We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“proper job....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velamar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Velamar Hotel to your Saves list
Velamar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torre da Medronheira - Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€30 (EUR)
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
norfolk goes to portugal
1 review
“proper job....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

having had to change our location and hotel due to the volcano ash we felt lucky to have had the pleasure of staying in the velamar, great service all round, very clean and very hard working friendly staff. If you want a good meal out we would all recommend a "special" from chef at Jollies bar, turn left out of the hotel and walk about 50yards, and sample his food gorgeous, great host also was his wife jacqueline, all the best to you both, and will defiantly return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    256
    58
    7
    3
See reviews for
111
516
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ballymoney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on bed and breakfast. Breakfast was continental style with cereals, good choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts. cold meat & cheese, fresh breads and really good coffee. Rooms exceptionally clean with air con, tv with some channels in english with portugese subtitles, minibar, full bathroom. Very small swimming pool, always lots of sunbeds available. If I had one gripe, it would be the constant crowing of a cockerel in the garden nearby. Small quiet resort but much more relaxing than Albufeira. Taxi from airport cost 40 euros and about 8 euros in taxi from hotel to Old Town. There is a superb restaurant close by called Jollies - try the special dish for 2 to share!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We planned for one week and due to the volcanic ash thingy, ended up stopping 13 days.

We all thought the hotel was very clean, very friendly and good value for money before having our flights cancelled. Once we explained our situation to the hotel, they were very supportive and incredibly helpful - evidenced by other families/couples coming to the hotel during the week.

With regard to the local restaurants, we tried Tiffany’s although weren’t that impressed with the curries and thought the prices were somewhat higher than they should be. We found the Chinese restaurant ‘Cozy’ a lot better quality of food and reasonably priced. Caffe Soft was good quality and reasonably priced food, with Bruno and his parents being fantastic. The best though, for us with children was Nelson’s. Very good food, ample quantities and a good rapport with the owners.

We found the location good, short walks to the various bars and restaurants, and not too far for our youngest (whose 4) to the beach and even over the beachhead to Falesia beach, which is really nice.

On balance (and considering the support during the week that was), we have no hesitiation in highly recommending the Hotel Velamar.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

After being told there was no room in our hotel (Club Humbria) following cancellation of our flights (Icelandic volcano) We were left to find alternative accomodation our selves at 18.00 in the pouring rain. We were advised by a local travel office that there may be room at Hotel Velamar.
We walked into the reception with all our luggage in hand and slightly wet. from the rain. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming and nothing was to much trouble he offered to show us round a couple of rooms before we decided in which to stay. Both myself and my wife wish we had gone to this hotel in the first place as the staff were much more helpful and friendly. we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Having been to Albufeira on many previous occasions, we thought we would give Olhos d'Agua a try. Hotel Velamar is a little bit out of the centre (only about a 3-4 minute walk) but is incredible value for money. Next door is a bar which only charges 1 Euro for a glass of wine or a large beer. Next door to that is Tiffany's Indian Restuarant. Tiffany's has been raved about in other reviews. I am not sure why. It's OK. It's not amazing as people have made out in other reviews. Perhaps I've been spoilt being from Birmingham. Anyhow, a real bargain venue is Soft Caffe where Bruno and his mum & dad will make you feel more than welcome. At bargain prices to boot. Over the road there is probably the worst restaurant I have ever had the misfortune to visit. It is called something like Ariolas - avoid it like the plague!!! It is overpriced and the food is truly diabolical. I asked for a medium-well done fillet steak and was served raw steak. And I mean literally raw. My wife ordered minted lamb-chops. When they were served, there was no mint. When she queried this, she was told that they had run out, but the guy would be back in half an hour from the supermarket with some. By which point, her meal would have been cold. Do not visit this restaurant.

The hotel is nowhere near the beach or the sea. However, a 10 minute walk down the main road and turn right will bring you to the Riu Palace Algarve and then on down to the beach. There are some lovely rock pools for kids to play in, looking for fish and crabs. You can also walk up past some little fishing boats up a little hill and see views along the cliffs and beaches which you would have to see to believe.

The breakfast on offer is Continental, with a range of crossants, jam, toast, ham, cheese, butter, juice, coffee, tea, yogurt, fruit which is all OK.

The hotel is immaculate inside and the bar is reasonably priced too. However, the only downside is the pool area. The pool is ice cold, which is understandable for the time of year, but the pool area needs a bit of a facelift. I would not feel comfortable letting my daughter swim in it, which is a pity, because everything else is great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
251 hotel reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
407 helpful votes 407 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

not much to add to the other reviews just that I booked this hotel last minute from otel for double for 25 EUR per night incl. breakfast which is a real bargain.

Go for it!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doblin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

great value will be back could not fault a thing ,food was excellent rooms spacious very clean and fantastic location

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Hotel

Address: Torre da Medronheira - Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#15 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Velamar is a 3-star hotel in Olhos de Água (Albufeira), right in the heart of the famous tourism region in Southern Portugal, Algarve.The hotel is 890m away from the "Maria Luisa" and "Olhos de Água" beaches and the prestigious Quinta da Balaia. Albufeira old town is located 6km away and Faro International Airport within 25km.All the 73 rooms and 2 suites are equipped with mini-bar, air conditioning, safe, telephone, satellite TV and private bathroom.The hotel has free parking and wifi internet, swimming pool, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Velamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.