We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Recently returned to the Velamar for a second visit and again found all facilities first class and staff friendly and welcoming. Continental breakfast served on 3rd floor is substantial with wide selection of breads/fruits/meat and sweets and a pleasant change from the traditional full English.
Some of the carpeting in the hotel corridors is a bit tired but rooms are nicely furnished and well maintained by a hardworking group of maids with regular changes of bedding and towels.
The area is fairly quiet and not for party animals but is well served by reasonably priced restaurants and cafes to suit most tastes.
Bar prices are very reasonable and overall value for money is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road are best for sunshine during the day and any traffic noise is limite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    287
    63
    7
    4
See reviews for
120
568
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is my 4th stay in 3 years and I have booked again for this September. As you will note from other reviews the hotel is immaculate and provides a good breakfast. The main thing for me is the staff. From reception to bar staff to cleaners all are friendly and provide first class service. The reception staff even went out of their way making phone calls for me to locate a bag I'd lost. And I got it back!! So very polite and helpful and always a cheery smile. Counting the days to my next visit!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geuret france
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our second stay in this hotel, this time for two weeks from 29 December to 13 January. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast in the top floor panoramic dining room is a pleasure with a wide range of fruit, bread cheese and ham etc. Two minutes walk from the hotel is an excellent restaurant which is used by the locals, Adega do Ze, which we went to for lunch each day except the two Sundays when they were closed. There are many pleasant walks from the hotel either along the beach or on the cliffs. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to enjoy the area or just relax in the hotel. One improvement over our last stay is the WIFI is now available on all floors so we could use it in our room or anywhere else in the hotel.

Room Tip: We like the rooms overlooking the pool and the car park, facing west, we asked for a similar room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Me and my 16 year old daughter went on a girls holiday to celebrate the end of her gcse's we both loved it, was quiet and perfect for well deserved relaxation! Would recomend it to any couples, friends and if youre going solo. only downsides were there was only wifi in the lobby (my internet addicted girl would have liked it in the room too!) and the pool area was small-ish, on our last two days there was quite a loud family which was a little annoying at times, however nothing to do with the lovely staff!

Room Tip: pool view, with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staines
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Four of us stayed here just after Christmas over the New Year period and it was really lovely. The hotel is great - comfortable rooms - we had rooms on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the sea which was a bonus - plenty of storage space. Breakfast was continental style but ample and plenty of it. Location is brilliant - even out of season there were several restaurants open, couple of cafes and a sports bar. Would highly recommend Adega do Ze restaurant just steps away from the hotel which served brilliant food, staff were lovely and the bill for four was about EUR40 every night - this was for a 3 course meal with lots of wine, tea/coffee and port!! We did hire a car for the 6 days we were there and were glad we did as it was so easy to get around - I guess in low season there was not much traffic on the roads. Can't recommend the hotel and the resort highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our second stay at the Velamar not as good as previous stay. Didn't find the staff as friendly and reception staff very miserable. Still spotlessly clean. Wouldn't stay again although good value for the money. Quite boring people stay here. Nothing going on good job the weather was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Velamar for a week in early December and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are immaculate, the staff is extremely helpful, and the continental breakfast has a good selection of fresh foods. The location is great--it's on the main road between Albufeira and Faro. From the hotel, it's a 10-minute walk to the Olhos d'Agua beach and nearby cliffs, where there are rocks to climb and explore in low tide. Photographers will enjoy this beach, with spectacular sunrises and sunsets on the red cliffs and tide pools. We enjoyed visiting in the off-season--the beautiful beaches were fairly well deserted. My only complaint about the hotel room is that the bed was a bit uncomfortable--you could feel the springs through the mattress.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel

Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Opened in 2002, the Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.