table. Also if you like peppercorn sauce try the the pepper steak - it is the hottest (spicy) sauce I have ever had My wife is vegetarian and the choice for her was excellent. The service is superb with two very knowledgeable staff (one female and one male). We didn't get the names of the staff, but the gentleman waiter was especially friendly and knowledgeable about the food and the wines. We would not hesitate to go back. Another restaurant worth a mention is the new Fratelli's, which is a pizzeria and has a great atmosphere, but for us seemed a little expensive for after all was only pasta and pizza. J&C, Newcastle

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Hotel

Address: Torre da Medronheira - Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#15 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Velamar is a 3-star hotel in Olhos de Água (Albufeira), right in the heart of the famous tourism region in Southern Portugal, Algarve.The hotel is 890m away from the "Maria Luisa" and "Olhos de Água" beaches and the prestigious Quinta da Balaia. Albufeira old town is located 6km away and Faro International Airport within 25km.All the 73 rooms and 2 suites are equipped with mini-bar, air conditioning, safe, telephone, satellite TV and private bathroom.The hotel has free parking and wifi internet, swimming pool, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Velamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.