We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - will definitely return!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balaia Golf Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Balaia Golf Village to your Saves list
Balaia Golf Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio de Balaia - Apartado 917, Albufeira 8200-915, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place - will definitely return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have recently returned from a 10 night stay at the village with my partner. We arrived late at night with a friendly welcome from reception. Had a surprise when we got to our room as it was huge, with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a large living area and two balconies. The rooms are large and are kept very clean, there is plenty of crockery provided in the kitchen (enough for a family of 6!). There are 6 outdoor pools, all with plenty of sunbeds so plenty of choice. There is also a supermarket on site which is reasonably priced if self catering. The staff at reception are very helpful, wifi is an extra cost but only €20 for 24 hours which lasted us two weeks. It is about a 20 minute walk into the new town or a short taxi ride to the old town (€8). There are also other restaurants and shops are short walk away if you turn left out of the main entrance. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and exploring Portugal and would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    197
    44
    19
    9
See reviews for
249
112
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here in June 2014, had an excellent week, staff are so helpful especially Louisa on reception who ordered us pizza because we arrived late. Apartment was so clean and cleaned everyday except Sunday, facilities are excellent, cant wait to go back

Room Tip: apartment 165 excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Whilst the resort was pleasant with nice pool we were extremely disappointed with our accommodation. We arrived to find our apartment for 6 adults supposedly private for 4, was in fact a curtains across bunk beds! Despite our complaints to management due to it being full, there was no alternative and the management did not seem to think that it was their problem. Facilities are very basic with only 6 very small cups and very little crockery. There is not even a cloth or cleaning material of any sort provided which is basic in all accommodation we have ever visited previously therefore you immediately have to buy something which is locally expensive. You will need to walk a good 25 min walk into town, local beach is good and approx 10 mins walk. For a luxury resort it really did not live up to it's description!

Room Tip: ensure you ask for the number of 'bedrooms' to suit your family needs accurately
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We arrived at 10.30 a.m and knew that we would probably have to wait for the room to be cleaned etc even though this was not highlighted on our hotel voucher.We were told that 4 was normal check in. extremely late in the day in my opinion for check in. I was told that I would get a telephone call when it was ready but I never did. we got a call to say that room 310 was ready which was for the other party that were with us but I had to go back too the hotel at 4.30 to check if room 428 was ready and I was told it wasnt . I explained we had three very young children who were tired from walking around since 10.00 a.m but all I got was a shrug of the shoulder as if to say thats just the way it is. NO apology,NO offer to leave our bags at reception,NO offer of a complimentary cup of Tea/Coffee due to inconvenience. Very Poor customer service. Still no sign of the apartment ready after 5 which is when i had to call travel republic. Dont be fooled by the glossy photos and fancy exterior CUSTOMER SERVICE is what really matters and something that lacked greatly when we visited. Will Not be returning or recommending it to anybody. Apartments are old and seriously need a facelift. Shower Curtains are mouldy, Doors are all cracked, ants all over the bathrooms, very dark inside and walls are like paper. Especially since everything is wayy overpriced like drinks etc and wifi is €50. Seriously?? We normally book a villa when we go on holidays and wifi etc is all inclusive in the price. certainly will be booking a villa again for next year. Staff are not friendly and that in my book is a big NO NO

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Accommodation: Clean and very spacious. Air conditioning very helpful for warm nights. It had a washing machine, dishwasher and tumble drier. About a 2 minute walk to a very good supermarket.There are a couple of restaurants around the complex which we ate there and the food was very good. The beds were very comfortable. Wifi is available at €20 for 24 hrs.
Location: Just note that you will need to get a taxi to the town of Albufeira, about a ten minute drive. Nearest beach a 10 minute walk. The beach had a range of activities pedal boats jet ski etc.The Zoo marine is about a 30 minute bus ride. It was an amazing place to visit.
Pools: There are 6 pools to choose from. There are kids areas as well in all the pools. Some pools had snack bars beside them. The grounds where nicely landscaped , but watch the paths they can be uneven. Over all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick ground floor , near the reception , as that area is located closer to shops restaurants and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First of all I wish to compliment management and staff for their attention to detail in maintaining this complex. Though not as "modern", due to its age, it is beautifully maintained, including gardens, pool area, pathways, signage etc. However, I am astounded that such poor effort is made, and due respect shown to those who choose it as their holiday destination, (at quiet a cost I might add). Upon arrival, we were most surprised that our apartment had no basic essentials, least of all some toilet tissue.........and that the fridge had been left in a very poor condition, (needless to say without cloths nor detergent to clean it). Everything is expensive, including golf in their 9 hole par 3 golf course....(best play in one of the many nearby professional courses at similar cost). Avoid bike rental. Tennis is expensive. Food and drinks at the bar are expensive....and worst of all... expect to pay €50 for a wii fi code. Imagine €50.
Finally, upon checking out, do not expect as much as a "thank you" from a quiet curt and unfriendly gentleman at reception. I am wondering if the management of this complex realise that they would benefit greatly by showing a little respect to visitors and not "ripping them off" at every opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Balaia is a wonderful resort. I come here every year and love the place. My only niggle is the bridge pool bar. £4.30 for a beer must be the most expensive on the Algarve. Buy drinks at the veranda or the golf club where the prices are perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel
Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel
#15 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
3.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
0.5 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
4.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 2 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#22 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Golf Village

Address: Sitio de Balaia - Apartado 917, Albufeira 8200-915, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#15 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#24 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia Golf Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully landscaped gardens with pine, cork and almond trees are the prefect backdrop for your home in the sun, only 500 meters from the beach. Around the grounds you can enjoy 6 swimming pools, a health club with indoor pool, 4 tennis courts, restaurants and snack bars. A 9 hole executive golf course, golf academy (with resident pro), driving range with putting greens, practice bunkers and chipping areas complete the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Balaia Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Golf Village Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Hotel Village
Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Golf Village Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balaia Golf Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.