We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Spent 10 days here and can fully support what all the other positive reviews say! First day was a bit of a wobble as our room had no balcony and the air conditioning didn't work, spent the night in this room but the reception staff were happy to move us the next day - new room was great, lots of space, very good air conditioning, clean and having a fridge was great just for a few bottles of water. You do have to pay extra for a balcony though, which we decided to do - as drying our towels and clothes was tricky without! Was a smooth move and the front desk staff were keen to check that the new room was exactly what we were after!

Pool was perfect for what we needed, the water is cold(!) but when you've been sunbathing its lovely and refreshing! Always got a sun lounger, even when we'd been out for the morning and returned early afternoon :)

Bar food was adequate and good value: toasties and baguettes and fries - did the job if you wanted something :) breakfast was - as everyone has said - plentiful, fresh, tasty and had beautiful sea views!

Occasionally we popped to Jollies next door for a burger at lunch time - these were really tasty, we also did the pub quiz there on Tuesdays, a good laugh!

Overall the Velamar was much better than any 3 star we've ever come across - the front desk staff are the most helpful we've ever encountered - particularly Andre! The rooms are clean and the food and drink was extremely good value - we also made very good use of the pool table which was much needed to get out of the sun for a little while!

As a couple of twenty something's - we did venture out to the strip and the old town... Getting a taxi from the hotel was a nightmare - we waited 2 hours one night and the poor receptionists couldn't have been any more apologetic! Walking to the Old town would have been quicker than waiting for a taxi but we didn't fancy a 60 minute walk every night! We solved the issue two ways... First way, get the bus to the old town, last one leaves at 7.30pm and costs 2 euros each... Second way, walk out of the hotel and turn left, past the supermarket, keep going until you find a ticket selling office called Exposé... There's a taxi rank outside - we only waited maximum 15 minutes there... If there's a group of you, Expose will run a shuttle bus if you go into the shop and ask!

Would definitely return to the Velamar - it's going from strength to strength - we had a fantastic holiday there and couldn't fault it! :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello GStapes1990. Thanks for your comments.
His words are very motivating for us.
We hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    301
    70
    8
    5
See reviews for
130
598
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Positive:
Nice atmosphere, helpful staff, clean room, huge bed, refrigerator, excellent breakfast buffet with a nice view, supermarket nearby, price is okay

Negative:
We had to wait for almost two hours until our room was ready although we were on time, no WiFi in our room

Other comments:
One night there was loud music in the bar until midnight. Ask for a room on a high floor if you go to bed earlier. 10-15 minutes walk to get to the closest beach. 20-25 minutes walk to get to Praia da Falesia (one of the most wonderful beaches in Europe) but it's definitely worth it! To get to Albufeira take the bus (make sure to check the bus schedule beforehand so you don't have to wait for too long!) or a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hello Oliver K. Thanks for your visit and your comments.
This is very important for us to improve our service.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Me and my wife and our two teenage daughters have just returned from 9 night stay at Hotel Velamar the staff and service was very good. We had 2 rooms on the 2nd floor room 210 over looked the road was not noisy as had 2 double sliding balcony doors and 215 that over looked the side road. The rooms are of a good size and have free air con and a fridge in each room. The towels were changed daily and also the room cleaned.

Breakfast was served on the terrace the 3 rd floor with option to eat inside or outside with great views of the surrounding areas. Good choice of food , fresh fruit , yoghurts, fruit juices, coffee machine and a selection of cold ham and cheeses along with hot options of bacon scrambled egg and tomatoes. Also lovely selection of fresh breads , croissants and cakes. You certainly wont go hungry breakfast is served 730-1030 am.

The beach is a 15 min walk from hotel but well worth the walk, Golden sand and clean clear water. We found a great place we used to lunch on our return from the beach which was half way between the beach and hotel so great stop off point. The restaurant is called Tangerine and is with in the Villa D'Agua resort. If you dine in the Tangerine you have use of the pool which is a huge atrium pool over looking the ocean.

