We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but not concerned about fire safety” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but not concerned about fire safety”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We returned to this hotel after having enjoyed a stay here two years ago. It was the same nice hotel and great staff. It's not exactly "on" the beach as you have to walk for almost a kilometer to get there. They do have a nice pool, but it can be a bit hard to get a spot on a sun bed there. Breakfast is very good for a Portuguese hotel and the rooms are very good for what you pay; relatively spacious with a desk and a balcony. Our only complaint, and it's quite important to us, is that they didn't take fire safety seriously. Twice we complained that the fire exit next to our door was blocked / locked. They said they'd look into it, but during our week there nothing happened. Very disappointing and we'll not stay here again. Not just because of the safety issue, but also because of the hike to the beach and because there are better beaches around (Praia Dona Ana for example!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    277
    62
    7
    4
See reviews for
116
549
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Velamar and really enjoyed it. Fantastic fresh breakfast everyday. Loads of fruit, cereal, breads etc. Helpful, friendly and hard working staff. Immaculately clean. Great bathrooms and comfortable rooms. Lovely beach about 10 - 15 mins walk away and loads of bars and restaurants close by as well as a large supermarket 5 mins walk and open early till late everyday. Nice pool and plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Had rooms on a side road. Really quiet. No problems at all. Could do with softer mattress and tea/coffee making facilities but for what we paid this was a great choice. Would definately come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just returned from Portugal. Having stayed in Velamar for a week. Its a basic hotel, but clean and friendly. There is only wifi in the reception/bar area, it's 2013 it should be in every room. I had to get a iron in reception and it's €15 deposit and €3 per day for a safe lock. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room? It's a hotel is it not? Iron, tea/coffee and wifi in the room please.

The rooms are dated and bland but the bathroom is modern, also ask to be away from the road, very noisy.

There is no restaurant only a snack bar and the main bar closes at 12am. The breakfast is ok, Mediterranean style, fruit, meats, cheese cereals and breads. The coffee at breakfast was very bad everyday, I mean awful. However in the snack bar really good latte, coffee and cappuccino available from €1.50

Its close to Olhos de Agua (10-15 mins walk )which is great for the beach and restaurants. Which is great if your chilling or have kids. The beach is small but nice. It's €10 in a taxi to the hub of activity which is old town Albufeira. There is also the new town or "the strip" for €6 in a taxi. Lots of madness there should you be looking for fun.

Overall we were happy with the location as we enjoyed Olhos de Agua, we were there to chill. The hotel was ok, average. The staff were really nice. No wifi in the rooms and bad breakfast coffee. Great selection of restaurants along the way to the beach. Value for money I'm not so sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed as a family in is hotel during July and cannot say anything bad about it. I had checked reviews before booking and most were positive and we were not disappointed. The hotel is small and therefore more personal with very pleasant and helpful staff in all areas. Rooms were big and we had a good pool view. They were spotlessly clean with change of towels etc everyday. The little fridge was very useful for keeping the drinks cool. Breakfast was good with lovely fresh fruit salad, my favourite. Handy to very reasonably priced restaurants and a short walk from 2 beautiful beaches. I hope to return soon and will definitely use the Velemar again - it should get more than 3star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool view and floor 1 or 2 as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel,spending six nights there. Hotel very clean large lounge area,pool not too big but clean and plenty of loungers. Breakfast buffet excellent,plenty of choice.the one disadvantage on a very busy road so would ask for room overlooking pool,not a great view either room. You can't hear traffic when doors are closed so won't keep you awake.
We hired bikes for three days ,a great way to get around as it is a 10 to 15 min walk to beach and centre of Olhos d Aqua . Very good Indian near hotel and a few other eating places but the noise from the road not great.
Apart from one woman on reception who was very helpful and friendly they were efficient but not over friendly.
The good thing for us 59 and 60 there were not loads of children splashing around in pool,mainly couples and mature people and no loud disco at night!

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 4 nights mid July. We read the reviews before we booked and were not disappointed. The hotel was very clean and staff friendly. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the road, this can get very busy and noisy, but room had triple glazing which really does keep the noise out. Room was very comfortable with the biggest king size bed I have ever slept in, pillows were a bit hard but spare ones in the wardrobe were much softer so we used these. Room equiped with tv, fridge and air con, would have been nice if we had had tea/coffee making facilities. Our room was cleaned with fresh towels everyday. Continental breakfast was very nice, constantly checked and refilled by friendly staff, only down side was slow toaster, most people put their bread under and went to fetch other items and them came back, could really do with a faster toaster. Would highly recommend Adega do Ze Restaurant(turn right as you come out of the hotel), all inclusive meal deals at 7.50 and 9.50 euros, this included a drink (I was served with 1 litre of rose wine) garlic bread, main meal, dessert, coffee and port wine, we ate here 3 night out of 4 (restaurant closes on Sunday) on the other night we went to Jollies, had a very nice meal but a bit expensive.
Would recommend this hotel, was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had a fantastic 2 week break at the Velamar, staff couldn't be more helpful, from advice on local activities to borrowing a plug adaptor for the entire stay. Excellent AC in our spotless room with a super king bed! Good location to all local eats & drinks 10 minutes to a great beach. Only small gripe was being on the ground floor (002) there was some noise from the bar till 1 am. Although I'll forgive all concerned as they were on their holidays!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel

Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Opened in 2002, the Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.