In the surrounding area of the Velamar hotel there are plenty of local restaurants turn right and you come to the Cantinha Do Mar, 9.50 euro for a Drink , soup , starter, main, desert and coffee amazing value and nice food.

Albufeira olf town is 10 euro taxi ride very lively here lots of bars and restaurants, best 2 restaurants we found were Tasca De Viegas top fish restaurant over looking the beach well worth a visit. We were recommended this restaurant by my friend who has been several years to portugal and also a local taxi driver great authentic cuisine. Also Casa Da Fonte restaurant ask to sit upstairs its high up and amazing views.

Back to Velamar, the pool is small but you were always able to get a sunbed. The new owners are without a doubt trying to improve on what is a good hotel i rate it a 3* plus. I was recommended this hotel and id defiantly recommend this myself.

To all the staff keep up the good work thanks for looking after us. Ps Luciano i hope to see Boiled eggs on breakfast menu on our next visit

From the Linton Family

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hello Linton family. We really appreciate your visit in our hotel.
Thanks for your encouragement.
I'll think about boiled egg for breakfast. Undoubtedly it is a good suggestion.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel it's very clean modern and rooms are spacious,
Fantastic large comfy bed, the only down side was the flat pillows! However the rooms have a fantastic large comfy bed
There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool area and it was very laid back, quiet and relaxing & extremely clean.
Brilliant staff Paula couldn’t do enough, Simone greeted everyone with a lovely smile at breakfast everyday & Andre on the fount desk was helpful & attentive throughout our stay
Thank you we will defiantly be vising again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hello jane_betts. Thanks for your comments and kind words.
This is highly motivating for us.
See you soon.
Luciano Hagge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed here 7th july for a week, with my partner and 3 year old daughter, very warm welcome by the lady on reception, lovely room on 2nd floor facing the road, lovely breakfasts every morning, with a good variety, cooked breakfasts, cereals to fresh fruit and yogurts, excellent coffee machine, also plenty tables to choose from, staff excellent and very helpful, always saying ola and a nice smile every morning. Excellent swimming pool and plenty sunloungers to have, lovely and peaceful, nice bar with good snacks and drinks menu, paula was lovely, very hard worker and great personality, couldnt fault anything on this holiday, spotless clean hotel, staff excellent and so helpful, thank you all for making our holiday a good one, keep up the good work :) obrigado

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hello scotjo. We were very happy to you visit us.
Thanks for your comments.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed 6 nights and found the staff and facilities more than adequate for our needs, room 302 has stunning views out to sea on main road but not too noisy to spoil stay as quieter at night was next to breakfast room but was not disturbed by noise as you would expect, problem with aircon was not rectified but management apologetic and also made generous gesture to apologise which they didn't have too, hotel is located in quiet area but with options to travel short distance to more lively areas and amazing beaches (tried a few with Felesia beach short taxi ride away was stunning and well worth the effort) food is reasonably priced with generous portions and fine wines better places we found were Aroma di mare across the road, Cantina right out of hotel 5 min walk and other options left out of hotel up past supermarket 10 mins walk? booked historical Algarve day trip and would thoroughly recommend as great value visiting must see old Algarve. would definitely consider staying here again when next in Albufeira.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Col B. Thank you for your words.
Again I apologize for the problem with the air conditioning. I hope you have been satisfied with my courtesy.
We would like very much to see you again.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The staff are very welcoming at the Velamar, the hotel is not the best placed as well outside the main centre of Albufeira and a good 15 minute walk to the beach. The nearest beach gets crowded and there are no showers, but good for people watching. The pool area is too small for the hotel. The buffet breakfast had a wide selection which was never allowed to run low
Other than these gripes I find the hotel to be clean, the staff friendly and helpful and there are plenty of restaurants nearby if you didn't fancy going into either Old or New Albufeira.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello Disgruntled1108. Good day. Thank you for visiting Hotel Velmar.
Your feedback is very important to us.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#76 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
1.3 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#21 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel

Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Opened in 2002, the Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.